Kangaroo Mince Middle Eastern Creamy Tomato Curry — The Daring Cooks’ Challenge June 2013

16

June 14, 2013 by Joanne T Ferguson

IMG_3334As you know by now, I LOVE a food challenge! Very HappyVery Happy

This month’s Meatballs Around The World Challenge presented by Shelley from C Mom Cook and Ruth from The Crafts of Mommyhood from The Daring Kitchen was a fun challenge indeed! Wink

I have a confession! Embarassed

My name is Joanne and I have never cooked kangaroo at home! Shocked

It is not because I don’t like the taste or have an aversion to it; (as one of our national animals) I have just never gotten “around to it.”

In my meatball curry recipe, I used Macro Meats Gourmet Game Kangaroo Mince.

Did you know kangaroo is 98% Fat Free?

IMG_3325

I will inject a little Aussie humor here and hope you find it funny too!

Do YOU get a ROUND TUIT? Laughing

I do and this is what this blog is all about….FUN, ENTERTAINING and now you know what a ROUND TUIT is! Laughing
tumblr_lojb2eo0fK1qhi59co1_500

Back to the challenge! Wink

You know by now HOW distracted I get when it comes to all things food!

When I opened my What’s On The List folder, I had MANY meatballs from around the world recipes and sauces saved. It was a difficult decision, but I thought I would “introduce” two recipes to each other.

I like to “introduce” foods like in Indian Cauliflower Rice Raw Foods Sushi and in Coconut, Lemongrass and Hibiscus Ice Cream.

I initially saved Kofteh Berenji by Persian Recipes because I am fascinated with all world cuisines.

These meatballs are an old Persian dish and it is my understanding that all Persians cook these meatballs their own way and use their own unique ingredients too! Wink

Hence, I thought there was a little bit of exotic “mystery and mystique” with the recipe too!

Some people call these meatballs Koftah, some call them Kefteh; Persians call them Koofteh.

I also had saved Amy’s Curry Meatballs in Creamy Tomato-Coconut Sauce from MDA on Denim & Dots.

When I made the introductions between the two recipes, I created my adapted Joanna’s Kangaroo Mince Middle Eastern Curry. Very HappyVery HappyVery Happy

I hope you enjoy it too! Wink

NOTE
Recipe is “as a guide”; feel free to adjust the amounts for personal taste.

Ingredients for The Sauce
2 tablespoons butter
1 red onion, finely diced
1 1/2 teaspoons garlic paste
1 tablespoon ginger paste
2 teaspoons ground coriander
2 teaspoons cumin
1 teaspoon roasted curry powder
2 x 400 grams (~14 ounces) diced tomatoes in juice
2 x 50 grams AYAM Premium Coconut Milk Powder Gluten Free
440 grams (~16 ounces) warm water
12 small fresh baby carrots, peeled; fine diced

Peel baby carrots, fine dice; set aside.

In a jug, combine warm water and AYAM Premium Coconut Milk Powder; mix until smooth; no lumps.

In a large, tall pot, over medium heat, add cumin, coriander, and roasted curry powder until aromatic. (about 1 minute)

Add butter, garlic paste, ginger paste, carrots and onions; saute until soft. (about 5 minutes)

Lowering heat, add canned diced tomatoes and coconut milk.

S-L-O-W-L-Y heat sauce until simmering.

Hint and Tip
If you want a stronger coconut flavor or texture, you can add toasted shredded coconut.

If you want a bit of a kick, you can add red chilli. Wink

While waiting for sauce to simmer, you can now make the meatballs.

NOTE
Meatballs will cook in the sauce; no prior browning necessary! Shocked

Ingredients for the Meatballs
1 kilo (~35 ounces) kangaroo mince
1 red onion, grated
1 cup raw rice
2 tablespoons tomato paste
1 teaspoon turmeric
1 packet saffron
3 tablespoons water
1 teaspoon garlic paste
1 egg
ground white pepper to taste
1/2 cup frozen peas
114 grams (~ 4 ounces) greens; finely sliced. (I used watercress, continental parsley & coriander.)

