Udder-ly Delightful Cheesemaking Class

23

June 10, 2013 by Joanne T Ferguson

IMG_3293“I MADE THIS!”, I can S-Q-U-E-A-L with UDDER DELIGHT!! Very HappyVery Happy

I am STILL on a cheese high! (or actually “feel” like I HAVE been in Cheese Heaven!) Wink

Cheese Heaven must be RIGHT next door to Chocolate Heaven and Mini Muffin Heaven! Wink

Udder Delights is an Australian “family” owned and operated business in the Adelaide Hills here in South Australia.

“Trevor & Estelle Dunford, along with Saul & Sheree Sullivan, are the faces behind the brand.”

I LOVE when I can match a face with a brand! YOU?

0501-199x3001002-199x300

mum-dad-lily-199x300mum-dad-stella1-199x300

Sadly Estelle passed away in 2011.

“Udder Delights, and all of our related enterprises, continue in her honour and legacy.”

Courtesy of Sheree, this Udder-ly Delightful Cheesemaking Class was extended to me!

“What did I know about cheese making previously?“, I “hear” you say? Wink

I accepted the challenge by the The Daring Kitchen in March to make paneer.

I have a confession. Embarassed

While it was a “cheese” challenge, I thought at the time paneer was one of the easiest cheese to make and I had never used rennet before! Embarassed

What I loved when I walked through the door, (or shall I say was “invited to the cellar” —which is where the class is held) is the “very warm welcome” which immediatelymelted” my anxiety.

Each person in the class came from a different background, which was quite varied, but we all “shared” together our love, passion and enthusiasm for local food and wine; especially cheese! Very HappyVery Happy

Let’s get started shall we? Very HappyVery HappyVery Happy

I now know it was Egyptian nomad tribes who discovered cheese, TRUE!
They were smart to figure out using an animal’s second stomach bag as vessels too!

What is rennet?“, I “hear” you say?

Rennet is an enyzyme that reacts with protein in milk to thicken the milk. It is “very strong” and needs to be diluted in cool filtered, boiled and or distilled water before it’s added to milk. Wink

What’s Starter Culture?”, you ask? Wink

You are asking GREAT questions today! Very Happy

Basically, starter culture is frozen dried bacteria. The bacteria is “dormant” until they are put into milk.

Once “activated“, the starter cultures “create lactic acid.”

The milk becomes “acidic“, causing it to curdle.

This acidity preserves cheese in early stages of draining and maturing.

WHEW!!!

And the class has not yet started to make cheese yet!

Under “great guidance and instructions” we were well on our way in making quark/quarg/goat curd (an acid set cream cheese) and cream cheese/chevre too!

I LOVE cheese….YOU?

HOW EXCITING can THIS class be?

TASTE TASTING!!!!

I loved them all, but I LOVED the Divine Dairy Blue Cheese and Ashed Chevre and this, amongst quite a number of other Udder Delights Products came home with me! 🙂

IMG_3255IMG_3256IMG_3257IMG_3258IMG_3259IMG_3261IMG_3262The class was “enlightened” about Udder Delights various cheese ranges and history; about Divine Dairy which (Udder Delight’s second label)’ “is certified organic biodynamic artisan cheese that is full of flavour.”

Measure, S-T-I-R, heat! (To a precise temperature of course! Wink)

NOTE to self: remember to add rennet! lol

IMG_3245IMG_3248IMG_3249IMG_3252IMG_3266

IMG_3268IMG_3275

IMG_3281IMG_3283Did I mentioned a lovely lunch and  a glass of wine was included in the class too? Shocked

Can you smell the freshly baked bread? I KNOW, I am SUCH a tease! lol

The SKARA Smokehouse Ham and SKARA Hungarian Salami was served with delectable caramelized onions, chutney, feta and pesto; need I go on?

Lunch was matched “beautifully” was the Bird in Hand Winery Sav Blanc, which I am a fan of now too! Wink

IMG_3265IMG_3264IMG_3263IMG_3267I am SOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO excited about making cheese at this point and HOPE you are through my eyes too! Wink

IMG_3284Have I mentioned that I had Cheesemaking Homework to do when I got my cheese home, TRUE! Shocked

“OH, NO!”

“How was I to do?”

By now, it almost “felt” like the class were honorary home cheese makers too! lol

Look forward to my updated post!

Where as a home cheese maker thanks to Sheree’s  Udder-ly Delightful Cheesemaking Class, I will be YOUR host! Very HappyVery HappyVery Happy

DISCLAIMER
Not because I “wonderfully” got to attend Udder Delights Cheesemaking Class “graciously” by Sheree, I would HIGHLY RECOMMEND people “experience” this class and would make a GREAT class for YOU, your mum, your dad, your friends, your reles and ANYONE who is difficult to buy for; ESPECIALLY a foodie! Very HappyVery HappyVery Happy

23 thoughts on “Udder-ly Delightful Cheesemaking Class

  1. […] I had previously met Sheree of Udder Delights through an Udder-ly Delightful Cheesemaking Class. […]

  2. cindy knoke says:

    What a great post! I couldn’t get your Like button to load!!! I like this post!! 🙂

  3. […] my Udder-ly Delightful Cheemaking Class, I came home with Udder  E-X-C-I-T-E-M-E-N-T with the Quark/Quag/Goat’s Cheese and the Cream […]

  4. […] S-Q-U-E-A-L-I-N-G with UDDER DELIGHT yesterday from my Udder-ly Delightful Cheesemaking Class, I thought I would so something a little bit different today! (sort of! […]

  5. YAY Joanne!! You did a great job. And I got your email today too-how exciting! 😀

  6. How fun! There is a lot to learn in cheese making 🙂 I think cheese and wine are a lovely combination. Yum!

  7. Reblogged this on Around the world in 365 cheeses… and commented:
    A cheese convert…love this blog post about the joys of making your own cheese. Maybe a good reason for me to visit Adelaide in July?

  8. LOVE this. will have to get over the other side of my country on my next visit and sign up for a class.

  9. Terry says:

    that had to be a fascinating class to take. the aroma, and my favorite, bleu cheese!!!!!

  10. Cheese is and was a way wonderful way to preserved milk.
    Make cheese is not only funny it’s exciting because you have the possibility to rediscover one of the basic and historical recipes.
    I tried two ingredients to make: citric acid (lemon juice) and calcium lactate. Both work well, but I prefer the result with calcium lactate.
    But you are right: the most incredible, wonderful and amazing ingredient is really rennet. I got this ingredient from a Spanish friend as a powder in an envelope. They call this cuijada and it contains the same enzyme (renin). With cuajada you can make more than paneer, we made desserts (for example the “Flan de Adi”).
    Thanks a lot for your post. i almost forgot I still have some “cuajada” ready to use!

  11. hotlyspiced says:

    That must have been so interesting. I’d love to experience a hands-on cheese making class xx

  12. caterina says:

    what a wonderful experience that would be

  13. what a fantastic way to spend the day.

Leave a Reply

About me

Joanne T. Ferguson

Passionate Home Cook who tries to inspire one recipe and one event at time!

Follow

Facebook Twitter RSS email Pinterest Google Plus

© All text and photos are copyright 2012 - 2013 What's On The List. All rights reserved. Feel free to ask.

