Allspice Pistachio Rainforest Lime Shrub Cordial Coffee Cake

10

June 9, 2013 by Joanne T Ferguson

IMG_3320By now, I don’t think I need to further “introduce” you to the WONDERFUL company of Little Box of Yum! Wink

Little Box of Yum is “the easiest way to discover great gourmet food made by producers who they care about what they produce.” Very Happy

I am EXCITED about not only discovering great products, but love spreading the word about producers who are “PASSIONATE” about their company’s and foods too!

May I “reacquaint” you to  Joanna’s Breakfast Casserole made with Roza’s Gourmet SaucesSweet Mustard with Apricots & Macadamia Nuts, Ballerina Rose & Velvet Delight made with Spun Fairy Floss, Maleny Cusine Strawberry, Lime and and Whiskey Conserves Delight, Belissimo Beetroot Fettucini with Spinach, Basil & Parsley Sauce, and most recently Bum Hummer’s Chili Salsa Mini Muffins. Very Happy

Courtesy of Alex, today I “introduce” Currong Comestibles Rainforest Lime Shrub Cordial.

“I thought cordial was just for drinking?”, I “heard” your say?

Remember, I can STILL hear you behind your computer screens too! Wink

I think you know by now, I try to “think out of the square” (so to speak) and come up with a creative twist for the wonderful products “graciously” sent to me!

Denyse McDonald, owner of Currong Comestibles was first “introduced” to Australian native ingredients over 20 years ago and “has been incorporating them into her recipes ever since.”

Here is an interview with Ms. McDonald as appears in the The Little Box of Yum Discovery Booklet.img780Some of Ms. McDonald’s favorite ways of enjoying her Rainforest Lime Shrub:
– drizzled over a chicken breast (or salmon steak) along with quick drizzles of soy sauce and olive oil. Then a few herbs (fresh or dried) and roast in the oven.
– for a signature homemade salad dressing, add a dessertspoon to your favorite vinaigrette.
– a teaspoon in a cup of hot tea is a nice change from lemon juice; to name a few. Wink

I hope you enjoy and are “inspired” by what I baked with Currong Comestibles’ Rainforest Lime Shrub Cordial.Very Happy

We are all “inspired” by what we read and see!

When I opened my What’s On The List folder, I had saved Cinnamon Pecan Coffee Cake a long time ago, TRUE!

Today, I have adapted the recipe with a bit of a creative twist!

Cordial is not JUST for drinking anymore! Wink

IMG_3316Joanna’s Allspice Pistachio Rainforest Lime Shrub Cordial Coffee Cake

Ingredients
1 cup pistachios, ground
1/8 cup allspice

2 cups Naturally Sweet Xylitol (feel free to use sugar Wink)

NOTE
If using sugar, need to delete 1/8 cup allspice and add 1/4 cup brown sugar and 1 1/2 teaspoons allspice)

1 cup vegetable oil
1 tablespoon lemon zest, grated
1/2 cup vanilla yogurt (I used Vaalia)
1/2 cup ricotta cheese
1 tablespoon Rainforest Lime Shrub Cordial

NOTE
If unable to obtain, add 1 tablespoon of lemon or lime juice.

1/2 teaspoon vanilla powder

NOTE
Vanilla powder is A LOT stronger than vanilla extract; if using extract, use 2 1/2 teaspoons. Wink

2 cups self-raising flour, sifted
1 tablespoon baking powder

Preheat oven to 180C. (350F)

Grease and flour a 10 inch fluted tube pan. (See FOLLOW UP NOTE BELOW)

In a small bowl, combine nuts; set aside.

If using sugar, combine nuts, brown sugar and allspice; set aside.

In a large bowl, whish together xylitol (or sugar), oil, zest and eggs; set aside.

Ina blender, combine yogurt and ricotta until smooth. Add in Rainforest Lime Shrub Cordial and vanilla; combine until smooth.

In another bowl, combine sifted flour and baking powder.

Stir flour and baking powder mixture until sugar mixture until combined.

Pour 2/3 of the batter into the pan.

Sprinkle with ground pistachios.

Spoon remaining batter over nuts.

Bake 40 minutes until golden brown and toothpick comes out clean.

Cool 10 minutes in pan.

Remove and let cool completely.

