PLH Mini Muffins

7

March 1, 2013 by Joanne T Ferguson

Image

Hands up those who are a “tad” curious about knowing what PLH stands for? πŸ˜‰

Could it be peach? My experiences with Nonnino in I Scream No Sugar Peach Ice Cream make me “very” fond of peaches! πŸ˜‰

Could it be pear? Could the L stand for I “Lovingly” made this healthy, sugarless mini muffin? Could the L literally stand for Love? πŸ˜‰

In Life Is Like a Bowl of Candy, I had a long list of candy that went through my head! Forrest Gump’s mama must either be related to mine or they “must have” been best friends. While Forrest’s mama, used to like to talk about chocolate ;-), my mama used to like to talk about candy! πŸ™‚

Today (and I have mentioned previously HOW my mind works πŸ˜‰ ), I have had a long list ofΒ  LAVENDER recipes that have been “on the list” for a while.

Lavender chicken, Lavender donuts, Lavender cream, Lavender Ice Cream! I “admire” Lavender Ladies ( I practice a “joyful, child-like ageless beautiful way of life” too! πŸ™‚ , love Lavender and Old LaceΒ  ( made in 1921; love classic romance movies) :), love Ladies in Lavender (with one of my favorite actresses Dame Judi Dench), The Lavender Hill Mob , love the Lavender Licorice Rose ( real rose), love lavender licorice mint too! πŸ™‚

I could go on, but think by now you have guessed L stands for Lavender! πŸ˜‰

Have you noticed that my PASSION for Lavender movies also combines my passion for Lavender food? It is “more than likely” that I associate viewing movies at home and eating specially prepared foods (as a theme) to the movie.

Does anyone else prepared special themed foods for your movie viewing or is it just me? :)

While I was on an internet forage to satisfy my Lavender list fixation (lol), I came across these lovely, healthy Eggless Lavender and Walnut Cookies on Priya’s Versatile Recipes. I thought these looked interesting and I’ll have to put them “on the list” πŸ˜‰

I then saw this wonderful Harvesting Lavender with Apple Walnut Muffins on Jalama Road Family Farmstand and thought they too would make a nice addition to what’s on the list too! πŸ˜‰

Today I combined both concepts (so to speak) and VOILA! created my PLH Mini Muffins!

Pear, Lavender, Hazelnut Mini Muffin! I am proud to now share this recipe with you! :) I do hope you enjoy it and hope I can “inspire” you to make too! :)

NOTE
This recipe made 30 mini muffins :)

1 cup organic all-purpose flour (can use non organic too)
1/2 cup whole wheat four
2 teaspoons baking powder
1 1/2 teaspoons mix spice (allspice, cinnamon and nutmeg)
1 teaspoon baking soda
2 eggs
3/4 cup Xylitol (you can substitute sugar πŸ˜‰ )
6 tablespoon vanilla yogurt
1 1/2 cups diced pears
5 tablespoons unsalted butter
1/2 cup hazelnuts, ground
Oil Spray

Pre heat oven to 180C (350F)
Oil spray mini muffin trays.
In bowl, add xylitol and eggs; combine well.
In separate large bowl, combine dry ingredients.
In sauce pan, (or microwave) melt butter. (See Hint and Tip)
Add ground nuts to butter; combine well.
Stir mixture into egg, pear and xylitol mixture; combine well; Add yogurt.
Fold in dry ingredients to wet ingredients until moistened. Do not over mix.

Hint and Tip
If melting butter in the microwave, make sure to cover it with cling wrap; only needs minimal time to melt. πŸ˜‰

NOTE
You want the batter to be very moist.

Bake for 12 minutes or until lightly golden brown; toothpick comes out clean.
Remove from oven; let cool in trays for 10 minutes; transfer to wire racks to completely cool.

Would you now like to do the Lavender Dance with me?

Can you “imagine” yourself a Lavender Lady?

What a GREAT life and food fun adventurous recipe!

7 thoughts on “PLH Mini Muffins

  1. Sarah Bates says:

    I love the flavor combination in these muffins! They look so delicious. Thanks for sharing at the Foodie Friends Friday party this week!

  2. O.K., I’m all in for these PLH Mini Muffins. #1. I love minis, #2. I love EASY, #3. & Delicious Now I’m ready to make these delicious muffins. Thanks so much for sharing this recipe with Foodie Friends Friday Healthy Eats party this week. Oh, and yes I love the hazelnuts too!

    Thanks for sharing,

  3. Hehe I was very curious to hear what PLH stood for! πŸ˜›

Leave a Reply

About me

Joanne T. Ferguson

Passionate Home Cook who tries to inspire one recipe and one event at time!

Follow

Facebook Twitter RSS email Pinterest Google Plus

Β© All text and photos are copyright 2012 - 2013 What's On The List. All rights reserved. Feel free to ask.

