AYAM Gluten Free Pandan Cranberry Mini Muffins with Kaya

10

June 1, 2013 by Joanne T Ferguson

IMG_3159Hands up who has tried Kaya before? Very Happy

No?
Perhaps you might know it as seri kaya or Srikaya? Very Happy

No?

The fruit spread originated in Southeast Asia made from a base of sugar and coconut; like a fruit curd.
IMG_2780Courtesy of AYAM Australia, they have (“greatly appreciated“) sent me products to  try and create unusual or unique ways of highlighting their AYAM Gluten Free range.
65692_362764370492092_1894250888_nI LOVE the taste of pandan! YOU?

I have only previously experienced pandan wrapped around chicken or foods steamed in. (like a seafood curry)

Today I experimented with these “very light and moist” gluten free mini muffins.

I loved the final outcome, but was not without an “initial hiccup.”

In the end, these AYAM Gluten Free Pandan Cranberry Mini Muffins with Kaya you now get to experience and enjoy the recipe! Wink

I decided I was going to “try” making my own pandan paste; which is not difficult to do!

Ingredients for Pandan Paste
1 pack of pandan leaves; 170 grams (~6 ounces) ; trimmed, cut into 1 inch pieces
3 cups water
Chux or Cheese Cloth

In a blender, add pandan leaves and 2 cups of water; combine until leaves are finely minced.

Drain in a Chux lined bowl; squeeze out at much water as possible without bursting Chux.

Return pulp to blender. Add additional 1 cup; blend again; drain same way.

Place bowl (covered with cling wrap) in refrigerator until the water from the juice has drained away.

VOILA! Pandan paste! Or so I thought! Shocked

mmmmmmm, I don’t know WHAT went wrong with my “simple” experiment as I couldn’t “quite” get it to the consistency

I “thought” paste should be, but this did NOT deter me! Very Happy

The pandan taste came through and knew in these AYAM Gluten Free Pandan Cranberry Mini Muffins with Kaya, PLAN B would work too!
IMG_3151I think we ALL are “inspired” by what we read and see!

When I opened my What’s On The List folder, Easy Pandan Cucpakes from Food Playground, I had saved for a rainy day! TRUE!

This was the basis for me to create my AYAM Gluten Free Pandan Cranberry Mini Muffins with Kaya too! Wink
IMG_3152Ingredients for Pandan Cranberry Mini Muffins with Kaya

60 grams (2.1 ounces) unsalted butter
1 1/4 cups Naturally Sweet Xylitol Icing Sugar (substitute ~ 3/4 cup caster sugar)
1 egg
1 cup milk
3 tablespoons AYAM Gluten Free Kaya
1 1/2 tablespoons lemon juice
1 1/2 teaspoons white vinegar
1/2 cup Ocean Spray dried cranberries
160 grams (~ 5.7 ounces) self-rising flour, sifted
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
Oil spray

In a jug, combine milk and lemon juice; set aside.

Preheat oven to 180C. (350F)

In a pan on the stove, melt butter; set aside to cool.

In a stand up mixer, combine xylitol (or sugar) with melted butter unto well combined; should be smooth “pebble-like” consistency.

Add egg, mix well.

In the milk-lemon juice jug, add 4 tablespoons pandan juice.

NOTE
With 4 tablespoons of pandan juice, you could “subtly” taste the pandan flavor. I wanted it to compliment the kaya and dried cranberry flavors.

Feel free to adjust for personal taste. Wink

Add milk mixture to butter mixture’ blend well.

In a bowl, combine sifted flour, baking soda and salt.

Add to above mixture. Mix until well incorporated.

With a wooden spoon, fold in dried cranberries.
IMG_3158Oil spray mini muffin pan.

NOTE
Depending on the size of your muffin pan, baking times “may” differ. Wink

Fill muffin tray with batter 3/4 full. Bake for 10 minutes, until tops “spring back” and or toothpick comes out clean.

Remove from oven. Let sit for 5 minutes.

Remove to wire rack to completely cool.

Cut mini muffins in half.

Using a Ziplock bag or piping bag, pipe Kaya onto muffin half.

Helpful Hint and Tip
You can roll the Kaya into a ball with your hands.

PERSONAL NOTE

When I was trialling aka (tasting) the recipe along the way, I was not sure it would work.

When I “introduced” the pandan flavor, cranberry and coconut fruit spread together, it was a match made in “mini muffin heaven” too! Very Happy

Mini Muffin Heaven must be right next store to Chocolate Heaven! lol


IMG_3153Do you like the flavor combination of pandan, cranberry and coconut and think it is unusual too?

Just like with my Crustless Gluten Free AYAM Massaman Curry Quiche, my AYAM Gluten Free Malaysian Laska, Laska, Laska, my AYAM Gluten Free Teriyaki Sweet Chili Veggie Mini Muffins, I hope with my AYAM Gluten Free Pandan Cranberry Mini Muffins with Kaya, I can “inspire” you to make and try more AYAM’S products from their Gluten Free Range too! Very Happy

Would love to hear via comments about one of YOUR recipes that did not initially” start out okay, but ended up working in the end! WHOO HOO! Very Happy

10 thoughts on “AYAM Gluten Free Pandan Cranberry Mini Muffins with Kaya

  1. […] Cheese Heaven must be RIGHT next door to Chocolate Heaven and Mini Muffin Heaven! […]

  2. hotlyspiced says:

    The pandan leaves certainly add great colour. I needed pandan leaves for a rice dish last week. I tried to buy them from my green grocer but apparently I need to order them in. Lovely looking muffins xx

  3. This is something different for me! I’ve never heard of pandan, but I love coconut, so I bet I would love this!

  4. Hi Joanne, Thanks for linking to my post! I’m glad you like it 🙂

  5. I have to try this, it looks tasty 🙂

  6. leggypeggy says:

    I love the taste of pandan. Yum, yum!

Leave a Reply

About me

Joanne T. Ferguson

Passionate Home Cook who tries to inspire one recipe and one event at time!

Follow

Facebook Twitter RSS email Pinterest Google Plus

© All text and photos are copyright 2012 - 2013 What's On The List. All rights reserved. Feel free to ask.

