In My Kitchen, July 2013

56

July 1, 2013 by Joanne T Ferguson

IMG_3455“They say, times flies when you’re having fun!”

This lovely pink timer, let’s me know when my cupcakes are done! Wink

A very big thank you to Celia from Fig Jam and Lime Cordial for making me feel so “welcomed” to submit my first blog post towards her In My Kitchen series. Very Happy

I could go for Celia’s yummy brownies RIGHT now, YOU? Wink

I think we ALL can laugh about our utility drawers as mine looks “exactly” like Celia’s too! Laughing

Onto what’s In My Kitchen, eh?

Not in any particular order, but seeing we JUST had a VERY big “Scottish Castle Themed Party” (house was decorated like Edinburgh Castle with knights in shining armor too! lol) over the weekend, Scottish Ham and Lentil Soup, Scottish Spicy Stewed Beans Soup and Scottish Baps made their way In My Kitchen.

IMG_3641IMG_3639IMG_3647Special thanks to my non-blogging friend Annie;
these Scottish Baps were GREAT!!! EVERYONE said so too! Wink

Seeing I am a romantic at heart, Chef Georgio aka hubby of Make No Bones About It fame lol LOVED his Valentine’s cactus heart pressie; Australian lingo for present.

In case you are wondering, it is a “real” plant that needs to be watered “on occasion.
IMG_3664

This “whimsical” nutcracker was sent from VERY special people who are like grandparents to me from the States! Nutcrackers are VERY popular there, so you can only IMAGINE how much I S-Q-U-E-A-L-E-D when I opened our Christmas parcel pressie!
IMG_3459I have “confessed” a number of times on my blog posts that “My name is Joanne and I am a non-baker.”

I have recently updated that confession to “My name is Joanne and I now LOVE to bake!”

I LOVE my new non-stick rolling pin that I “rewarded” myself with recently!

It works GREAT and is NOT “a novelty!” Wink

I never “knew” a rolling pin could be non-stick…YOU? Shocked

IMG_3666
I have never tasted squid ink linguine before, but am VERY curious about it …YOU? Shocked

I was recently sent some by a company to try and create a unique recipe; look forward soon to what I do! Wink
IMG_3444One of the things I “learned” about myself through posting In The Kitchen, is I LOVE “unique” food items and foods “magically” YEARN coming home with me; even if I don’t know WHAT the ingredient is or how to use it in a recipe!

IMG_3454Chinese Yam, Purple Dried Lotus Root, Dried Bean Curd Knots, Natural Sword Blossom, Purple Potato Vermicelli, and I always have an obsession, um, need to purchase good fortunes! Very HappyIMG_3456Organic Ginger Syrup, Gingelly Oil also called tin oil, and 100% from fruit Natural Dark Sweetener! Very Happy

Now you all know WHY I have a “uniquely stocked” pantry! Wink

Even though I am a lover of good coffee, “anything” tea related FASCINATES me!

Tea leaves, tea cups, tea cakes, tea houses, high tea, tea cakes stands and tea time!

This “vintage” rose 3 tier tea cake stand is a favorite of mine!

IMG_3452Would you like some sugar or some milk with a bicky?; Aussie lingo for biscuit. Wink
IMG_3445Some people have “sugarplums” dancing in their head!

I, on the other hand, LOVE making ANYTHING gingerbread! Laughing

IMG_3448Gingerbread cookie cutter, gingerbread cookie mold, gingerbread cake mold and gingerbread spatula too!

I find a number of my “cooking related items and props” in “fun-filled cooking adventure” stores locally that don’t cost an arm and leg too!

Seeing it is winter and the weather had turned “quite cold”  lately, Silverside aka Corned Beef and Cabbage Soup is “bubbling” away on the stove!

It is VERY comforting and “warms the cockles of your heart“…freezes well too!
IMG_3467Here has been a “snippet” view of what’s in and going on In My Kitchen…hope you enjoyed too!

There is always something going on in my kitchen and to me the kitchen is “The Heart of The Home” where recipes are made with a dash of TLC, a pinch of love and creativity!

IMG_3464

Thank you again Celia as I really enjoyed sharing In My Kitchen and after all, life, cooking and baking is all about FUN!

Comments always make me smile….YOU?

Very HappyVery HappyVery HappyVery HappyVery HappyVery HappyVery HappyVery Happy

56 thoughts on “In My Kitchen, July 2013

  1. Hey Joanne. Cool blog! Very interesting and we will definitely be back. Your friends at http://www.hitchhikershandbook.com

  2. […] cannot believe HOW quickly time “flew” since my very first post of  In My Kitchen July 2013! It “seems” like I just shared it the other […]

  3. Joanne, it looks like you and I are of one heart and mind…God help us if we ever go into an international market together!
    Thanks you for following my food and entertaining blog; I am happy that you found me so that i can enjoy your posts as well.

  4. Hello Joanne,
    What a lovely kitchen you have!! It’s summer here in NY, but I am craving a nice, warm bowl of your ham & lentil soup- looks delish! I’m fascinated by all of the unique kitchen products you have- the squid ink pasta, ginger syrup, dried bean curd rolls? Wow! I’m looking forward to seeing what you come up with!
    Thanks for stopping by my site. I’m glad I found you 🙂

  5. Joanna says:

    What a bubbly and fun kitchen you have ! I know about the ingredients hopping into the bag and landing in the cupboards of life 🙂

  6. Johanna GGG says:

    I would love to see your house decorated as Edinburgh castle – the feast sounds like fun! that nutcracker is adorable – I want one and I want a non stick rolling pin (never heard of them before either) – your kitchen sounds like fun!

