Happy International Raw Food Day 2013

15

July 12, 2013 by Joanne T Ferguson

IMG_3797“Go RAW today…Feel the difference… See the difference…LIVE the difference..”

A couple of months ago, I attended a Raw Foods Workshop partly out of curiosity and partly to see if adding more raw foods into my lifestyle would be for me!

Aside from experiencing food in a different light or through different eyes, I was “genuinely” left with wonderment and surprise!

What could I create with raw foods that would appeal to me?

Then it came to me … Indian Cauliflower Sushi!

I must admit, I really did like what I did create and really thought it made me feel special and that was great!IMG_2074My food “PASSION and ENTHUSIASM” got the best of me!

As wanting to learn “how GREAT raw food can make your feel” and if I could celebrate in some way.

Food Experts and celebrities provided “guidance, support” and free gifts (e-book downloads) as part of their “caring and sharing” of International Raw Food Day.

Upon signing up, The Beginner’s Guide to Going Raw by Hay House author (Eat Right For Your Personality Type) Karen Knowler (“The world’s #1 raw food coach”) came my way!

The guide DID “encourage” me to “Go Raw for the day!”

For those who missed Karen’s teleseminar ; hope you enjoy!

I have to admit, the recipes provided were “very easy” guides, true!

Love the ease, simplicity and how versatile they were to prepare.

Did I mention they took “almost no time at all to make?”

As soon as I saw Karen’s veggie-nut burgers, they were “on the list.”

I am SO glad, this recipe I did not miss!

Veggie-nut recipe provided courtesy of Karen
1 cup almonds
1 cup pecans (I had walnuts on hand today)
2 carrots
1/2 onion (I used red)
1 large handful of parsley
1/4 cup lemon juice
1 teaspoon Himalayan salt
1 teaspoon curry powder (optional)
1 tablespoon black olives (optional)

“Everybody in the Pool!”

Or in this case, everyone in the blender; blend until smooth.

Form into balls. Serve with salad and enjoy!

NOTE
Due to the weather today, I thought a bit of curry powder would add to my raw day!

Hint and Tip
I placed the veggie-nut burgers in the refrigerator for about an hour to firm up slightly.

I was also “inspired by now“, so I made my Tahini and Chickpea Hummus.

Ingredients

1 400 grams (~14 ounces) canned chickpeas, drained, washed
2 tablespoons tahini
3 tablespoons lemon juice
3 large garlic cloves
100 mls (~3.4 ounces) olive oil
1 teaspoon cumin

Combine all ingredients in a blender; blend until smooth.

IMG_3798
IMG_3810
I was also “inspired” by Karen’s marinated veggies!

I came up with this creation based on Karen’s recipe and what veggies I had on hand in my fridge that YELLED out, “PICK ME!!!PICK ME!!!

IMG_3795
When I saw Karen’s Favourite Nori Rolls, I “knew” this recipe was for me!

After thoroughly enjoying my previous attempt at making sushi with nori rolls, I was delighted as can be!

Once again, I used Karen’s recipe “as a guide” and used up what I had on hand…spinach, tomato, cucumber, carrot, black olives, red capsicum (sweet red pepper), cabbage, parlsey….Sounds VERY healthy eh?

I also made a raw tamari sauce as I like to “dunk” my foods on occasion too!

IMG_3793

Karen asks simple questions like, “How did you feel when you woke up this morning?”, “Is your tongue pink?”, and “How does your face look?”

I must admit I was glad I participated in going “Raw for the day” and every now and then, my body does need a bit of a break to recharge, re-energize and by taking care of my insides, my body thanks me in return on the outside.

I do also agree that eating raw foods is a lifestyle change and something that one has to be in it for the long haul.

For me, I celebrate today that I am feeling a little better (and is not just psychological lol) as my body did thank me!

To thy own self be true!

I have made this confession before in my above links:

My name is Joanne and I am a meat-eating, “enjoyer” of South
Australian red wines and local produce, too!

IMG_3787

Could you go RAW for the day?

What do you think YOUR body would say?

If you are looking to start with dessert first, I would recommend Tansy’s Chia Breakfast Pudding (Pudding is NOT just for Breakfast anymore!)
IMG_2024

and don’t forget the Dark Chocolate Truffles too!

IMG_2029 Or if you like a bit of coconut like me!
IMG_2027

15 thoughts on “Happy International Raw Food Day 2013

  1. Liz says:

    Never heard of International Raw Food Day. i wouldn’t mind going raw for one day, thats quite easy but for ONE MONTH! that sounds scary to me. What does going raw mean? does it mean I can’t tale tea or coffee as well? Have a wonderful week and thanks for stopping by!

    • Thanks Liz always for your lovely comments too! I was fine for one day, but for me, it is not practical for a month too! There are two points of view…Is coffee or tea acceptable? It is suggested tea is not because it is heated above 115F; coffee…no because of the acidity that causes inflammation…However, the more “relaxed” version that is suggested is one should not give up coffee or tea for the first 4 months…I would hate to think like what I would be like without my coffee! lol

  2. Hello Joanne
    I don’t think I could go completely raw but I am trying to add more raw food into my diet.
    I am pinning your post because it is full of inspiration and I can’t wait to try some of the wonderful recipes you posted

  3. hotlyspiced says:

    The truffles look very good. I keep hearing how it’s very good to go raw but I just like my food hot, especially at this time of the year. I do try to eat some raw foods each day like having a salad with dinner and some fruit of course and some Vietnamese spring rolls etc but I do like putting a roast in the oven! xx

  4. I did raw for a bit over a month and then I was craving my old favorites. I need to incorporate some raw into my life rather than doing it 100%.

  5. Amy Tong says:

    Sounds like a wonderful diet that I should get on, or at least give it a try. 🙂 These raw food all sound delicious and wonderful.

  6. peacefulnightdove says:

    YAY! I found your blog!!! 😀 Your photos are GORGEOUS!!!!!!!! 😀

  7. Lorraine says:

    Pretty presentation and it all looks delicious too! With all the fresh produce available during the summer, eating raw is easier. Fun stopping by to visit with you and scroll through your lovely posts 🙂

  8. I love raw food! I wish there was a place right nearby to me because I’d eat it more often than I do 😀 Happy raw food day Joanne!

Leave a Reply

About me

Joanne T. Ferguson

Passionate Home Cook who tries to inspire one recipe and one event at time!

Follow

Facebook Twitter RSS email Pinterest Google Plus

© All text and photos are copyright 2012 - 2013 What's On The List. All rights reserved. Feel free to ask.