In a large bowl, combine kangaroo mince, garlic paste and grated onion.

Wash raw rice; set aside.

In saucepan, boil 3 tablespoons water; add saffron; remove from heat to “slightly” cool.

Add raw rice, turmeric, saffron, egg, frozen peas, greens and white pepper to taste; combine well with hands.

Mold kangaroo mince mixture into balls.

Hint and tip
I “squeeze” the balls together, then rolled in the palm of my hands. I had no trouble with the meatballs falling apart or not sticking together; even when cooked.

Drop meatballs into curry sauce; cover with sauce if necessary.

Hint and Tip
I cooked these in two batches so as to not crowd the pot. Wink

With the pot still on low, cover and cook for about 30 minutes; checking the meatballs at 15 minutes as the sauce will reduce.

The meatballs are done when they are soft and tender, melt in your mouth and the rice is done.

NOTE
I used Indian raw rice and do not know if the cooking time will vary if a different rice is used.

I LOVE trial and error…YOU?

When you make these, please let me know know how you go too! Very Happy

Thank you again to sisters Sherry and Ruth who (in their own words) “have very different cooking styles.”

Ruth “keeps a vegetarian home.”

Shelley “is a carnivore through and through.”

I thought this recipe could be versatile enough to use vegetarian meatballs; cooking the same method too! Wink

Have you ever cooked meatballs in sauce or do you always brown before adding them to the sauce? This is something worldwide I am always curious about too!

Have you ever tasted kangaroo before and now based on my Kangaroo Mince Middle Eastern Creamy Tomato Curry, would YOU be GAME to do!? Wink

What a GREAT challenge indeed, TRUE!

Now I can say I HAVE cooked kangaroo at home, which is something that has been (for a long time) on my “list to do!

I can’t wait to try other Macro Meats products which include Kanga Bangas, Kangaroo Steaks and Fillets, Diced Kangaroo Meat as well as Wild Rabbit TRUE!

Make sure to check out AYAM’S other Gluten Free product range as the products are Australian Certified Organic and is Halal certified too!

16 thoughts on “Kangaroo Mince Middle Eastern Creamy Tomato Curry — The Daring Cooks’ Challenge June 2013

  1. Wow, this looks so delicious. I might have to make it with ground lamb though.

  2. Claudia says:

    You didn’t mention how the ‘roo tasted – like beef, like chicken (probably not), did you like it? I am so sorry I didn’t try any when we were in Australia. Love how you combined flavors and cultural ideas here.

    • Thanks Claudia! If you closed your eyes and did not view the roo (lol), because the meat melted in your mouth, it could have been beef mince (but different in texture), but with the combination of flavors, nothing was gamey or too strong as far as the mince was.
      Think of it like a finely ground turkey mince in texture; maybe a tad (but not much) different. Hope that helps too! And for stopping by and your comments, thank you! Cheers! Joanne

  3. andy says:

    Good on you for cooking kangaroo for the challenge. Your meatballs look great.

  4. Kangaroo meat is not availlable here but I really loved learning more about it
    Thank you Joanne for the wonderful recipe

  5. Shelley C says:

    I love your Middle-Eastern-Aussie meatballs – what great flavors you packed into those delicious looking balls! Thank you so much for cooking along with us this month.

  6. Aisha says:

    I would love to try your meatballs with kangaroo meat!! But no way if I don’t go to Australia.
    But your recipe sounds yummy 😉

  7. WOW what a great idea I LOVE roo meatballs and your recipe is such a great starting point for a whole host of flavours. Wonderful effort and lovely pixs. Yours Audax in Sydney Australia.

  8. Hehe I know so many people that think that it’s funny that we eat our coat of arms! 😛 But it is delicious as a mince I find 😀

Leave a Reply

About me

Joanne T. Ferguson

Passionate Home Cook who tries to inspire one recipe and one event at time!

Follow

Facebook Twitter RSS email Pinterest Google Plus

© All text and photos are copyright 2012 - 2013 What's On The List. All rights reserved. Feel free to ask.

