Flavours of Campbelltown Food Trail

16

May 28, 2013 by Joanne T Ferguson

IMG_3060BIG thanks to Yelp Adelaide Community Manager Chloe for inviting me on this “Food Fun-Filled Flavours of Campbelltown Food Trail Tour today!” Very Happy

Try saying THAT three time fast! lol

This “courtesy invite” was extended to me due to being an Adelaide Yelp ELITE member reviewer.

Who said free membership doesn’t have its privileges too? Wink

Privileged” I was today on the fun food-filled flavours food trail; the privilege was ALL mine! Very HappyVery HappyVery Happy

Let’s get started, eh?

The WONDERFUL food trail started off at Java Lifestyle Coffee and Tea where owner Mario walked us through the various types of beans he sourced from South America, Indonesia, and Africa too!photoIMG_3050I must admit to not being the “smartest skippy in the paddock.” (Aussie lingo…well, I don’t think any translation is necessary; but if there is, it would be the “state” one is in prior to one’s daily “routine” of coffee. Wink

Thanks to owner Mario, (and I WAS paying attention Wink) for coffee drinkers, there are only two types of beans; the QUALITY coffee bean…The Arabica coffee beans and Robusta coffee beans used for espresso because of its harsher taste.

Arabica coffee beans thrives in “higher altitudes” that receive large amounts of rainfall.

Mario “debunked” some of the myths about coffees, oils in coffee beans, roasting or blending, but you won’t get the secret from me. Wink

The cafe is full of “nostalgia” and coffee and tea related accessories.

I particularly like seeing the original coffee machine Mario’s dad used a long time ago!IMG_3047IMG_3051Onto Salta In Bocca (which means “ Jump into Mouth”) where Andreas and Therese Carstensen was our lovely hosts who explained not only about the history of the business (which was bought by Andreas for Therese’s birthday), but of the exquisite almond breads and macarons they made.ownersWe got to taste test various almonds breads and macarons.
2_Dsc_0129                                        Photo Courtesy of Yelper Lee L.
My favorites was the mulberry and pistachio almond bread as well as the croccantini; (An Italian flavored cracker; “roasted hazelnuts, roasted almonds, and the finest egg products make this meranque biscotti.”)
IMG_3062 IMG_3058I WONDER who this person is taking the photo in the window? lol
IMG_3054You have to admit, it IS a “tad” funny! Laughing

I did not KNOW who was in the photo until I came home and down loaded…It was ME!!Next on the Food Trail was San Jose Smallgoods run by Portuguese owner Jose (pronounced with a soft J).

IMG_3074Going on this Campbelltown Food Trail made me feel where have I been all these years as these businesses were truly a discovery for me!

I was “delighted” in tasting their Premium Prosciutto, Aged Chorizo, Porchetta Roast, Polish Sausages etc.

I really enjoyed learning about the the Proscuitto in the making, salami ready for fermentation, and Zampone (where the meat is stuffed in pig’s trotter instead of casing) too!

Would I try making my own? I think I will leave it to the multiple award winning experts and now know where to purchase their high quality products! Wink

IMG_3069-001 IMG_3073 IMG_3076rsz_1logoOnto JoJo’s Juice Bar & Gallery where our wonderful host served up organic beefs sliders and date cake!

The beef sliders were delicious and even went back for a second one that was calling out to me, “PICK ME!! PICK ME!” Wink

JoJo’s Juice Bar & Gallery juices, crushes & smoothies are from $5.00; a bargain too!

IMG_3080 IMG_3082 IMG_3083 IMG_3084 IMG_3085Is anyone starting to feel a little full by now? lol 

We still have another two stops on the Food trail to go! Shocked

Delicias Argentinas was our next discovered gem; and a food gem it was!

Our host Karina explained about the business being opened for 5 months now, has a liquor license, and they have authentic Tango Dancers on Saturday nights too! IMG_3088

IMG_3089I have to admit, I WAS listening to the “lovely” Karina, but was distracted by the WONDERFUL aromas coming from the kitchen too!
My nose does not miss anything when it comes to food! Laughing

To add to my um, well, “distraction“, Karina’s homemade Alfajores were STARING me in the face! Wink
IMG_3091I was “wondering” if I would have room for dessert, but something inside me “sensed” I would have to come back another day to experience.

