ANZAC Biscotti — The Daring Bakers February 2013 Challenge

10

February 28, 2013 by mickeydownunder

IMG_1556

What better way celebrating my first Daring Bakers Challenge than sharing my “adaptedANZAC Biscotti recipe combined with ANZAC History.

When I was searching for “unusual” Crisp Crackers and Flatbreads recipes for the Daring Bakers February 2013 Challenge, I came upon ANZAC Biscotti on Easily Good Eats and knew it was “on the list“. I then thought, how can I have my biscotti (based on my food lifestyle) and eat it too? 😉

The 25th of April (ANZAC day) is a nationwide day of remembrance who lost their lives at war; especially the Australian and New Zealand Army Corp of World War 1. There are no remaining ANZAC soldiers left. There are no surviving ANZACS of the men who landed at Galipoli in 1915. Alex Campbell, the last ANZAC died from pneumonia at the age of 103 on the 16th May, 2002.

anzac_biscuit

ANZAC biscuits have become synonymous with the ANZAC soldiers of World War 1. The history allegedly surrounds the concerns of mums, wives and girlfriends about how their loved ones were getting enough nutrition on a daily basis. Sending food was virtually impossible as transportation took over two months and there was no refrigeration.

So a group of women banded together (like women do to resolve problems and food 😉 ) and came up with a high nutritional value biscuit; the basis coming from a Scottish recipe based on oats.

The original recipe of the ANZAC Biscuit (initially called Soldiers’ Biscuits) was made from rolled oats, plain flour, treacle, bicarbonate soda and water; all of these items do not easily spoil.

Today the biscuits are commercially made for consumers. The biscuits are also used a fundraisers for the Royal new Zealand Returned Services’ Association (RSA) and the Returned and Services League of Australia. (RSL)

ANZAC-Biscuits

INGREDIENTS
1 cup plain flour, sifted
1 cup rolled oats
1 cup shredded coconut
2 eggs
3/4 cup Xylitol * (feel free to substitute sugar 😉 )
1 tablespoon 100 percent Maple Syrup
Oil Spray

Pre heat over to 160C. (325F)

In a bowl, mix flour, rolled oats and coconut.

In a stand up mixer, beat xylitol, maple syrup and eggs until pale yellow.

Add flour mixture and mix until just blended.

Let dough rest for 5 minutes.

Divide the dough into 2 equal mounds on an oil sprayed flat tray; space dough evenly apart; form into logs.

Bake until lightly browned.

Hint and Tip
Original recipe stated “cool for 5 minutes.” I initially had difficulty slicing my biscotti into 1/4 inch think slices, so I chose to allow the biscotti logs to cool; made slicing A LOT easier and did not affect the outcome of the next baking stage. 😉 🙂

With a serrated knife, cut the logs crosswise into 1/4 inch thick slices.

Arrange biscotti cut side down on the same baking sheet. Bake until cookies are pale golden.

Let cool completely and enjoy! 🙂

NOTE
Original recipe stated “for 25 – 30 minutes.” Mine were done in 10 – 15 minutes, but perhaps that had something to do with the substitution of xylitol for sugar. In any case, bake until pale golden.

Do YOU enjoy a biscotti with your coffee or tea?

Hands up if you would like to invite a friend over for a chat enjoying dunking this CRISP Biscotti? 😉

anzac_biscuits

* The Naturally Sweet Xlear Australia Pty Ltd Company previously sent me some Naturally Sweet Xylitol products to use in various recipes of my choice and creation.
I have personally used Xylitol products for quite some time, (due to health reasons) and do find I am a lot healthier for substituting xylitol for sugar. My personal preference of xylitol is not “influenced” by the products sent to me.

ANZAC BISCUIT PHOTO
SOURCE
:Lifestyle Food
http://www.lifestylefood.com.au

10 thoughts on “ANZAC Biscotti — The Daring Bakers February 2013 Challenge

  1. […] I was “up for the challenge” in making my ANZAC Biscotti, I provided a “continued” history about the ANZACS and ANZAC […]

  2. Sarah G says:

    This is a new recipe for me and looks very tasty. I like the sound of all that coconut. Great job on this challenge! Thank you for participating.

  3. Thanks for the mention. I am glad you liked the biscotti. Now I feel like making them again!

  4. snati001 says:

    I’m a big fan of biscotti and anzac biscuits, so I must try this! They look really good and must taste delicious! Putting this recipe on my baking to-do list 🙂

  5. What a great idea making Anzac Biscotti! I want to give these a go for Anzac Day! 😀

    • Thanks Lorraine! I was looking for something with a crunch that I could serve (dunk) with a coffee for breakfast or a snack at lunch!

      Was proud I could share some Australian ANZAC and ANZAC Biscuit history! Substituting Xylitol for sugar made this recipe a lot healthier for me! 🙂

  6. Kim says:

    You have my address … there shouldn’t be a problem sending me a box, lol. Love the look. And our pic is spot on. Very nicely done. Definitely looks like something I would enjoy; a snack … but not too sweet … that is me.

Leave a comment

About me

Joanne T. Ferguson

Passionate Home Cook who tries to inspire one recipe and one event at time!

Follow

Facebook Twitter RSS email Pinterest Google Plus

RSS Recent Posts

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

© All text and photos are copyright 2012 - 2013 What's On The List. All rights reserved. Feel free to ask.