Green Farmhouse Dukkah’s Not JUST for Dunking Anymore

4

May 23, 2013 by Joanne T Ferguson

IMG_3010Okay, hands up who previously “thought” (like I did) that dukkah was only for dunking with bread and olive oil? Embarassed

Thank you to Merlinda from Green Farmhouse for sending me her Native Australian Seasonings and salts to try and create unusual recipes and in believing in my food “PASSION AND ENTHUSIASM” too!
It was only when I was having fun creating Aussie Green Farmhouse Native Seasonings & Salts Damper with… that I thought there “MUST be” a FUN way that I can incorporate dukkah “into” something; or if not “in” something, “on” something!

I think Green Farmhouse’s Ozzie Dukkah would be GREAT in bread! Wink
It was THEN the food light bulb went on , that I remembered I had made Aussie Aussie Aussie Malteser Lamingtons and thought Green Farmhouse’s Ozzie Dukkah would also be great in mini bite portions. Very Happy

I can say today I was “inspired” by Aussie Aussie Aussie Malteser Lamingtons, and “slightly” adapted the recipe.

What I also love about this recipe is the versatility! Please free free to find a cake recipe that works for you!

Taste and creativity is so objective and I can tell you ALL have your favorite cake recipes out there in Computerland too! Wink

Ingredients

2 eggs, beaten

100 grams Xylitol (substitute granulated sugar)

100 grams unsalted butter (See NOTE)

165 grams plain flour, sifted

½ teaspoon baking powder

½ teaspoon baking soda

1/2 cup citrus peel (see below)

1 “heaped” tablespoon vanilla yogurt ( I used Vaalia)

2 tablespoons cocoa powder (I used Abundant Earth Organic Cocoa Powder Dutch Process to “lessen” sugar ;-) )

4 tablespoons water

1/2 cup shredded coconut

1 tablespoon lime zest

2 tablespoons Green Farmhouse Ozzie Dukkah

Oil spray

NOTE:
I melted the butter then cooled for a few minutes before S-L-O-W-L-Y adding into other ingredients
.

In large bowl, combine Xylitol, sifted flour, baking powder, baking soda.

In separate bowl, combine eggs, lime zest, yogurt, butter; fold in citrus peel.

IMG_2999Combine wet ingredients with dry ingredients until well combined.

Preheat oven to 180C; pour batter into a oil sprayed muffin tray (I used an 3 inch x 3 inch x 2 inch tray; use whatever square muffin baking tray); bake 12 – 14 minutes until lightly golden brown; toothpick comes out clean.

Remove from oven and let cool for 10 minutes before removing lamingtons to a wire rack.

IMG_3006
While cake is cooling:

In a bowl, combine cocoa powder and water to create a slurry.

NOTE
Consistency is to personal taste, but make sure is well combined. Wink

In a separate bowl, combine shredded coconut, lime zest and dukkah.

Hint and Tip
I like mini bites! Very Happy

Feel free to cut the cake into whatever size you prefer.

I also cut the side and bottom of the piece to “insure” the dukkah coconut mixture would stick better. Wink

Waste not!! Shocked

Wasting food is a BIG “pet peeve” of mine!

The slices can be toasted or grilled and enjoyed as a snack! Laughing

The slices can be ground up to use as “cake crumbs” on some of your favorite dishes!

ASSEMBLE, ASSEMBLE, ASSEMBLE! like in Nidi di Rondine Wink

With your “wet hand“, dunk lamington pieces into chocolate slurry bowl; coat completely.

With your “wet hand”, place the lamington in the coconut dukkah lime bowl; coat completely with your “dry hand.

Don’t confuse Mr. “wet hand” with Mr. “dry hand” or there will be a mess! lol

Place coated lamington onto a place.

Hint and Tip

You “may” have to press the coconut dukkah lime mixture “gently” into the lamington.

FOLLOW UP

What an unusual combination, even for me!

Next time, I might use lemon juice with lemon zest with dukkah in a recipe!

Have I now “inspired” you to think a different way about dukkah today?

LOVE to hear from you what dukkah combination you might like to see or create?

I am thinking something “plum” with dukkah or a “mandarin dukkah” dessert might be GREAT!

4 thoughts on “Green Farmhouse Dukkah’s Not JUST for Dunking Anymore

  1. Joanne says:

    I love how the dukkah kind of adds a savory twist to these!

Leave a Reply

About me

Joanne T. Ferguson

Passionate Home Cook who tries to inspire one recipe and one event at time!

Follow

Facebook Twitter RSS email Pinterest Google Plus

© All text and photos are copyright 2012 - 2013 What's On The List. All rights reserved. Feel free to ask.

