Eating My Way Through The Pantry

20

July 5, 2013 by Joanne T Ferguson

IMG_3732First of all, thank you for allowing me to be a bit loopy (Australian lingo for crazy — but in a fun way) today!

When shopping for food, I LOVE to buy in bulk and I even have part of my pantries set up for specific cuisines!

While recently being welcomed to participate in Celia’s In The Kitchen monthly blog series, I thought to myself, “What IS in my pantry?”

And if necessary, was it possible Eating My Way Through The Pantry? lol

I am always up for a challenge and know it was the right thing to write about as when I was “singing and dancing” in my kitchen (neither that I can do!), my mind went back to one of my favorite groups going back to New York and 1978 — THE VILLAGE PEOPLE!!! (I did mention I am a tad loopy today lol)

So as I started to sing, the words to the lyrics came out JUST a little bit different for some reason and they “sounded” something like this:

In my pantry!
Yes, I can sail the seven seas,
With what’s in my pantry!
Yes, I can put my mind at ease
In my pantry!
Come on now, people, make a stand!
For what’s in my pantry, in my pantry!

For those of you have never heard In The Navy by the Village People, I hope you enjoy!

“But we aren’t prepared to have our photo taken!”, my pantry ingredients  YELLED at me!

Okay, but how about helping me Eating My Way Through The Pantry?

“I GUESS we can help you do!”

“You name the cuisine and we can have ingredients YELL and jump out at YOU!” 

“INDIAN!!!!!!”, “I YELLED backed!!!!!

I seem to like YELLING around foods like in Aussie Aussie Aussie Malteser Lamingtons and in Spinning Globe Persian Pomegranate and Pistachio Meatballs.

“OKAY!!!!!”

This is what YELLED back at me as they JUMPED off the shelf LITERALLY!!

IMG_3686Before I reveal “the challenge” of Eating My Way Through The Pantry, I have some confessions, true!

I have two VERY full pantries; all ingredients have been checked that they are “in date” too!

I have not added ANY ingredients to make it convenient to create a new recipe!

Are you sometimes like me? I go looking for something to use and it “seems” to have gotten lost in the pantry!

So, I buy another can (when not purchasing fresh ingredients of course! ) as it is convenient to do!

The next thing you know, when you count the bean cans, I have 22!!!
I can make all the excuses under the sun!

I am now determined Eating My Way Through The Pantry over a period of time, WILL be done! Very Happy

There ARE many shelves in JUST the one pantry!

It seems ingredients “MAGICALLY” seem to play “Hide and Seek!”

PLEASE, tell me it is NOT just me!

When I am looking for something, I cannot find it despite it (probably) STARING back at me and is EASY to see! Well, maybe not!

IMG_3681 IMG_3679 IMG_3680One thing I did “notice” is I have a number of jugs and place the cheese grater here as it is the only place I can remember I put it for some reason.

NOTE
Each of the jugs have different measurements on them i.e. mls, grams, ounces, cups etc as when I get “in the food zone“, sometimes figuring out grams to mls, ounces to grams can sometimes be confusing for me. As long as I grab the correct jug, I am laughing and it saves A LOT of time!

“What did you create?”, I “hear” you say?

Joanna’s Beans and Red Lentil Curry with Flat Bread and Eggplant Pickle

Ingredients
2 teaspoons mustard oil
4 pickled onions, washed, paper towel dried, sliced
4 garlic, minced
4 tablespoons Vindaloo Curry Paste (I like my curry hot)
2 tablespoons Deggi Mirch (Indian spice made from colorful red capsicums and Kashmiri red chilies; GREAT to add to curries!)
850 mls Ayam Coconut Cream (prepared — see NOTE)
3 teaspoons chilli powder
100 grams red lentils
1 cup cooked brown rice
handful of Pomegranate Flavoured Craisins
10 curry leaves
400 grams (~14 ounces) canned kidney beans, drained and washed
400 grams (~14 ounces) canned chickpeas, drained and washed
eggplant pickle

Prepare Ayam Coconut Cream with Coconut Milk Powder; set aside.
1 1/2 packets mixes with 250 ml (1 cup) warm water for coconut cream for a total of 850 ml

NOTE
Can adjust coconut cream and spice for personal taste

Heat fry pan on medium heat, then add oil; saute onions with garlic until onions are golden brown. (about 5 minutes)

Lower heat; add Deggi Mirch, dry roast for 30 second or 1 minute until aromatic.

On low heat, add curry paste, cook 1 minute.

S-L-O-W-L-Y add in coconut cream, stirring (or whisking) constantly.