We were “welcomed” into the wonderful world of Argentinian food with Bunelo de acelga (battered spinach fritters) and Bucadito de califlor (battered caultiflower fritters)
5_Dsc_0212                                        Photo Courtesy of Yelper Lee L.
These were followed a beautifully marinated eggplant dish, followed by a marinated roasted peppers dish.

5_Dsc_0222    Photo Courtesy of Yelper Lee L.

This was followed by Vacio al horno (“traditional” veal flank, slow cooked, yet crispywith a tomato and herb sauce) and Matambre con ensalata Rusa (special veal roll prepared with fresh herbs and spices)
5_Dsc_0223
5_Dsc_0219 Photos Courtesy of Yelper Lee L.

Where was I during all of this that I did not have any photos of my own?”, I “hear” you say? 

My hearing, in addition to my smell is EXTRAORDINARY! Laughing

In addition to catching up with my Yelper (that’s what we reviewers are called) friends Suzie and John, platter were being presented, and as we were served one dish, the next platters was coming towards us from the next table too!

I got “totally” caught up in the food friend atmosphere and did I mention there was Argentina music playing in the background too!?

A VERY BIG thanks to my fellow Yelper Lee for staying concentrated, so I could share his wonderful photos and you also get to see! Very HappyVery HappyVery Happy

With my mind “STILL” in Argentinian fun filled food mode, sadly our time had come to depart.

I DO feel a little part of Karina (and her mum’s) Argentinan heritage, food culture has “touched” my heart!

The last stop of on Flavours of Campbelltown Food Trail was Mercato.

Mercato’s has had a “passion for food, wine, and family” since 1972.

Rino, our host was delightful in explaining how Mercato’s is “a family business” who pride themselves on providing “the best, authentic products from Italy.”

Mercado’s provides a WIDE variety of pasta, wines, cheese etc.

You could almost literally spend half a day or more just looking (and buying) the unique product lines and range they carry too!

I am ALWAYS like a “kid in a candy store” when I visit.

I have visited Mercato’s many times before, but each visit always feels as if it was “my first.” Wink

IMG_3097IMG_3103IMG_3111IMG_3107

IMG_3104IMG_3112
Can you tell HOW E-X-C-I-T-E-D I was on this Flavours of Campbelltown Food Trail Tour?

This is GREAT for local business, GREAT for Adelaidians to discover, GREAT for Adelaide tourism too!

As a South Aussie, I am SO PROUD and HAPPY, I got to share this “fun filled food” Flavours of Campbelltown Food Trail.

When next in Adelaide, perhaps you would like to experience other hidden “fun filled food gems” with me? Wink

I might not have started out as the smartest skippy in the paddock, but as a result of the Flavours of Campbelltown Food Trail, it made my mickeydownunder day!


16 thoughts on “Flavours of Campbelltown Food Trail

  1. […] Flavours of Campbelltown Food Trail […]

  2. […] a refresher, I shared “The Trail” as an Elite reviewer for Yelp […]

  3. […] Should you wish to read more about my previous experience. […]

  4. […] not one of the stores I experienced on the Flavours of Campbelltown Food Trail on the […]

  5. What a fun event, glad you took us along.:)

  6. Gloria C-L says:

    What a delightful post! When I travel, I enjoy food excursions like this – and your post was a virtual culinary tour for me 🙂 The alfajores caught my attention, as I didn’t know they were available outside of Argentina – my husband brought me back a box earlier this year when he was there for business, and I wish that I could find them around here. They came in 2 flavors, Dulce de Leche and Chocolate, and both were amazing (especially with a good cup of coffee).

  7. Maree D says:

    I can’t think of anything better than taste testing your way through the food trail!!

  8. Thanks for taking us with you Joanne! BTW have you read about Amy’s Bakery Company in AZ and Yelpers? Now that is a crazy tale!

  9. babso2you says:

    What a great way to spend a day! Looks like you had fun and adventure with food! – B

  10. Joanne says:

    Now that is an awesome way to spend a day!

Leave a Reply

About me

Joanne T. Ferguson

Passionate Home Cook who tries to inspire one recipe and one event at time!

Follow

Facebook Twitter RSS email Pinterest Google Plus

© All text and photos are copyright 2012 - 2013 What's On The List. All rights reserved. Feel free to ask.

