Roza’s Roasted Pumpkin, Pesto, Corn & Polenta Lover’s Bites

16

June 26, 2013 by Joanne T Ferguson

IMG_3487

Hands up, who wants to devour one of these NOW? Very HappyVery HappyVery Happy

Based on the number of hands I can “see” in the air through the computer screen, I better got making more now too! Laughing

While standing in the kitchen the other day, STILL feeling the Hot Lover warmth of Roza’s Roasted Red Hot Lover Chilli, Mercette appeared to me.

Her smile “illuminates any room“, many people say!

Her smile was beyond what words could say on the day!

She w-h-i-s-p-e-r-e-d about her Lover’s Bites recipe!

And would I like it if she share it with me? ShockedShockedShocked

“S-L-O-W and steady wins the race,” Mercette “suggested” about her recipe!

With the end result, Mercette said, I TOO would be smiling and happy as can be! Very Happy

Thanks to Roza’s Gourmet Sauces, who “graciously” sent me their Dairy Free Pesto and their Dairy Free Coconut Mayonnaise.

Did you know all of their products are preservative free and gluten free?

New_Recipe_pesto__48212.1351042783.1280.1280

coconut_chilli_mayonnaise__16740.1345966132.1280.1280Here is my adapted recipe from Mercette’s! Wink

I “paced” myself and broke the recipe down into “simple” parts, so please be patient with me! Wink

Ingredients
125 grams (~4.4 ounces) canned corn; drained
1 kent pumpkin; peeled, small cubed
1 tablespoon butter, melted
1 tablespoon olive oil
oil spray
water

In a fry pan on the stove over medium heat, saute corn for about 5 minutes until corn looks char-grilled.

Remove from stove top, set aside.

In a saucepan filled with cold water, over medium high heat, add the pumpkin; bring to a boil; simmer 5 minutes; drain well on a paper towel for about 30 minutes.

In a small bowl, whisk together “slightly cooled” butter and oil.

Transfer pumpkin to a “lightly oiled” flat tray; brush with butter oil mixture.

Preheat oven to 350 C. (180 F)

Roast in oven for 20 minutes or until lightly golden brown.

Remove from tray; set aside.

Hint and Tip
I “introduced” Mr. Roasted Pumpkin to Miss Chargrilled Corn and they got on splendidly! Very HappyVery Happy

They simultaneously asked each other, “Will you be part of Joanna’s recipe? lol

NOTE
Oven times will depend based on the size of your pumpkin cubes.Wink

My name is Joanne aka Joanna aka mickeydownunder aka FANG and I have a confession! Embarassed

I have never cooked with polenta before but it HAS been “on my list” to do!

When I opened my What’s On The List Folder, (it IS “quite” an extensive folder you know lol) I saw I had saved Tastebook‘s Crisp Polenta Cheese Balls with Aioli.

We all are “inspired” by what we read and see!

As a guide” cooking polenta, this recipe really helped me! Wink

I read with “interest” that children in Italy are tested for celiac before the age of six and that “true polenta” is made with cornmeal which is gluten free!*

That’s what I have included in my recipe! Very Happy

Ingredients for Polenta Balls
1 cup polenta
4 cups water
1 tablespoon butter
1/2 cup coconut flour, sifted
1 teaspoon Old Bay Seasoning
pinch of salt (I used Himalayan pink salt)
Roza’s Gourmet Sauces Dairy Free Pesto
1 egg. beaten

NOTE
If you don’t have Old Bay Seasoning, you can always substitute Cajun Spice. I think it would also be very nice! Wink

In a saucepan, bring water and salt to a boil.

S-L-O-W-L-Y (and I mean slowly lol) pour the polenta in whisking “constantly.”

Reduce heat to low.; cover and cook for 20 minutes; making sure to remove cover and stir polenta at various intervals.

NOTE
You do not want your polenta to boil. Wink

When polenta is “soft”, stir in butter; remove from heat; adjust seasoning for personal taste.

Allow polenta to cool enough to handle.

ASSEMBLE!!! ASSEMBLE!!! ASSEMBLE!!!

I “seemingly” like YELLING this like in Love Is In The Air Love Nests, in Nidi di Rondine and in Wrap Yourself Happy Manti too! Wink

Line a flat tray with “lightly oil sprayed” baking paper.

