One Cup Greek Yogurt Cake — The Daring Kitchen Cooks Challenge 2013

46

July 16, 2013 by Joanne T Ferguson

IMG_3864 “Get Your Yogurt On!”, host Cher from The Not so exciting adventures of a dabbler via The Daring Kitchen said this month to all the Cooks excitedly!

My name is Joanne aka mickeydownunder aka Joanna aka FANG and I have never made yogurt before!

I guess like anything else, the first you make something, there is always “an air of apprehension.”

I KNOW I can do ANYTHING I put my mind to do!

I am sure you can laugh along with me when my thoughts YELLED at me, (they like to YELL about foods too lol) “You making yogurt….Are you crazy???!!!” lol

Then my “PASSION and ENTHUSIASM” stepped in and knew this challenge I COULD conquer and win! 🙂

While I have made paneer before (thanks to a Daring Kitchen challenge) and Quark/Quag/Goat Curd and Feta before, I have never attempted making yogurt and now I have too!

My thinking in making a recipe for the first time is to “keep it simple“…the K.I.S.S principle!

When I opened my What’s On The List folder, what did I see?

How to Make Greek Yogurt — Easy Homemade Greek Yogurt

“EWE BEAUTY!” (means great or fantastic in Aussie lingo!)

NOTE
This recipe worked great and tasted great too!

In my E-X-C-I-T-E-M-E-N-T in getting my cake made, I forgot to photograph the yogurt, TRUE! A-hhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh

We are all inspired by what we read and see!

While there are MANY wonderful recipes for Yiaourtopita (Greek Yogurt Cake), I chose to keep today’s created recipe “simple and versatile” too!

For those unfamiliar with Yiaourtopia, it is a “traditional” Greek New Year’s Day Cake and can be made a day or two in advance.

Wrapping a coin and dropping it inside the cake is “the tradition” to do!

Whoever selects the piece of cake that has the coin in it, (tradition dictates) that person will have good luck for a year!

This cake can be made any time of the year, so seeing it is not New Year’s, I omitted the coin and slightly adapted “the traditional” recipe.

Based on my food lifestyle, I also made this cake sugarless, which is a “healthy bonus” for me without compromising taste.

Ingredients for Joanna’s One Cup Greek Yogurt Cake

1 cup yogurt (homemade! 🙂 )
1 cup macadamia oil (can substitute vegetable oil; like using what I have on hand)
3 cups self-rising flour, sifted
3 eggs
2 cups Naturally Sweet Xylitol *
Naturally Sweet Xylitol Icing Sugar (optional, but recommended too); can substitute icing sugar
zest for 1 orange
oil spray

Pre heat oven to 160C. (320F)

Combine all ingredients above in a large bowl.

Oil spray a springform pan.

Pour batter in pan.

Bake for 1 hour 15 minutes or until cake is done and toothpick comes out clean.

NOTE
Most recipes suggest 1 1/2 hours, but my cake was done in 1 1/4 hours.

This cake would be great for brekkie (breakfast), lunch or tea (dinner).

Perhaps I can make it when you come to visit me! 🙂

IMG_3867

Do you think yogurt making is difficult to do?

All you have to do is follow this easy recipe and you can have a cake done in no time too!

Have you made yogurt before?

I would be curious what you then made with it in the comments, other than adding it to some fruit for a healthy snack or for brekkie; am sure others would be too!

What a GREAT Cooks Challenge by The Daring Kitchen for July 2013!

I WISH the velvety, smooth, creamy yogurt you too had seen!

*Xylitol is a natural sugar free sweetener that looks and tastes like sugar, but does not cause a “sugar spike” that other products cause. It has no bitter aftertaste and is great for cooking and baking too.

The Naturally Sweet Xylitol Icing Mix  and Xylitol was sent to me to try and create some unusual recipes!

Look forward to see more Naturally Sweet Xylitol Icing Mix and Xylitol recipes!

I previously used Xylitol in my daily life too!

46 thoughts on “One Cup Greek Yogurt Cake — The Daring Kitchen Cooks Challenge 2013

  1. Teri Krumm says:

    Do you think this could be adapted for those of us on a low carb, gluten free diet? The flour might be replaced with coconut flour, peanut flour, or similar?

  2. Kind of mouth watering…. even it’s name is beautiful

  3. nusrat2010 says:

    Perfect slice of happiness 🙂
    Dusting some icing sugar over the slices makes it look ‘too stunning to ignore’ 🙂
    I loved your easy, step by step recipe.
    Hugs. (Many thanks for dropping a kind comment over my guest-post at Maureen’s blog)

  4. I hope you saved me a slice Joanne:) Have a great weekend.

  5. Amy Tong says:

    Bravo! I’ve never made yogurt before and it sounds like fun to make my own. This is a lovely cake. Can’t wait to try it.

  6. Beautiful photos, Joanne! Your recipes always made me mouth watering. 😛 Hope your cooking with Yelp goes well tomorrow~

  7. Thanks so much for stopping by and for your kind words!!

    Hugs,
    Deb

  8. Rosa Mayland says:

    A wonderfully fluffy cake! I love using yogurt when baking. I have made yogurt only once, but should definitely make more in the future…

    Cheers,

    Rosa

  9. bakinginatornado says:

    The cake looks so moist and delicious. And I’m really impressed that you tackled making your own yogurt, something I’ve never tried.

  10. Nami | Just One Cookbook says:

    I LOVE easy recipe especially when I can memorize. 😀 It’s a huge plus when they taste amazingly delicious. This sounds wonderful Joanne!

  11. I love your enthusiasm Joanne, your posts are always so happy! well done for making your own yoghurt, nothing beats home made 🙂

  12. Hotly Spiced says:

    I think yoghurt makes a really moist cake. This would be delicious I’m sure. I would like to try that icing xx

  13. Aisha says:

    Look so delicious!! I would take some with my coffee right now.
    Take care… and don’t get frozen with the weather. In Holland is being hot these days. But sure it will not stay long.
    Have a nice… afternoon yet?

  14. chocolatepeanutbutterohmy says:

    Well done 🙂

  15. ChgoJohn says:

    I love Greek yogurt and the more I use it, the more uses I find for it. This cake sounds delicious and would be worthy of a New Year’s Day treat.

  16. Greek yogurt is like hummus, you can do almost anything with it.

  17. Oh great job on making your own yogurt. I feel like making such recipe are so rewarding. And that is a great cake to use the yogurt in.

  18. danapny says:

    Looks delicious…in fact I wish I had a slice of that to go along with my coffee this morning! 😀

  19. Joanne says:

    I love using yogurt in baking! This is definitely making an appearance in my life!

  20. Peggy says:

    Ooh that sounds and looks delicious! My mum bakes a lot of Greek food, must ask if she has made this before. Nice one Joanne.

  21. I love using yogurt in baking and always have some home made yogurt in the fridge-that is, unless hubby eats it all! 😛

Leave a Reply

About me

Joanne T. Ferguson

Passionate Home Cook who tries to inspire one recipe and one event at time!

Follow

Facebook Twitter RSS email Pinterest Google Plus

© All text and photos are copyright 2012 - 2013 What's On The List. All rights reserved. Feel free to ask.

