Morish Dark Chocolate Caramel Coated Nut Bowl With..

8

June 24, 2013 by Joanne T Ferguson

IMG_3416“Don’t play with your food”, my mother used to say! (like in Kid in a Candy Store DIY Fluted Bowls and in Little Box of Yum Spun Fairy Floss -Ballerina Rose & Velvet Delight.)

“But WHY?” (should have been my middle name lol) “Just DON’T! OK?”
Today is no exception indeed! Very Happy

Thanks (once again to Alex of Little Box of Yum), Morish Nuts was included in my box to try and create a unique recipe! Very Happy

By now, you “must” be familiar with Little Box of Yum based on:

Roza’s Gourmet Sauces

Spun Fairy Floss

Maleny Cuisine Strawberry, Lime and Whiskey

Angelo’s Fresh Pasta

and

Riverina Grove Bum Hummer.

IMG_2673Morish Nuts, started by Archie Moroni & Marie Mapp have a very interesting history!

They are “nuts about nuts” and in a “nutshell” lol, here is their history! Wink

“Morish Nuts recently wowed magnate Richard Branson’s Virgin Blue to become the only food item carried on the airline’s inflight merchandise list.”
Very HappyVery HappyVery Happy

Today, not only did I decide to “play with my food“, but this Morish Dark Chocolate Caramel Coated Nut Bowl put me in my child-like “fun food mood.” Laughing
Ingredients

375 grams (~ 13.2 ounces) NESTLÉ BAKING Dark Melts

60 grams (~ 2.1 ounces) Morish Premium Caramel Coated Nut Mix; finely ground

balloons (thanks to Miss Thermaliscious for providing as I had ran out!!!) ShockedShockedShocked

oil spray

baking paper

Over a double boiler filled with simmering water, melt dark chocolate; add Morish Caramel Coated Nut Mix; combine well.

Blow balloons up to desired size; oil spray bottom area completely; coat with semi cooled melted chocolate mixture; place on flat tray that is lined with oil sprayed baking paper.

Hint and Tip
I used a wooden spoon to “swirl” the chocolate onto the balloon.

I found it HEAPS easier to hold the balloon (“gently but firmly”) by the tip and made sure that the balloon was covered at the same height all around! Wink

With “oiled sprayed” baking paper on a tray, I placed about 2 tablespoons of melted chocolate and “swirled” onto the baking paper creating a base; place chocolate covered balloon on the base.

I then placed the tray in the freezer for 30 minutes to “harden“; removed from freezer; then used a knife to burst.

S-L-O-W-L-Y, but gently“, remove balloon from inside of the chocolate.

Trust me, it “does” come “easily away!

It “may” take patience on the day! Wink

NOTE

Think of the three bears….

— too large, the balloon WILL explode; trust me on that one! Wink
http://cf.broadsheet.ie/wp-content/uploads/2011/10/balloon-burst.jpg

— too small, you won’t get “the effect.” Wink
— blow them up “just right“, you will get a unique artisan bowl to see! Wink

I went for the “stucco” textured look! lol, lol, lol

Remember, I am “still” in my child-like “fun food mood!” Wink

IMG_3419

IMG_3424

IMG_3430

While I was making this bowl, I don’t know if (while in child-like mode) or because of the cold weather, but I thought, WHAT else with this Morish Dark Chocolate Caramel Coated Nut Bowl would I like to “experience and see.”

It was only then that my “inner child” YELLED (and you KNOW by now HOW I YELL with food! lol) “PEANUT BUTTER AND JELLY!!!”

What a GREAT combination!!! Very Happy

Morish Dark Chocolate Caramel Coated Nut Bowl With Peanut Butter and Jelly!

“What’s the difference between jams, jelly, fruit butter, conserves and marmalade?, I “hear” you say?

This IS a good question, ESPECIALLY for today! Wink

When I opened my What’s On The List folder, I saw I had previously saved What’s The Difference Between Jam, Jelly, Conserves and Marmalades, Etc. on The Kitchn and I thought it was “a simple explanation” to answer your question today!
Wink

While I was in “the folder”, I saw I had saved Daisy’s flourless peanut butter and jelly thumbprint cookies and thought they would also be PERFECT!

Actually my mind was already thinking of “introducing” Miss Peanut Butter and Jelly Cookie to Mr. Morish Dark Chocolate Caramel Coated Nut Bowl. lol

It was then that I thought, hold on, I have some Maleny Strawberry, Lime and Whiskey Conserve in the fridge that was “graciously” sent to me by Alex of Little Box of Yum.IMG_2685

By now, you “know” I like to use what I have on hand on the day!

Now Miss Peanut Butter Strawberry, Lime and Whiskey Conserve Cookie will be “introduced” to Mr. Morish Dark Chocolate Caramel Coated Nut Bowl in a “unique way.” Wink
Am I the only one E-X-C-I-T-E-D by having a Peanut Butter Strawberry, Lime and Whiskey Conserve Cookie and breaking off a piece of Dark Chocolate Caramel Coated Nut Bowl? Laughing

Here is my Joanna’s Peanut Butter Strawberry, Lime and Whiskey Conserve Cookie, “slightly adapted” recipe. Very Happy

Ingredients

1 cup smooth no salt added peanut butter
1 cup Xylitol (original recipe calls for sugar)
1 egg
1 teaspoons baking soda
1/4 teaspoon vanilla powder
1 pinch pink Himalayan salt
4 tablespoons Maleny Strawberry, Lime and Whiskey Conserve

Preheat oven to 180C. (350F)

In a stand mixer, combine peanut butter and sugar until well combined.

Add egg and vanilla powder; combine.

Add baking soda and salt; combine.

Roll dough into balls; Place on baking paper lined flat baking tray.

With back of a fork, place a criss-cross pattern on the cookies.

Bake for 10 minutes.

Remove from oven.

With back of a spoon, make an indent into the cookie and fill with Strawberry, Lime and Whiskey Conserve.

Place back into oven and bake for an additional 10 minutes or until lightly golden brown.

Remove from oven. Cool for 10 minutes or until cookies are slightly hardened.

IMG_3432I am “nuts about nuts” myself, have been called a “nutter” before, TRUE!

Nutter is Australian lingo for slightly crazy, but in a fun sort of way too! Wink

There is NUT-THING like Morish Premium Caramel Coated Nuts that you will ever taste; “SO crunchy and delish!”

I can “hear” you now want to “buy and try” Morish Premium Caramel Coated Nuts and you now have a craving to jump onto Richard Branson’s Virgin Blue…

I HOPE you get your tasting wish from me to you!! WinkVery HappyVery HappyVery HappyVery HappyVery HappyVery HappyVery Happy

What’s your favorite nut?

If you could have it coated, what would YOU coat it in?

IMG_3437

8 thoughts on “Morish Dark Chocolate Caramel Coated Nut Bowl With..

  1. Ah, I’d forgotten about chocolate balloon bowls – so much fun to make! Those nuts sound delicious.

  2. Oh that’s where I’ve seen them! On the in flight menu! I was wondering where I had seen those packets 🙂

  3. Rosa Mayland says:

    Wonderful and ever so scrumptious! A great creation.

    Cheers,

    Rosa

  4. Joanne says:

    That nut bowl is fabulous! The kind of WOW thing you only expect to see at restaurants!

Leave a Reply

About me

Joanne T. Ferguson

Passionate Home Cook who tries to inspire one recipe and one event at time!

Follow

Facebook Twitter RSS email Pinterest Google Plus

© All text and photos are copyright 2012 - 2013 What's On The List. All rights reserved. Feel free to ask.

