Daniella e Stefania Saporito! Cookbook Review

13

June 6, 2013 by Joanne T Ferguson

IMG_3209“Remember to cook with LOVE and everything will taste better”
Daniela & Stefania

Opened my mail, what did I see?
Daniela & Stefania smiling back at me! Wink

I S-Q-U-E-A-L-E-D with delight (you KNOW by know HOW I squeal and YELL when it comes to all things food lol) courtesy of Zeitgeist Media Group on behalf of UWA Publishing, Saporita! cookbook was right in front of me!

Very HappyVery Happy

S-L-O-W-L-Y I opened Daniela’s & Stefania’s book and IMMEDIATELY could FEEL the warmth! Very Happy

I LOVE seeing family photos and food stories surrounding family…YOU?

I grew up in New York around “old world” Italian and “old world” Greek families!

EVERYTHING surrounded eating, gathering, sharing and respecting one’s aged rele. (Australian lingo for relative Wink)

Daniela & Stefania (as busy mums) have adapted their recipes offering “quick, easy and delicious meals for the whole family.” Very Happy

I REALLY enjoyed getting to learn more about Daniela & Stefania (My Kitchen Rules contestants) and HOW MUCH they love cooking for their family!

After a very warm welcome by Daniela & Stefania, the cookbook is devided into numerous content.

I must admit Daniela’s & Stefania’s photos made you want to simply “melt” into the recipes.
With Saporito!, to any foodie, this WOULD please! Wink

With Antipasti (one of my favorite courses too!), one is treated to Sedono fritto di nonna Pasqualina (Nonna Pasqualina’s fried celery), Fiori di zucchini imbottiti (Stuffed zucchini flowers with three cheeses),  and Bruschetta di polenta a due modi (Polenta bites two ways) to name a few!

Pane e Pizza and Pasta e Risotto follow with MANY “mouthwatering” recipes and photos too!

In Pesce (fish), one gets “introduced” to Calamari alla Daniela (Calamari tentacles Daniela’s way), Polipetti con sugo di peperoncini (Baby octopus in chilli sauce) and Cozz arrabiate (Chilli mussels) to also name a few!

Chill mussels will also be “on my list” now…YOU?

Carne (meat) brings one of my favorites Osso bucco. (the photo makes you want to reach out and just taste it and you WILL want to make this too!)

Psst….I LOVE Daniela’s Trippa con patate (Trip with potatos) with a WONDERFUL photo of her dad (and oh yes, the tripe with potatoes too!) You can see AND feel the warmth in this dish by “Orazio of all trades” too! Wink

Have you figured out what Saparito! means, even for those who don’t speak Italian?

I’ll give you a hint…Wink

WHEN you purchase Saporito! and you have the cookbook in front of you…Then pick a recipe, which will NOT be easy to do!

OK, you are now in the kitchen with one of Daniela’s & Stefania’s recipes “simmering” away.

What word first comes to mind once you taste? TASTY!! Very HappyVery Happy

Saporito! means TASTY! Wink

I have a confession again! Embarassed

It was very difficult picking JUST one recipe, TRUE!

As there were SO many I wanted to make and share with YOU! Wink

While a number of recipes “thought” they would be cheeky but YELLING, “PICK ME!!! PICK ME!!!”, I FINALLY chose Daniela’s & Stefania’s “special” recipe!

Between you and me, I “heard” Anna (Daniela’s mother-in-law) say, “PICK MY RECIPE!”

Who was I to argue in making Anna’s Involtini di pollo? (Chicken involtini) Wink

I DO agree these make a “great finger food and they always taste better when someone else makes them.” Very HappyVery Happy

IMG_3204

Ingredients

3 chicken breasts, filleted
5 cloves garlic, crushed
1 cup grated Parmesan
1 cup freah breadcrumbs
parsley, freshly chopped
salt and pepper
toothpicks
olive oil frying

Method

Slice the breasts into thin strips. Not too big, just enough to roll into a 5 cm roll.

