Orange You Curious About Mozzarella Cranberry Sauce Arancini?

4

June 5, 2013 by Joanne T Ferguson

IMG_3197Come on, admit it, the title got your curiosity! Wink

I have a confession! Embarassed

My name is Joanne and I have never made Arancini! Embarassed

Courtesy of Roza’s Gourmet Sauces, they “graciously” sent products so I can create new recipes!

HOW exciting!!! I think these experiences are GREAT! Very HappyVery HappyVery Happy

As a recap, I first “introducedRoza’s Gourmet Sauces to you via Little Box of Yum May “Australian Theme” Box!

This is a “first of a series” of Spicy Sauces, Dairy Free Range, Mustards, Pestos, Mayos and Chutney recipes I have created that I will continue to blog about; “once again” thanks to Roza’s Gourmet Sauces. Very Happy

I always do my research with recipes I like to create. I ask Mr. Google, sometimes Mr. Yahoo. It is AMAZING at how many food friends I make along the way too! Wink

I emailed my friend Princess What? from Adelaide’s Hidden Gems Square Mile Squared Tourthinking” she might have some “hints and tips” for me.

She confessed Embarassed, she buys hers locally! Wink

While not one of the stores I experienced on the Flavours of Campbelltown Food Trail on the day!

I can give a “hint and tip” too!Wink

The store IS on The Flavors of Campbelltown Food Trail and I cannot WAIT to re-experience the tour and update YOU! Wink

IMG_3202So I went with PLAN B!

I opened my What’s On The List folder, and saw I had saved the Dummy Proof version of Arancini from Chocolate Spoon & The Camera and as found on Italian girl in London as Arancini – Dummy proof version! lol

Is “Zaffereno” YOUR friend too?

If not, I can “introduce” Italian for saffron to you! Wink

Opened my pantry what did I see?

Some breadcrumbs and wheatgerm  Shockedstaring” back at me!

Seems like panko was playing “hide and seek” on me today!

If you “knew” or “saw” my pantry, (despite organized Wink ) you WOULD understand…okay? Very Happy

Hope you enjoy my adapted recipe!

Ingredients
500 grams arborio rice, cooked
4 egg yolks
1 whole egg, beaten for eggwash
20 grams (~.7 ounces) zafferino
100 grams (3.5 ounces) breadcrumbs
100 grams (3.5 ounces) wheatgerm
50 grams Reggiano Parmesan cheese, finely grated
50 grams mozzarella, fine cubed
Olive oil for frying
Couple of tablespoons of water for zafferino
Roza’s Cranberry & Orange Sauce

NOTE
Amounts listed above are provided “as a guide.”

Please feel free to adjust the amounts of cheese, and perhaps you might like using panko too?

Hint and Tips
If you are going to use breadcrumbs with something else i.e. wheatgerm, makes sure the ratio used is 50/50.

I cooked the rice the day before as I found it was better making the balls too! Wink

I found it made the overall recipe “less overwheming” in case you have never made aranchini like me! Wink

Let’s PRESUME you have already cooked your rice the day before. Very Happy

In a saucepan, add saffron and water until boiling; remove from heat.

NOTE
Do not add too much water as will be added to the cooked rice.

The saffron is mostly for coloring too; adjust your water for color accordingly. Wink

Add to rice mixture; combine.

Add 4 egg yolks to rice mixture; combine well.

Add grated cheese; combine well.

Here’s where the recipe gets fun! At least it did for me! Laughing

I placed two tablespoons of rice onto the palm of my hand, filled it with mozzarella cubes and Roza’s Cranberry & Orange Sauce.

Hint and Tip
At this point you might like to remember the Baby Bear Food Theory! lol
If you put too much inside the ball, the coating won’t cover; will be TOO MUCH! Wink
If you put too little inside the ball, there won’t be much taste; will be TOO LITTLE! Wink
I “recommend” getting it JUST right! Just like Mama Bear said! Wink

NOTE
Doing the first ball, you will be cautious; after that, your will be on automatic and become an expert roller! lol

I then put two more tablespoons of rice over the cheese and Cranberry & Orange Sauce.

With my other hand, I “gently” pressed and molded it into a ball.

Hint and Tip
As I did not want my arancini to fall apart before the fact, I used a pastry brush to coat with beaten eggwash. Wink

I placed the arancini onto a flat plate (which I previously prepared Wink) and rolled in breadcrumbs and wheatgerm.

Fry balls in HOT oil until brown all over.

NOTE
They WILL cook quick, so you will need to be “attentive.”

Hint and Tip
With a tablespoon, I poured some of the hot oil over the arancini as I found this coated the top part while the bottom part was browning. Wink

Remove “gently” placing on flat plate lined with paper towels.

Pre heat oven to 180C. (350F)

Bake arancini for 20 minutes; remove from oven.

You “may” need to place the arancini back on your flat plate lined with fresh paper towels.

Godere!! (Italian for Enjoy! Very HappyVery HappyVery Happy)

Has these Cranberry & Orange Sauce Mozzarella Arancini satisfied your curiosity?

Did you think previously arancini was ONLY a side dish, like me?

Do you now think YOU can do?

Would LOVE to hear in the comments if you also previous “thought” Cranberry & Orange sauce was only a condiment to accompany meats too!

Roza’s Cranberry & Orange Sauce is SO versatile too!

I reckon would also be GREAT in a dessert recipe!!!! YOU?

IMG_3203

4 thoughts on “Orange You Curious About Mozzarella Cranberry Sauce Arancini?

  1. OMGeeee!!!! Joanne, this is a great post and I love the recipe. Of course I’m a big fan or Arancini and make them when I have time, which is not often enough. Roza’s cranberry orange sauce sounds delicious too. Can’t wait until I can make these again when I’m not so crazed.

    Thanks for sharing this,
    Joanne

  2. Mmm I love arancini balls!! You’ve given me a great idea Joanne! 😉

Leave a Reply

About me

Joanne T. Ferguson

Passionate Home Cook who tries to inspire one recipe and one event at time!

Follow

Facebook Twitter RSS email Pinterest Google Plus

© All text and photos are copyright 2012 - 2013 What's On The List. All rights reserved. Feel free to ask.