Add beans and lentils, bring to a simmer and cook 20 minutes or until lentil are done.

NOTE
Note I had previously steamed the brown rice and added the rice at this point too; feel free to serve it on the side.

Seeing I had never made Indian flat bread before, I found Single Being Mum’s Simple Indian Flat Bread Recipe – Easy Peasy and “knew” this was going to be my recipe to make!

I made the recipe with what I had “on hand” in my pantry, so omitted salt and the only spice (per se) I had was dill or Sicilian oregano; so look out for an Italian recipe while Eating My Way Through The Pantry soon!

Ingredients for Indian Flat Bread
225 grams (~8 ounces) plain wholemeal flour
175 ml (6 ounces) warm water
1/2 – 1 teaspoon mustard oil
extra flour for flat surface to knead

In a large bowl, combine flour and oil.

Add water “S-L-O-W-L-Y”; combine well with your hands.

Hint and Tip
I find it easier, turning the dough onto a floured surface, mold it into a ball; turn over.

Start kneading for 5 minutes only.

Hint and Tip
You dough should look smooth.

Cut dough into 6 balls.

NOTE
As I only wanted little ones, I cut my dough into 12 balls.

Roll dough out to desired shape.

Hint and Tip
I have trouble rolling a circle; don’t know why. I rolled until about the size I wanted, then I took a small plate, placed it over the dough, trimmed and VOILA! I had my PERFECT CIRCLE shape!

Heat fry pan on medium high.

Place circle dough into pan until it starts to bubble (about 2 minutes) and turn over.

NOTE
I am not a big fan of using a clean tea towel to place pressure over the dough that has now been turned. I used a plate on top and only initially applied pressure and cooked for an additional minute until the desired doneness.

“ASSEMBLE, ASSEMBLE, ASSEMBLE!”

Enjoy Joanna’s Beans and Red Lentil Curry with Flat Bread!

I always think Eggplant Pickle adds to a curry dish…YOU?

What cuisine would you like to see while I am Eating My Way Through The Pantry?

If YOU would like to share Eating YOUR Way Through The Pantry, I am more than happy to add your blog post to this or future posts too!

I thought it was a bit different and a big about food fun and using up what I have in my pantry!

In case you are asking, the freezers are being done too!

Reading your comments always brightens my day!
mickey-mouse-famous-cartoon

20 thoughts on “Eating My Way Through The Pantry

  1. Good gracious and I thought my pantry was full. Tonight’s supper was that, I stood looking in my pantry and pulled out a bunch of ingredients. I love a good throw together. Great dish, thanks for linking up at Swap N Share Sunday

  2. Tingting R. says:

    Wow! Your pantry is full! I bet it can last you for months. 🙂

  3. […] you remember in Eating My Way Through The Pantry (more blog posts coming too!) about HOW MANY bean cans had […]

  4. Nami | Just One Cookbook says:

    I can see your pantry has lots of good selections of food in it! It’s a wonderful challenge and it’s a good test to see if you have good cooking skills to make delicious meal out of the pantry! Nice work!

  5. Shobha says:

    Hey, your pantry is fully equipped with a variety of food stuff.. loved it… and the recipes too.

  6. A really tasty meal you made, Joanne! My husband is the one who looks around in the pantry, grabs stuff and throws it together to create a nice meal. I always need a recipe to inspire me.

  7. karen sanders says:

    I am inspired to check out my pantry 🙂 i am sure we could eat for months ha ha my personal over-buying favourite : pasta shapes – every conceivable pasta shape and what do i generally use? Spaghetti or penne —– i HAVE to use those cartwheel things 🙂

  8. Tina says:

    Wow it’s nice to know that I am not the only one who doubles up on some pantry items, although yours is a little more creative lol…I do however have 6 cans of crushed tomatoes, and 3 cans of tomatoe purree, just love the mediteranian diet..Your Beans and Red Lentil Curry sounds yummy!

  9. […] had SO much fun creating something and Eating My Way Through The Pantry yesterday, that I thought I would have “another go.” (Aussie lingo for another […]

  10. Sonia says:

    Wow, you have a lot of stuffs in your pantry! time to clear them up. Me too, have to check my pantry soon.Enjoy your curry with bread, must be yummy!

  11. Well done! I love going through my pantry using things up! I find so many random things that I’ve forgotten about 😛

Leave a Reply

About me

Joanne T. Ferguson

Passionate Home Cook who tries to inspire one recipe and one event at time!

Follow

Facebook Twitter RSS email Pinterest Google Plus

© All text and photos are copyright 2012 - 2013 What's On The List. All rights reserved. Feel free to ask.

