Food Revolution Day Rhubarb & Lentil Soup with Dukkah

14

May 17, 2013 by Joanne T Ferguson

IMG_2972HAPPY FOOD REVOLUTION DAY!!!
wc-3http://www.jamieoliver.com

You’re um, well, um, not 100 percent sure at the moment what the celebration is all about? Shocked

Jamie Oliver has been campaigning for many years about food education.images“Knowing what we eat, where food comes from, and how it affects our bodies has never been more important, particularly if you have kids.*

Food Revolution Day is a global event that brings people together to “cook it, share it and live it.”

The goal of Food Revolution Day is to “raise awareness of good food” as well as to educate people on “better food.”

Today’s food choices will have effects not only on today’s health, but future health and diseases too!
(This is my quote and opinion too! Wink)

“Who can participate?”, I “hear you say? Wink
Any school, business, organization or individual can participate today.

“How can I get involved or what can I do?, you asked.
I am glad I can STILL hear you through my computer screen! lol

As an individual, you can host a party, create, photograph and submit a recipe to the Food Revolution as the event wants to “keep cooking skills alive.”

Did you know diet-related diseases are THE number 1 leading killers worldwide? Shocked

A study in Australia found that just over half of all children aged 5–7 years (57%) and a third of children aged 8–11 years (32%) ate the recommended amount of fruit and vegetables, but only 5% of people aged 12–18 years and 6% of people 19 years and over did so – Australian Bureau of Statistics.  Shocked

You can also join the Thunderclap!! Shocked
(I didn’t know what it was but I now do! Wink)
Here’s my Thunderclap should you wish to view:
“I’m supporting Food Revolution Day because I believe food education & cooking skills can help save lives #FRD2013 http://thndr.it/ZA01aE

Onto my submitted recipe then eh? Very HappyVery Happy

Joanna’s Rhubarb & Lentil Soup with Dukkah

Ingredients
2 teaspoons olive oil
3 small carrots, peeled, diced
1/4 head of cabbage, sliced thin
1 leek, quartered, sliced
1 cup rhubarb, peeled, sliced
3/4 cup (~ 6 ounces) red lentils
4 cups chicken stock
salt and pepper to taste
1/4 cup parsley, finely chopped
parsley, garnish (optional)
1/2 teaspoon dukkah (I had some Green Farmhouse Dukkah on hand)

Heat large pot on stove over medium heat; add oil.

Saute carrots, cabbage and leeks for 4 minutes; stirring frequently.

Add rhubarb, continue to stir frequently for an additional 4 minutes.

Stir in lentils.

Add chicken broth, bring to a boil; reduce heat to simmer, cover pot, cook for 20 minutes, stirring a couple of times to make sure the lentils do not stick.

NOTE
If lentils are not soft, continue cooking for a few more minutes.

Remove pot from heat; puree with immersion blender.

Stir in parsley; season to taste.

Top with dukkah, parsley and enjoy!

For those who can and would like to donate to Jamie’s Charities. 100 percent of funds go to “directly to food education projects in the UK, US and Australia.”
https://foodrevolution.nationbuilder.com/jamie_oliver_food_foundation

MAKE a stand, SPREAD the word, JOIN the Food Revolution in “sending a UNITED message to the world.”

It is something I felt PASSIONATE about getting involved in today!

Actions speak louder than what anyone can say! Wink

I would like to “share” Maureen’s Jamie’s Food Revolution post from Orgasmic Chef with her lovely Pumpkin, Ginger and Apple Soup as well as Tanya’s Spreading the Word About Jamie Oliver’s Food Revolution Day Through a Spicy Tomato Soup Challenge post from The Cook Who Knew Nothing as part of Jamie Oliver’s Food Revolution Day today too!

It is in a the caring and sharing of all things foods that unites people worldwide too! Very HappyVery Happy

Will you be participating in Jamie Oliver’s Food Revolution Day in your own special way?

Would you like to share a blog post that participated in Jamie’s Revolution Day? I would love to see!

Food Strangers Who Become Food Friends is also the UNITED message Jamie’s Food Revolution Day (to me) sends! Very HappyVery HappyVery Happy

* SOURCE
http://www.mirror.co.uk/lifestyle/dieting/recipes/three-jamie-oliver-recipes-inspire-1893972

14 thoughts on “Food Revolution Day Rhubarb & Lentil Soup with Dukkah

  1. Nami | Just One Cookbook says:

    Cooking rhubarb at home is a new idea for me. I’ve had it only at a restaurant – both savory and dessert dishes, but never picked up rhubarb at a supermarket. It’s one of ingredients that I should challenge myself to try. The color always fascinate me! Beautiful lentil soup!

    • Thank you Nami! This is how we all learn as I previously have seen fruits and vegetables I did not know what to do with (i.e. kumatos) and is always fun to challenge yourself. Just make sure to peel it so it is not stringy in taste or texture too! 🙂

  2. Liz says:

    I love lentil soup, this looks really good. Hope it tasted good too. Have a fantastic weekend!

  3. Foodie in WV says:

    What a great looking stew! I love the combination of rhubarb and lentils, yum! Thanks for the link to your post on my blog also, I do appreciate how sweet you always are with the links back and mentions 🙂

  4. I saw you mention this soup on Maureen’s site and had to come take a look at what your were doing! I love the idea of rhubarb and lentil soup! Not a combination I’ve ever had, but it sounds terrific. Very creative – thanks so much.

  5. Hi Joanne, I would like to nominate you for both of the “one lovely blog awards”. Please feel free to accept them and give further! You will find them here: http://artandkitchen.wordpress.com/awards-and-events/
    Happy cooking and enjoy!

  6. Joanne, this is a great dish for the weather that we’re currently having. Has it turned suddenly freezing for you too?

  7. Hi! I’m glad you are here! Great post and lovely recipe! I the unusual combination; it’s a real revolution! Dukkah is delicious I never though to combine this with a soup!
    Thanks a lot for this posting!

Leave a Reply

About me

Joanne T. Ferguson

Passionate Home Cook who tries to inspire one recipe and one event at time!

Follow

Facebook Twitter RSS email Pinterest Google Plus

© All text and photos are copyright 2012 - 2013 What's On The List. All rights reserved. Feel free to ask.