NOTE
Make sure the tray can fit into your fridge.

NOTE TO SELF                                                                                                Make sure you remember NEXT time you do! Laughing

Scoop out 1 tablespoon of polenta into the palm of your hand; make a slight indentation.

Fill with pesto, pumpkin and corn.

Hint and Tip

I found it “heaps” easier to scoop out another tablespoon of polenta into my other hand and with my thumb, form an indentation.

I placed the top to the filled bottom; sealing any gaps.

Then “gently” S-Q-U-E-E-Z-E the ball together.

Trust me, the first one you WILL be gentle, after that SQUEEZE!!! lol

I found with placing some water in the palm of my hand, made the SQUEEZING easier and then you need to ROLL the ball as smooth as you can do!

Well done for staying with me! Wink
Are YOU feeling the crescendo to this romantic recipe finale like me? Laughing

Cover the balls with another “lightly oil sprayed” piece of baking paper; cover with plastic wrap and refrigerate overnight.

The next day you will feel refreshed and look once again forward to tasting Roza’s Roasted Pumpkin Pesto & Corn Polenta Lover’s Bites!

In a bowl, combine flour and Old Bay Seasoning.

In another bowl, beat the egg; set aside.

In a flat plate, place coconut flour.

Roll the balls in flour, egg, then breadcrumbs.

Place them onto “slightly oiled” rimmed baking tray.

NOTE
You can bake these or deep fry them.

I don’t do a lot of deep frying, but with the very cold winter weather, I decided to “treat myself” to deep frying and draining them well today! These come as crispy (non greasy) as can be!

Ingredients of the Dipping Sauce
4 tablespoons Roza’s Gourmet Sauces Dairy Free Coconut Chilli Mayonnaise
2 tablespoons jarred roasted peppers, drained, washed

In a hand mixer, combine above until smooth; adjust for personal taste.

While in my kitchen plating Roza’s Roasted Pumpkin, Pesto, Corn & Polenta Lover’s Bites, to be photographed, I turned my back “very briefly“, TRUE!

I “smelled” Mercette’s Lover’s cologne and looks like he left me a pink rose of friendship for making Mercette proud today that I adapted her recipe! Wink

Can you FEEL the love today in the most EXTRAORDINARY way or is it just me?

These Roza’s Roasted Pumpkin, Pesto, Corn & Polenta Lover’s Bites sang one of my favorite songs I used in a previous recipe!

If you enjoyed this post, I would love to hear from you! Very HappyVery HappyVery HappyVery HappyVery Happy

polentaSOURCE
http://www.ehow.com/about_4572235_polenta-gluten-free.html

16 thoughts on “Roza’s Roasted Pumpkin, Pesto, Corn & Polenta Lover’s Bites

  1. bellini says:

    These little bites sound wonderful.

  2. Yum! Yes, I would love these bites! I don’t eat polenta often enough. Need to change that!

  3. Gloria C-L says:

    Oh YUM! These sound wonderful, and I had never thought of using cooked pumpkin or polenta this way (I love polenta but usually just prepare & serve it in the traditional manner). I bet it would work with smoked pumpkin too – my husband sometimes cooks pumpkin on the smoker instead of roasting, & it gives the pumpkin a subtle, rich smoky flavor that’s earthy without being overpowering. Makes for a great maple pumpkin pie! Thanks for sharing this recipe.

  4. Rosa Mayland says:

    Scrumptious bites! What fabulous flavors.

    Cheers,

    Rosa

  5. hotlyspiced says:

    What a great recipe. I haven’t heard of these sauces but I’ll have to look out for them. I’d like to cook these and I’ll let you know if I do. They remind me of aranchini balls xx

  6. Oh these look awesome Joanne, great results for your first try at polenta.

  7. Hehe I imagine your kitchen to be full of lots of activity and happy shouting-not just from you but also between the food that gets introduced to each other 😉

  8. Oh Wow. Ca’t get Roza’s here in Doha but will try and source similar. This is on my radar for some weekend cooking…

Leave a Reply

About me

Joanne T. Ferguson

Passionate Home Cook who tries to inspire one recipe and one event at time!

Follow

Facebook Twitter RSS email Pinterest Google Plus

© All text and photos are copyright 2012 - 2013 What's On The List. All rights reserved. Feel free to ask.

