Suspended Coffee Movement Adelaide

6

June 7, 2013 by Joanne T Ferguson

7538_565461430173358_907990793_nWho would have “thought” purchasing a coffee for a stranger would make my day? Very Happy

Yesterday, while having an “exhausting” shop at Westfield Tea Tree Plaza, Adelaide, I stopped by The Coffee Club for a “much needed” coffee takeaway!

IMG_3226I am a VIP member and frequent the Gepps Cross and Harbourtown, South Australia locations, too!

As part of being a VIP person, you can create your own “unique” quote on you VIP card too! Very HappyVery HappyVery Happy
photoWhile ordering coffee, I noticed this sign about Sharing the Love, TRUE!
I inquired about, and the staff were only “more than happy” to explain about the Suspended Coffee Movement that has now taken Adelaide cafes, coffee houses, bakeries, and lunch bars by storm too! Very HappyVery Happy

960012_580428825325415_2106781427_nI have never heard of it“, I “hear” you say? Shocked

Remember I can STILL hear you behind your computer screen in Internet Land! lol
I never heard about it until yesterday and perhaps I should get out a bit more too! Wink

This is why I am sharing this worldwide now with you! Very Happy

“Where did it originate from?”

I LIKE that you ARE curious like me! Wink

Caffè Sospeso (Italian for Suspended Coffee) began over 100 years ago in Naples, Italy!

Per Writer Luciano de Crescenzo, author of ‘Il caffè sospeso: Saggezza quotidiana in piccolo sorsi’ (Suspended Coffee: Daily Wisdom in Small Sips):

“When a person who had a break of good luck entered a cafe and ordered a cup of coffee, he didn’t pay just for one, but for two cups, allowing someone less fortunate who entered later to have a cup of coffee for free.” *

“Who will received a suspended coffee?” I “hear” you say?
I really enjoy your PASSION and ENTHUSIASM in asking questions today! Wink

Each premises will decide who is “in need” of a coffee.

There is no judgement based on one’s appearance or any other factors too!

The Suspended Coffee Movement is all about “spreading a little love and kindness” and paying it forward on the day!

Suspended Coffee Day started on June 1st in Australia.

“How many countries are involved?” “And how is the word being spread?”

These are GREAT questions I ‘hear” you ask worldwide today!

There are currently 16 countries including Romania, Macedonia, Bulgaria, Ireland and now Australia! Very HappyVery Happy

Thanks to social media, the Suspended Coffee Movement is spreading via Twitter and Facebook.

Seems there are separate pages for countries, and within Australia, for states. (Sydney, Adelaide, Western Australia, and Queensland.

Am sure Northern Territory, Tasmania, and ACT are on board supporting the Movement too!

As of this post, I could not find them on Facebook, but will be more than happy to update the post and “share the love” too! Wink

I am a VERY proud South Aussie, TRUE!

I LOVE promoting local businesses and businesses within Australia who are also PASSIONATE in what they do!

Currently (and subject to change), we have 16 businesses supporting the Suspended Coffee Movement in Adelaide too!

Do YOU “feel” the LOVE today?

Can you locate and share YOUR local businesses supporting the Suspended Coffee Movement worldwide?

Would love to hear your thoughts in the comments section about the Suspended Coffee Movement  and will you be supporting Caffè Sospeso?

I “strongly” believe in traditions….YOU?

Purchasing a coffee for a stranger in need might “enlighten and brighten” you day too!etching_02_315SOURCE
http://bit.ly/12vqVZ6

* SOURCE
http://www.cbc.ca/strombo/alt-news/the-suspended-coffee-pay-it-forward-movement-grows.html

6 thoughts on “Suspended Coffee Movement Adelaide

  1. Pamela says:

    E For Ethel, a little cafe tucked.away in Melbourne Street supports Suspended Coffees 🙂 One of their ways of doing so is donating the money towards coffee beans for the Salvos. I support them because they are a small business rather than a bigger cafe.

  2. I shouldn’t have read this post at 12:30 am!!!! now I’m craving coffee!!! It’s a lovely idea behind the movement and I really wouldn’t mind doing it for someone here either because I’m a firm believer that sometimes that little dose of unexpected extra love,could make a difference in that person;s day or life! Hugs girl! Lizy

  3. I remember seeing this great photo on facebook about this and thinking that it was a fantastic idea! 😀

Leave a Reply

About me

Joanne T. Ferguson

Passionate Home Cook who tries to inspire one recipe and one event at time!

Follow

Facebook Twitter RSS email Pinterest Google Plus

© All text and photos are copyright 2012 - 2013 What's On The List. All rights reserved. Feel free to ask.