  7. Nisa Homey says:

    Hi Joanne, thanks a ton for the FB likes…really appreciate the inspiration….what great collection, envy you!! especially the timer…so glad to like your page and follow you…keep connected and have a blessed day 🙂

  8. I do love your cupcake timer. I have never tried squid ink pasta, although I do like squid ink risotto. I also love your cute cactus. Thanks for sharing your kitchen.

  9. Did I tell you I collect cupcakes..I have an insane obsession with them…lol..Your timer is just adorable! and I’m dying to know that are you going to make with all those interesting items in your pantry! You are so creative and I’m sure something delicious will come out of it! thanks for sharing Joanne! have a great day girl!

  10. Thanks so much for interpreting the “lingo” it has taken me a little bit to catch on, but I love it. You do have some unique items to inspire new flavor adventures in your kitchen, I especially like the ginger syrup. 🙂

  11. oh WOW Joanne, you certainly do have a “uniquely stocked pantry” indeed! So many treasures!! I do love squid ink pasta, it tastes like regular pasta with a hint of fishiness. Not in a bad way at all. It’s most delicious.
    I can’t wait to see what you plan to make with it 🙂

    • Thanks Lisa for stopping by and your lovely comments too! I have two dishes in mind, but am trialling two versions and one version will win which will be blogged about soon! 🙂

  12. What scrumptious foods and super cute kitchen tools. I love the timer and rolling pin — need one of those.

  13. I love your cupcake timer!! It is the cutest thing I have ever seen!!! Just beautiful! This is my first month contributing to In My Kitchen too, I am loving having a peek into everyone else kitchen 🙂

  14. Thanks for the mention on ‘the list’ 🙂
    I can tell you certainly enjoy being in your kitchen by what you have in there. The heart ‘cactus’ may be more of a succulent I think.
    I’ve been wanting to try squid ink pasta for a while now, and I have a squid ink risotto in my pantry just waiting to be used. I too must confess to a pantry which holds quite a few exotic items. Maybe we should be doing a ‘what’s in my pantry’ installment.
    I love the ‘ginger people’ products but I haven’t seen them too often in Canada 😦

  15. Hi Joanne, what fabulous goodies you have in your kitchen. I turn everything into cupcakes so I absolutely adore your timer and cake stand – just too gorgeous for words.
    Thanks again for the link.
    Have a lovely day.
    🙂 Mandy xo

  16. […] Joanne @ What’s On The List? […]

  17. heidiannie says:

    Hi Joanne!
    I have the same nutcracker in my house- it was a gift from some baking friends and I have it up all year round. I love gingerbread too- I used to make gingerbread houses for a local bakery and cookies to sell all year round- but decorating cut outs can be very hard on your wrists and I now only make them for special occasions and people.
    In fact, I just remembered that I won the last competition I was in- so I’m a Gingerbread Boss-LOL- http://www.heidiannie.com/gingerbread-boss/
    Loved your post- thanks for sharing!

    • Thanks Heidi for your lovely comments too! I used to make gingerbread houses as Christmas presents and know first hand how “challenging” they can be too! BIG congrats on your AWESOME gingerbread house and am “honored” to be amongst the Gingerbread Boss too! lol

  18. ale says:

    Joanne I love your cactus and the cookie cutters!
    You have a great bunch of things in your kitchen!
    Everything looks delicious!

  19. Tandy says:

    I love the rolling pin! I have had the same wooden one for about 20 years now. I love squid ink pasta and often make my own. Have fun creating a dish using it 🙂

  20. hotlyspiced says:

    You certainly have a lot going on, Joanne. I love your timer! And the nutcracker is gorgeous. A Christmas shop opened near me last Christmas and one of the owners is an American. He had a whole section dedicated to nutcrackers. They were all imported from the USA and all were numbered and all were slightly different. The guy was very enthusiastic when telling me about them xx

  21. Themed gatherings are so much fun! What a spread! I like your rolling pin. I need to find one myself 🙂

  22. Such a great haul, Joanne! That cake stand is beautiful…. wish I had room for more lovely things. Thanks for the peek into your culinary world.

  23. Joanne, SO much treasure in your kitchen! I sighed out loud at your beautiful crockery, and must confess to a pantry full of mysterious but intriguing food items as well. And I’m sure there’s ginger syrup in there somewhere, thanks for the reminder! Where did you get the wonderful heart cactus? I’ve never seen anything like it – has it been trained to grow like that, or is it the variety? Thanks for playing! 🙂 xx

    • Thank you SO much Celia for making me feel so welcomed to your series! I always love seeing what’s in other people’s kitchen’s and pantry’s too! 🙂
      The cactus is actually grown that way; no spikes too! I had never seen anything like it until last Valentine’s day!

  24. Jeannette says:

    Why the Scottish theme to your get-together, have you Scottish roots? I have a friend called Annie in Scotland too!

  25. Squid ink pasta??? Now that IS exotic!

  26. Joanne says:

    So much deliciousness here!!

  27. You have a great bounty of things in your kitchen. I personally would like the corned beef and cabbage soup. By the way where is the ginger syrup from?

Leave a Reply

About me

Joanne T. Ferguson

Passionate Home Cook who tries to inspire one recipe and one event at time!

Follow

Facebook Twitter RSS email Pinterest Google Plus

© All text and photos are copyright 2012 - 2013 What's On The List. All rights reserved. Feel free to ask.

