Coconut, Lemongrass, Hibiscus Ice Cream

15

February 21, 2013 by mickeydownunder

hibiscus-ice-cream1

My name is Joanne, and “sometimes” I repeat myself lol.

“I Scream, You Scream, We all Scream Ice Cream!” Well, at least I am “screaming” with excitement about not only HOW easy and healthy this recipe is to make, but on  very HOT days like recently, this was the perfect ice cream recipe to cool me! 🙂

Have I mentioned, (due to health reasons) why I enjoy using Xylitol in products too?

I also “fell in love” with hibiscus tea while experiencing Egypt too! 🙂

With my first time success of I Scream No Sugar Peach Ice Cream, I had put “on the list” to experiment with other ice cream flavors one day. I don’t know if it has something to do with the heat (lol), but this was my perfect excuse to experiment too!

While I was recently enjoying my Royal Toast to Gerald and my Cuisinart Valentine’s Day Foodie Dream from The Heart, I dreamt of flavor combinations that I would like introduce today! 😉

Like in Life is Like a Bowl of Candy, Mama said, “Food, like people sometimes need introducing.” OKAY? 🙂 😉

When I saw Vegan Hibiscus Ice Cream by Laura Friendly, I “knew” this was “on the list” I “immediately” thought, “WHO (meaning what ingredient or ingredients lol) could I “introduce” Mr. (organic) Hibiscus tea to?

IMG_1389

And then I saw Hibiscus Semifreddo on Simplicious and thought, “Oooh, this would be lovely as can be!”

When I remembered I previously had “on the list” to create a recipe with Lemongrass Milk on Cupcake blog, my mind went into “ice cream flavor overdrive” lol

It was THEN I thought to introduce Mr. Hibiscus, to Mrs. Lemongrass and with Master Coconut the Third! 😉

See what happens during the very hot weather and my mind is “frozen” on making ice cream! lol

“PICK ME!!! PICK ME!!! All three recipes “seemed” to have YELLED out at me!!! Is it me, or do recipes YELL out at you sometimes too! lol

The other part of my brain politely reminded me “Please pick and create one…one for fun too!” 😉

IMG_1417

Ingredients:

1/2 cup dried hibiscus tea
3/4 cup boiling water
juice from one lemon
1 teaspoon lemon zest (optional)
3/4 cups Xylitol Icing Mix ( I used Naturally Sweet brand— see below)
500 mls (17 fl oz — 2 cups) Organic Coconut milk (I used Dr. Antonio Martins**)
1- 2 stalks lemongrass, (whole stalks) finely sliced

NOTE:

Feel free to substitute finely granulated sugar for Xylitol; coconut milk to personal taste and brand noting sweetness of hibiscus with icing sugar.

In a pan on the stove, combine coconut milk and lemongrass; bring to a SLOW gentle simmer; simmer three minutes. Turn off heat; allow to warm.

NOTE:
I know this “might” sound a bit strange, but WHEN you make this, you will know what I mean as the mixture will go from hot to warm. 😉

When lemongrass milk mixture is warm, transfer half of the milk and “most” of the lemongrass into a blender; pulse for 30 seconds.

Transfer back into lemongrass milk mixture and allow to completely cool.

In boiling water, add dried hibiscus tea; Take off heat and allow to seap 15 minutes.

Strain through fine sieve; completely cool.

HINT AND TIP:
I placed the strained tea in the fridge for faster cooling. 🙂

In a stand  mixer add hibiscus tea, icing sugar (also called powdered sugar or confectionery sugar 😉 ); whisk until dissolved.

Whisk in cooled lemongrass milk about ten minutes or until it forms soft peaks.

NOTE:
Taste mixture and adjust for personal taste “before” freezing.

Pour mixture into an airtight container and freeze overnight.

HINT AND TIP:

When you pour the mixture into the container, with the back of a spoon, make sure all the air bubbles are out or mixture will freeze with air bubbles in the ice cream. 😉

Do you like the flavor combination of Coconut, Lemongrass, Hibiscus Ice Cream?
Was the introduction of Master Coconut, Mr. Hibiscus and Mrs. Lemongrass unique as they (the ingredients 😉 ) did seem?

What flavor combinations with Hibiscus tea would YOU like to see?

icing sugar

FOLLOW UP NOTES:

I enjoyed the combination of flavors and the texture of the ice cream. The original recipe calls to freeze for “at least 4 hours”. I wanted to make sure it settled; hence placing in the freezer overnight.

The makes for a lovely, light, healthy, summer dessert….” A Delight!” 😉

The Naturally Sweet Xylitol Icing Mix was sent to me to try and create some unusual recipes! Look forward to reading more about the Naturally Sweet’s Xylitol Icing Mix, Xylitol products and recipes shortly as the product today did please. The words are my own thoughts and honest review.
I previously used Xylitol in my daily life too! 😉

** Made from Organic coconut milk from green coconuts (cocos nucifera) with pulp (min. 40%); Lot in fat, Cholesterol-free, Vegan, Free from preservatives and colouring, lactose-free
SOURCE:
http://www.cocojuice.com.au/coco-milk/pure-organic-coconut-milk-500ml

IMG_1380

15 thoughts on “Coconut, Lemongrass, Hibiscus Ice Cream

  1. […] I LIKE “introducing” foods like in Sparkling Birthday Mini Bombe Alaska, Spinning Spiral Tart and Coconut, Lemongrass and Hibiscus Ice Cream. […]

  2. G’day Joanne, I just came from Mrs. Diner’s Ice Cream party this week. I love reading your posts and this recipe sounds so delicious. I’ll have to give it a try, and since it’s ice cream I’m sure I will enjoy it.

    Joanne

  3. […] I like to “introduce” foods like in Indian Cauliflower Rice Raw Foods Sushi and in Coconut, Lemongrass and Hibiscus Ice Cream. […]

  4. jeffreyrjoseph says:

    Where can I buy, Hibiscus <> Location is Miami,Florida 33157-3666 … -_- …
    Thank-you … -_- …

    • G’day! I have some contacts in the States and will get back to you! Thank you! I am sure it can be sourced locally, in an Asian shop, at the local markets or conveniently online. I will let you know! Cheers! Joanne

    • G’day! As a friendly follow up today, my contacts say hibiscus can easily be obtained in your are are Walmart, Target, Whole Foods, Trader Joe’s, most grocery stores, or online at Amazon too!
      Hope this helps! Good Luck! Please let me know how you go!

  5. Where do I but Hibiscus, <> … -_- …

    • Thank you jeffreyrjosephj If you can email me what region of the world you are from (as there is no information via your Gravatar), I will be try and assist you further. Click on my About Me photo on my Home Page; it will click through to my Gravatar; then click on “email me” Look forward to hearing from you. Should you wish, you can always substitute your other favorite loose tea as think peach would go nicely with this too! 🙂

  6. […] SOURCE: https://whatsonthelist.wordpress.com/2013/02/21/coconut-lemongrass-hibiscus-ice-cream/ […]

  7. Kim says:

    That color is just stunning. I can only imagine serving that at a dinner party and the looks you would get. Just beautiful; and I bet it tastes just as well.

  8. itsanoushka says:

    That colour!! Wauw ❤ it!

  9. LuAnn says:

    Looks absolutely yummy!

Leave a comment

About me

Joanne T. Ferguson

Passionate Home Cook who tries to inspire one recipe and one event at time!

Follow

Facebook Twitter RSS email Pinterest Google Plus

RSS Recent Posts

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

© All text and photos are copyright 2012 - 2013 What's On The List. All rights reserved. Feel free to ask.