Appliscious Choc Cherry Crème Brûlée

13

July 4, 2013 by Joanne T Ferguson

IMG_3706“Where’s the Crème Brûlée?”, I “hear” you say? Shocked

This fun-filled Spun Fairy Floss will MAKE your day!

Thanks (once again) to Alex and Jamie at Little Box of Yum for including Crème Brûlée Spun Fairy Floss in their most recent box of Gourmet Goodies!
IMG_3518

Hands up, WHO thought Fairy Floss only came in one flavor? Shocked

I must admit “before” I was “introduced” to Spun Fairy Floss, I did think the product only came in one flavor and the only name for it was Fairy Floss (as it is known in Australia); is known as Cotton Candy in India, the US and Canada too! Wink

In South Africa, Ireland, New Zealand and the UK, it is known as candyfloss.

Spun Fairy Floss consists of 17 Classic Range flavours, and 22 delicious flavours in their New Limited Edition Range.

Did you know that Spun Fairy Floss is made from “top quality Australian cane sugar & natural flavours?”
Best of all, no artificial colours or flavours (Australian spelling Wink) are used.

I bet you also remembered that Spun Fairy Floss is “Vegan, gluten free, fat free, sodium free, lactose free & preservative free.”

Of course you remember now, when I first “introduced” you to Little Box of Yum Spun Fairy Floss — Ballerina Rose & Velvet Delight! Wink

IMG_2933IMG_2932Today, I wanted to add “a bit of a twist” by combining and “introducing to each other” favorites of mine; apple boats, dark chocolate and cherries, and crème brûlée.
Very HappyVery HappyVery HappyVery HappyVery HappyVery HappyVery HappyVery HappyVery HappyVery HappyVery HappyVery HappyVery HappyVery HappyVery HappyVery HappyVery HappyVery HappyVery HappyVery HappyVery Happy
When I was little, I had a VERY special Uncle Leo who used to spoil me silly (okay I admit it lol), but I always remember our fun food adventures and HE loved to play with food too! (Maybe THAT is where I got it from!! Laughing)

Uncle Leo used to carve out the most “wonderful” apple boats; even to this day you can hear me YELL “APPLE BOATS!” when I would like one, which is what he and I simultaneously used to YELL too! Wink

I WONDER if my YELLING around food started then too? lol

Today’s ingredients are “simple.” (just like me lol)

Granny smith apples (cut into Uncle Leo’s apple boats)

Dark Chocolate Cherry Sauce
2 tablespoons maple syrup
1/2 cup water
1 cup of cherries
1/2 cup cherry juice
1/4 teaspoon vanilla extract
2 tablespoons good quality balsamic vinegar
2 tablespoons cornstarch
3 teaspoon water
3 tablespoons pistachios, ground and roasted

In a hand blender, combine cherries and cherry juice from jar until smooth; set aside.

Under the broiler/griller, roast pistachios until lightly golden brown; set aside.

In a saucepan, combine 1/2 cup water and maple syrup over medium heat on stove until maple syrup dissolves.

Add smooth cherries stir and simmer for 3 minutes.

Add almond extract and balsamic vinegar; heat until starts to simmer.

In a dish, combine cornstarch and water to make a slurry.

Add mixture to above mixture; stir and simmer until thick.

NOTE
If you like your sauce thicker, you can adjust the cornstarch and water accordingly.

ASSEMBLE, ASSEMBLE, ASSEMBLE! (like when I brought my Chinet Bakeware to a party when I needed to “bring a plate” Wink)

Drizzle sauce over apple boats, cover with Crème Brûlée Spun Fairy Floss; top with roasted pistachio and have fun and play!
IMG_3691IMG_3700Do you know in America, National Cotton Candy Day is December 7?

Don’t forget, you can purchase Fairy Floss now with Australian, USA, UK, Canadian, New Zealand, Japan, China & United Arab Emirates freight prices.

Because  you “know” by now I like to play with my food, do YOU know what happens when your drop fairy floss into a bucket of water?

I do!!!

It is quite “unique” (as I did it by accident) and would HIGHLY SUGGEST you indulge in enjoying the experience of actually EATING the Fairy Floss…but I bet you are still curious what happens. Wink

Hands up, who wants to play with some Spun Fairy Floss Crème Brûlée?

Tastes GREAT, appeals to children of all ages, and makes (always) for a fun-filled unique Fairy Floss recipe! Wink

What flavour would YOU like to see?

Reading your comments always make me “happy as can be!”

For my viewers in the U.S., don’t forget to check out the U.S.A. Special Package Deals on their website!

Thank you Alex from Little Box of Yum who has generously decided (once again) to give my subscribed viewers a link to get $10.00 off their first box too!
www.littleboxofyum.com/special

Look forward to my E-X-C-I-T-I-N-G first giveaway coming soon! Very HappyVery HappyVery Happy

UPDATE
The word must be out, I love being invited to a food party, true!
Thanks to Sarah from The Chef Next Door, I thought these Appliscious Choc Cherry Creme Brulee would appeal to children of all ages at the Blogger Recipe Challenge Fruit themed party this month too!

13 thoughts on “Appliscious Choc Cherry Crème Brûlée

  1. Dark chocolate cherry sauce…yum!

  2. babso2you says:

    Looks wonderful!

  3. Winnie says:

    WOwwww This looks soooooooooooooooooo GOOD
    I love creme of brulee

  4. Happy 4th of July Joanne for yesterday!! 😀

  5. chocolatepeanutbutterohmy says:

    Fairy floss 🙂 such a great memory only eating it a the Royal Adelaide show 🙂 x

  6. This is so pretty! and so delicious…who would have thought? I love the Fairy Floss name…the stuff is sweet! but I think you accomplished taming the sugar flavor with the apple and the sauce! Lovely!
    Thank You for sharing my friend! always looking forward to your delicious recipes,
    Lizy

  7. Joanne says:

    Creme brulee is my favorite dessert! Need to get my hands on this treat.

Leave a Reply

About me

Joanne T. Ferguson

Passionate Home Cook who tries to inspire one recipe and one event at time!

Follow

Facebook Twitter RSS email Pinterest Google Plus

© All text and photos are copyright 2012 - 2013 What's On The List. All rights reserved. Feel free to ask.