FOLLOW UP NOTE
Did you ever start cooking or baking and “something” didn’t seem right?

Are you ready to laugh WITH me?

I REALLY wanted to try these Non-Stick Cake Tin Cases today to make this Allspice Pistachio Rainforest Lime Shrub Cordial Coffee Cake.
IMG_3311
If you are A LOT quicker than me today, you will “notice” this is a non stick PAPER cake tin case; no walls, no support.

I “sensed” something was not correct, but then thought I would pour the batter in and see what happens!

I honestly have no clue WHY I “thought” when I poured the batter in the PAPER cake tin case that it would hold it’s shape. Shocked

Are YOU laughing now YET too?

I was “DETERMINED and PERSISTENT” this WAS going to work!

LUCKILY (for me), I had the PAPER cake tin case on my non stick Flavorstone flat tray.

I LOVE Flavorstone products! Very HappyVery HappyVery Happy

I continued to pour all of the batter which “ironically” did not overflow from the PAPER cake tin case. lol

Chef Georgio (of Make No Bones About It fame Wink) and I proceeded to “peer” into the oven; half out of curiosity would the batter overflow; half to see if it would rise.

Chef Georgio can always make me laugh when I want to cry. (like when one’s “intended” cake comes out as a blob! Laughing)

It did smell AMAZING as it baked! TRUE! Very HappyVery Happy

And it DID start to rise; Chef Georgio giving the minute by minute update too! Wink

“I can’t call it a cake!“, I exclaimed!

How about recreating a cake with a twist and giving it another name?“, Chef Georgio said to me!

WHOO HOO!!! Very HappyVery Happy

While “officially” a cake, I have now renamed Allspice Pistachio Rainforest Lime Shrub Cordial Coffee Cake …Chef Georgio Cake Fingers affectionately! Wink

Last time when talking to Julia Child in my kitchen while making Joanna’s Dark Chocolate Apricot plum Amazins Babka Bites, she told me about a dinner party where the recipe “didn’t quite go according to plan“; so the next best thing to do is rename it!
She “suggested” this was good advice if this ever happened to me! Wink

LAST WORDS lol….once I let the cake cool completely, I transferred it to a wooden board to cut; cutting the cake into a square.

Even the “more mature” aka darker bits when eaten tasted ok and not burnt despite the look, TRUE!IMG_3310Despite this Allspice Pistachio Rainforest Lime Shrub Cordial Coffee Cake now “infamous” history, would YOU still consider making this WONDERFULLY “moist and tasty” cake with Rainforest Lime Shrub cordial?

Would LOVE hearing your comments on a recipe you have attempted that did not start off well, but you triumphed in the end?

I believe the greatest ability in one’s life is the ability to laugh at one’s self!

BOY, do I keep myself entertained!
Alex from Little Box of Yum has generously decided to give my “subscribed” viewers a link to get $10.00 off their first box too! Thank you!
http://www.littleboxofyum.com/special

UPDATE
The cake is even moister (if that is possible) the next day, TRUE! ENJOY!

Look forward to hearing from people WHEN they make this Allspice Pistachio Rainforest Lime Shrub Cordial Coffee Cake too!

10 thoughts on “Allspice Pistachio Rainforest Lime Shrub Cordial Coffee Cake

  1. […] SOURCE: http://whatsonthelist.net/2013/06/09/allspice-pistachio-rainforest-lime-shrub-cordial-coffee-cake/ […]

  2. LOL cute post. Mine would have fallen over and poured into a heap. How cool that yours was rescued and didn’t bite the dust. Cutting it into fingers and calling it a coffee cake was very clever.

  3. theintolerantchef says:

    I often use these type of cordials as ingredients, they are so delicious and intense. I love the sound of this recipe even if it didn’t work out quite as planned 🙂

  4. caterina says:

    Looks lovely… will have to give this one a go in my Thermomix 🙂

  5. Great idea using cordial for baking Joanne! This looks really lovely with a good texture and interesting flavour too 🙂

Leave a Reply

About me

Joanne T. Ferguson

Passionate Home Cook who tries to inspire one recipe and one event at time!

Follow

Facebook Twitter RSS email Pinterest Google Plus

© All text and photos are copyright 2012 - 2013 What's On The List. All rights reserved. Feel free to ask.