In a bowl, combine the garlic, parsley, Parmesan and breadcrumbs.

Lay the chicken slices on a board and season with salt and pepper, and the garlic mixture.

Roll into a sausage and secure it with a toothpick.

Fry them in a shallow frying pan until golden brown on all sides.

Yum!

Let’s not forget Sugo (Sauce), Contorni (Side dishes) and another favorite of mine Dolce! (Sweet) Very HappyVery HappyVery Happy

I love how “Zia Maria married to Zio Giovanni” shared Panzerotti di frutta. (Biscotti filled with fruit mince)

And how Mamma Rosa’s taralli and Linda’s chiffon cake are are shared with love too!

I have to admit, Cannoli ripieni con ricotta e cioccolata (Cannoli filled with ricotta and chocolate) “almost” got make for this review!

I can guarantee it is now “on my list” to do!

I have MANY wonderful childhood memories over “experiencing” cannoli.

New York and Boston make THE BEST “homemade” cannolis too!

But I CERTAINLY do not want to start a “Cannoli War between the states!” lol

Let’s just say I am looking VERY much forward to making Daniela’s & Stefania’s Cannoli ripieni con ricotta e cioccolata! Wink

Daniela & Stefania were so “gracious” in making sure they thanked everyone, TRUE!

What a journey it has been and they wished one and all “Buon Appetito” (Good Appetite) too!

Not only would I like to thank Zeitgeist Media Group on behalf of UWA Publishing, but Daniela & Stefania too! Very Happy

Thanks Anna as this is a “simple” great finger food for entertaining! Very HappyVery Happy

“Remember to cook with LOVE and everything will taste better”
Daniela & Stefania

I remembered…YOU? Very HappyVery Happy

Not only because I received Saporito! courtesy of Zeitgeist Media Group on behalf of UWA Publishing, it REALLY is a GREAT cookbook and you can FEEL HOW proud Daniela & Stefania are about what they share about food and family!

Want to cook with Daniela & Stefania too?

I HIGHLY RECOMMEND you purchase Saporito! and you can FEEL through their recipes, and family photos that you are cooking not only WITH them, but FOR their family too! Wink

WHO wants to sample these finger food delights today?

Do you also think a great finger food always taste better when someone else makes them on the day?

Would love hearing in comments about YOUR favorite finger food or one shared by a family or friend that is special to YOU! Very HappyVery HappyVery Happy

If in Perth, don’t miss Daniela & Stefania’s cooking demonstration at South Perth Library!

13 thoughts on “Daniella e Stefania Saporito! Cookbook Review

  1. […] I S-Q-U-E-A-L A LOT when it comes to food like in Feast! Fine Foods Sausage Making Class, Daniella e Stefania Saporito! Cookbook Review, Herbie’s Spices Essentials Chicken Dhansak, and in Little Box of Yum May “Australian […]

  2. babso2you says:

    These look yummy Joanne!

  3. The book sounds like a keeper. The chicken looks very tasty.

  4. Joanne says:

    I definitely love it when a cookbook gives off an aura of family and love! Sounds like a great addition to your collection!

  5. Sounds like a great cookbook! And I had no idea that that was what Saporito meant! 😀

  6. christine morris says:

    Hi Joanne, could you come to my house and cook for me lol, you do say it’s tastes better when someone else cooks for you.
    Im always drooling after reading your blog, all the recipes sound delicious. I love my Food lol.x

  7. Reblogged this on Daniela e Stefania and commented:
    Thankyou Joanne for your beautiful review 🙂 x

Leave a Reply

About me

Joanne T. Ferguson

Passionate Home Cook who tries to inspire one recipe and one event at time!

Follow

Facebook Twitter RSS email Pinterest Google Plus

© All text and photos are copyright 2012 - 2013 What's On The List. All rights reserved. Feel free to ask.

