AYAM Gluten Free Teriyaki Sweet Chilli Veggie Mini Muffins

7

May 26, 2013 by Joanne T Ferguson

IMG_3115My name is Joanne aka mickeydownunder aka Mickey aka Joanna and I am not a baker or baker per se like in Rising to the Occasion English Muffin Bread, Peach and Pear Walnut Swirl Bread, or in Rocco’ss Macarons Rule Follow Up Mission Accomplished. Laughing

“You’ve baked macarons and you don’t consider yourself a baker?” I “hear” you say? lol

OK, from this post on, I will consider I have graduated from “most” of the basics, but STILL have A LOT to learn when it comes to baking!  Wink

A LOT! LaughingLaughing

I get asked A LOT of questions regarding gluten free diets and products.

While I do not personally follow a gluten free diet, I am “very” aware of other people’s dietary needs with all the “theme party entertaining” we do at home.

I thought I would share some questions with you.

“Are potatoes Gluten Free?”
“Just” the potatoes are gluten free.

It is when people start adding ingredients to potatoes that they “increase the risk” the dish “may” not be safe on a gluten free diet.

“Is cornstarch Gluten Free?”
“Pure” cornstarch is gluten free because it is made from corn which does not contain gluten products.

People with extreme sensitivities to gluten need to know if the cornstarch has been manufactured in a way where there could possibly be “potential sources” of gluten cross-contamination.

“Is Xylitol Gluten Free?”
Xylitol is …”Natural, Sugar Free, Gluten Free, Low GI products using Xylitol, a natural sugar free sweetener extracted from plants such as corn cobs and birch trees. The body also produces Xylitol during normal metabolism. Xylitol has a low glycemic index of 7, compared with sugar which has a glycemic index of 65.”

Courtesy of AYAM Australia, they have (“greatly appreciated“) sent me products to  try and create unusual or unique ways of highlighting their AYAM Gluten Free range.
65692_362764370492092_1894250888_nHopefully, I “initially” put you In The Mood  Wink with my Crustless Gluten Free AYAM Massaman Curry Quiche. Very HappyVery Happy

Then followed by my AYAM Gluten Free Malaysian Laska, Laska, Laska!

Today I’ve created an “unusual” savory mini muffin, not only highlighting AYAM’S Teriyaki and Sweet Chilli Sauce as part of their Gluten Free Range, but the recipe is also “unique” as it is a great way to increase your serves of veggies. Very Happy

This recipe would be great to use up whatever veggies are sitting in your fridge YELLING OUT, “PICK ME!!! PICK ME!! lol

Please be “pre warned“, these are a savory Asian style mini muffin.  ShockedWink

Today, I opened my What’s On The List folder, TRUE!

A couple of months ago, I saved Emily’s Vegan Veggie Muffins from the newfangled housewife as I thought they looked interesting too!

“adapted” this recipe, then added a twist with a pinch of creativity! WinkIMG_2784NOTE
Original recipe calls for 3 mashed bananas.I decided to substitute a potato-apple- Chinese five spice mash; sugarless too! Very Happy

Ingredients for Potato Apple Mash
8 ounces (~227 grams) potatoes, peeled (I used Kestral, an exciting new white potato variety low in G.I. too)
4 ounces granny smith apples, peeled
1/4 tablespoon Xylitol (substitute sugar)
1 tablespoon butter, melted
1/4 teaspoon vanilla powder
2 teaspoons Chinese five-spice

Peel potatoes and apples; dice into small pieces.

In a pot of boiling water, add apples, potatoes and xylitol. Boil until soft. (about 10 minutes)

Drain and add Chinese five-spice and melted butter; mash until smooth; set aside.

Hint and Tip
I found the stick blender worked well for me and was “as smooth as can be.” Wink

Feel free to taste mash; adjust spice to personal taste.

Ingredients for AYAM Gluten Free Teriyaki Sweet Chilli Veggie Mini Muffins
1/4 cup apple juice (I used cloudy apple juice)
apple and potato mash above
2 cups veggies, finely diced (I used a combination of red onion, red capsicum (sweet peppers), carrot, leftover cooked peas, and zucchini)
1/4 cup yogurt (I used Vaalia french vanilla)
1/4 cup (~3.2 ounces) butter, melted
2 eggs
2 cups wholewheat flour, sifted (I used Atta)
3/4 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/4 cup AYAM Teriyaki Sauce
1 teaspoon cornstarch
1 cup AYAM Sweet Chilli Sauce
1 teaspoon grapeseed oil
oil spray * (make sure is gluten-free)

Pre heat oven until 180C. (350F)

NOTE
I used mini muffin pans; baking times may differ depending on the size of your muffin pans.

Oil spray muffins pans; set aside.

Heat fry pan, then add oil; saute veggies for about 4 -5 minutes.

Add apple juice to sauteed veggies; slightly mash the veggies with a masher.

In a jug, add cornstarch into AYAM Teriyaki sauce; combine well.

Add AYAM Teriyaki Sauce mixture to veggies and simmer for up to 10 minutes.

Remove from heat and allow to cool.

Hint and Tip
The sauce will reduce. Make sure there is still “a little” sauce with the veggies as they should not be dry.

Make sure to stir the veggies on occasion with a wooden spoon too! Wink

In a large bowl, combine sifted flour, baking soda and salt; set aside.

In a  large bowl, mix together xylitol, melted butter, eggs and potato and apple mash mixture; combine well.

Hint and Tip
Make sure butter is cooled before adding to the egg mixture. Wink

Fold veggie- teriyaki mixture into sugar-butter mixture.

Combine wet ingredients to dry ingredients; combine well.

Stir in AYAM Sweet Chili Sauce; combine well.

NOTE
Batter might initially look dry. Once you add the chilli sauce, you will be okay. Very Happy

Fill mini muffin trays.

Bake for 10 minutes or until toothpick comes out clean.

Remove from oven.

Let site for 5 minutes before removing to a wire rack to cool.

Have you ever heard of an Asian style veggie muffin with teriyaki and chilli? Shocked

Perhaps the full moon last night “enhanced” my “howling” (YELLING lol) food creativity! Laughing

“Would these freeze well?”, I “hear” you say!

They would, but are better eaten fresh on the day! Wink

7 thoughts on “AYAM Gluten Free Teriyaki Sweet Chilli Veggie Mini Muffins

  1. Pinned this one onto my brand new It’s easy to be Green Board, where I try to add all my new healthy findings…I’m enjoying my visit to your blog so much!

  2. […] Gluten Free AYAM Massaman Curry Quiche, my AYAM Gluten Free Malaysian Laska, Laska, Laska, my AYAM Gluten Free Teriyaki Sweet Chili Veggie Mini Muffins, I hope with my AYAM Gluten Free Pandan Cranberry Mini Muffins with Kaya, I can […]

  3. These would be so tasty and so moist Joanne! 😀

  4. Hi Joanne 🙂 If you can make macarons you’re definitely a very talented baker! These a great recipe as I know many people who are GF intolerant ~ will share with them now!

Leave a Reply

About me

Joanne T. Ferguson

Passionate Home Cook who tries to inspire one recipe and one event at time!

Follow

Facebook Twitter RSS email Pinterest Google Plus

© All text and photos are copyright 2012 - 2013 What's On The List. All rights reserved. Feel free to ask.

