Little Box of Yum Bellisimo Beetroot Fettuccine Bacon and…

7

May 22, 2013 by Joanne T Ferguson

beetrootIn continuing with my Little Box of Yum MAYAustralian themeseries, today I would like to “introduce” Angelo to you.

I REALLY like when one can put a face with a name of a company…YOU?

Angelo is a real person from Angelo’s Fresh Pasta Products ( a family owned company) that produces “quality pasta” fresh in Brisbane, Australia since 1968!

That is “almost” the year I was born! Wink

Angelo’s has won numerous awards since 1999 at the Sydney Royal Fine Food Show.

For Angelo, his “most precious awards come from customer feedback and the continued support for our products.”

papaIMG_3001Looked around my kitchen, opened my fridge, TRUE!

WHAT was “staring” back at me today too? Shocked

mmmmm baby spinach, fresh parsley, fresh basil; opened the fridge… feta and fresh ricotta YELLED, “PICK ME!!! PICK ME!!!

You can ONLY imagine some days in my kitchen with all the voices/foods YELLING to include them in my next recipe! lol Laughing

Beetroot Fettuccine (part of Angelo’s Boutique Pasta) was “graciously” provided by Alex as part of this month’s Little Box of Yum Australian theme Box.

I have made lots of fresh pasta before, but never have made beetroot pasta.

Let me say “in a gracious way” you can taste HOW fresh this pasta is made and also taste the TLC. Wink

Angelo “attributes his determination and hard work as the secret ingredient of his success.”

I enjoyed Angelo’s “hints and tips” as well as the meaning behind the Angelo’s Emblem as provided in the Little Box of Yum Discovery Booklet (which accompanies the monthly box too!)

Without giving too much away, Angelo “debunks” a pasta cooking myth:
“If you have sufficient amount of water in your pot, you do not need to add oil.”
IMG_2669“What did I create?”, I “hear” you say?

Angelo’s Fresh Pasta MADE MY DAY!

Joanna’s Belissimo Beetroot Fettuccine Bacon with…
Spinach, Basil & Parsley Sauce

NOTE
With the combination of ingredients, it does not require a lot of sauce, TRUE!

You can heat and “drizzle” the sauce over the pasta, but for photogenic purposes in highlighting Angelo’s Fresh Beetroot Fettucine, I chose to “introduce” the sauce to some “wonderfully fresh” blush Sampari (premium cocktail truss tomatoes) that I had on hand today.

Ingredients

1/2 cup fresh basil
1/2 cup fresh parsley
1/2 cup fresh spinach
1/2 cup feta
1/4 cup pine nuts
1/4 cup peas, cooked
2 tablespoons butter
2 tablespoons olive oil
2 cloves garlic, minced
1 tablespoon good quality balsamic vinegar
salt & pepper to taste
1 cup (~236 grams) fresh ricotta, cubed
4 bacon strips (~20 grams; ~ .7 ounces) , cooked, crumbled
1 blush tomato, cut in half

Hint and Tip
For presentation purposes, cut the bottom of the tomatoes so could add the “beautiful” fresh sauce on top. Very Happy

Melt butter in a fry pan on stove; set aside.

In a blender, combine basil, parsley, baby spinach, pine nuts, butter, garlic; salt and pepper to taste.

Add small cubed ricotta; blend until “well combined” and to desired “smooth” consistency; set aside.

Cook pasta in hot, salted water until desired doneness; drain.

“If you are cooking pasta at home for your family, there is no need to run cold water over cooked, drained pasta”, according to Angelo. Wink

ASSEMBLE, ASSEMBLE, ASSEMBLE!” (like in Wrap Yourself Happy Manti Wink)

“ENJOY, ENJOY, ENJOY!”

What would you create for a pasta flavor combination?

Do you have as much trouble twirling pasta like I do?

I twirl the plate and find it SO much easier for me to do, TRUE! Embarassed

IMG_3004Alex from Little Box of Yum has generously decided to give my “subscribed” viewers a link to get $10.00 off their first box too! Thank you!
http://www.littleboxofyum.com/special

7 thoughts on “Little Box of Yum Bellisimo Beetroot Fettuccine Bacon and…

  1. […] made with Spun Fairy Floss, Maleny Cusine Strawberry, Lime and and Whiskey Conserves Delight, Belissimo Beetroot Fettucini with Spinach, Basil & Parsley Sauce, and most recently Bum Hummer’s Chili Salsa Mini […]

  2. I have made beetroot pasta before and I love it. Easy when you can buy a quality product like Angelos though. I never put oil in the water when I cook pasta. I think the sauce doesn’t stick when there’s oil in the water.

  3. babso2you says:

    Looks yumMay Joanne! We do not have beetroot pasta available here. Maybe this is something that would be worth trying to make myself! Have a lovely day!

  4. Hehe I’m glad I’m not the only one that hears my food saying “pick me pick me!!” 😀

Leave a Reply

About me

Joanne T. Ferguson

Passionate Home Cook who tries to inspire one recipe and one event at time!

Follow

Facebook Twitter RSS email Pinterest Google Plus

© All text and photos are copyright 2012 - 2013 What's On The List. All rights reserved. Feel free to ask.

