Julie Goodwin’s GATHER Cookbook Review

9

May 19, 2013 by Joanne T Ferguson

ImageCourtesy of Random House Books Australia, I was given Julie Goodwin’s third cookbook GATHER to “wonderfully bake” one of her recipes.

Julie was Australia’s first Masterchef and her PASSION for “bringing people together with delicious home-cooked food” is what she continues to do!

I have personally met Julie (while celebrating my birthday and anniversary on the Gold Coast) and can say Julie is the most down to earth, genuine person you will ever meet.

Julie’s  smile and food enthusiasm is infectious and Julie truly illuminates any room she enters.

Can you tell I was already a BIG fan? Wink

What I LOVE about GATHER is Julie’s cookbook oozes with warmth, is very welcoming and I love how she shares stories behind foods, special memories and photos of her family too!

Did you know Julie Goodwin’s first cookbook Our Family Table “is one of the highest selling cookbooks in Australian history?”

I “loved” how Julie left the final section of her cookbook “for the reader’s own photos, clippings and hand-me-down handwritten recipes from family and friends.”

Julie’s second cooking The Heart of The Home was released in 2011 by Random House Books Australia.)

The Heart of the Home contained 100 more of Julie’s recipes easy to make meals for the whole family to enjoy!

Which brings me back to GATHERVery Happy

9781742750101

You KNOW by now HOW distracted that I get with all things food! Wink

Grandma’s cheese scones “jumped” out at me! As it “truly” is a very special recipe!

Without giving anything away, I agree with Julie, that this recipe “is another wonderful example of how important it is to record recipes, to share them and cook them and keep them alive.”

PLEASE, when you read this post, go to you mum, your dad, you Grandma, your Auntie, your friends and ASK them to share their special recipe.

You and future generations will be GLAD you did, trust me! Wink

I was SO glad I asked my mum for her Special Spice Cake; a recipe handed down four generations, TRUE!

I KNOW my mum is smiling down from the heavens and is SO proud when I share her recipe too! Very Happy

Ingredients

Self-rising flour
salt
butter
cheese

What I also “love” about Julie’s recipes throughout all of her cookbooks, is Julie makes me “feel” like if she can cook or bake it, I can too! Very Happy

“Did you forget to add the amounts of ingredients”, I “hear” you say?

Remember, I can “STILL” hear you behind your computer screen even to this day! Wink

No, is the answer.

I decided to be “cheeky” (means mischievous in Aussie lingo) today!

You will have to buy Julie’s GATHER cookbook. It will MAKE YOUR DAY!

I would HIGHLY RECOMMEND you buy Julie’s WONDERFUL cookbook GATHER, not only for her GREAT recipes (with more than 100!), but to read about her stories, experience her “warmth”, family and food photos and the stories along the way! Very HappyVery HappyVery Happy

Thank you to Debbwl in not only making Mum’s Special Spice Cake, but “sharing” her wonderful photo too!

That’s one of the things I am “PASSIONATE and ENTHUSIASTIC” about is the “caring and sharing” of special recipes too!

Chef Georgio (aka hubby) from Make No Bones About It! and Princess WHAT?!! from Adelaide’s Hidden Gems Squared Mile Squaure Tour “smiles” said it all today!

BOTH said to “thank Julie” for “sharing” Mick’s grandmother’s and her love for her family” scones recipe!

My words are my own and have not been influenced by receiving Julie’s WONDERFUL cookbook GATHER by Random House Books Australia. Very HappyVery HappyVery Happy

Are you now salivating to make Julie’s Grandma’s cheese scone recipe?

In your comments, I would LOVE if you would share YOUR special family recipe! Very HappyVery HappyVery Happy

PERSONAL NOTE
What makes this recipe and photo SO special to me? In the background of my photo is one of the “only” photos left of mum and me! Very HappyVery HappyVery Happy

It makes me “proud” sharing mum courtesy of Julie! Wink

9 thoughts on “Julie Goodwin’s GATHER Cookbook Review

  1. What a great review. You can make anyone want to go out and buy the cookbook.. I know after reading this I certainly would. thanks for sharing on Foodie Friends Friday.

  2. cookingwithcurls says:

    Well now that you have convinced me that I need this book, I doubt that I can get it here in the US. Maybe someday the books will make their way across the pacific, that would be nice 🙂

  3. […] Georgio (aka hubby) and Princess WHAT?!! (and her family )… (like in Julie Goodwin’s GATHER Cookbook Review), “devoured“ Aussie Green Farmhouse Native Seasonings & Salts Damper with LOVE […]

  4. Nami | Just One Cookbook says:

    Thanks for the introduction of Julie’s book! Lately a lot of food bloggers have published their first or second cookbooks and it’s very inspiring! Personally I don’t think I ever can go through such hard work and I appreciate even more when I hear about how much time they have put to make a book. I’ll check out Julie’s site after I browse yours! Thank you so much for stopping by my blog, and it’s very nice to meet you Joanne!

  5. Julie seems like such a lovely, upbeat person! I saw her presenting a show in the country once and she was so likeable and delightful 🙂

Leave a Reply

About me

Joanne T. Ferguson

Passionate Home Cook who tries to inspire one recipe and one event at time!

Follow

Facebook Twitter RSS email Pinterest Google Plus

© All text and photos are copyright 2012 - 2013 What's On The List. All rights reserved. Feel free to ask.

