Little Box of Yum Maleny Cuisine Strawberry, Lime and Whiskey Conserve Delights

8

May 16, 2013 by Joanne T Ferguson

IMG_2948By now you KNOW my S-Q-U-E-A-L of delight about trying new products that I can create recipes “with a twist.” Wink

Courtesy of Jamie and Alex from Little Box of Yum, Maleny Cuisine Strawberry, Lime and Whiskey Conserve was part of this month’s “Australian theme” box and sent my “fun food mind” into overdrive.

While in “fun, food, dream land” (which I visit A LOT lol), the phone rang. Uh huh, yup, ok, see you then!!!

“OH MY GOODNESS!! WHAT do I do?” ShockedShocked

Unexpected company is “on the way“, will be here in less than an hour and have no cake too! Shocked

“QUICK!!! THINK!!” My mind DID say! I KNEW I should have made some cake the other day! lol

I opened my What’s On The List Folder (is REALLY a fun folder…you should see it one day! Wink) and WHAT do I see? Jam Cake by Debbie Collins at allrecipes. Wink

I LOVE my Mum’s Special Spice Cake, and when I saw Debbie’s Jam Cake, I must have placed the recipe in the folder months ago based on Debbie’s comments:
“This is a traditional Kentucky Christmas Cake. I like it better than fruit cake and the pecans may be soaked in bourbon several days before the cake is made.”

I must admit, it DID perk my curiosity!

With no time to think, I “adapted” this recipe creating Joanna’s Antioxidant Jam Slices made with Maleny Cuisine Strawberry, Lime and Whiskey Conserve Delights! “WHOO HOO!”IMG_2685In case people have missed the “WHOO HOO” reference, feel free to click on my Interview as appears on Food.com Member of the Month.

My hair was a different color but I am still the same PASSIONATE and ENTHUSIASTIC food personality you have come to know! Wink

IMG_2945As I like to use up what I have on hand, I remembered I had this Antioxidant Mix which consists of Incaberries, Goji Berries, Blackberries and Cranberries.

Incaberries (also called Uvillas) are from South American, grown in a high altitude climate. Not only are they high in fibre, Potassium and Vitamin C, incaberries are “different to a lot of other dried fruits in that in dried form there is no added sugar, or preservatives, like most others available in Australia.” *

Incaberries are bronze-coloured and “can be used as a substitute for, or in addition to, raisins, cranberries and other dried fruits.” *

Ingredients
1/2 cup (~118 grams) butter
1 cups Xylitol (original recipes calls for sugar)
1 1/2 eggs (see NOTE)
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1 1/2 cups self-rising flour, sifted (see NOTE)
1/2 cup milk
1/2 tablespoon vinegar
1/2 cup Maleny Cuisine Strawberry, Lime and Whiskey Conserve Delights
1/2 cup walnuts, finely ground
1/2 cup Antioxidant Mix above
oil spray
jamconservePre heat oven to 180C. (350F)

Lightly oil spray mini cake pan.

NOTE
Depending on what size pan you use, baking times will vary. Remember, my unexpected guests will be here in less than an hour, so make 12 mini cakes for slices instead of one large cake which would take longer. Wink

NOTE
As my adapted recipe calls for 1 1/2 eggs, it is not as simple as “trying” to get “exactly” 1 1/2 eggs from the egg shells. On a scale, weigh a bowl and set to zero. Add 2 “beaten” eggs in a bowl for the total amount of weight on a scale; measure out 1 1/2 eggs amount. My eggs were 60 grams each.

Slightly” larger eggs will not change the recipe, just make sure is 1 1/2 eggs.

By now in reading my posts, you know I use Xylitol in my cooking and baking. I find if I use Xylitol in a baking recipe, the results are better with self-rising flour.

If you use sugar in this recipe, all-purpose flour is okay. Very Happy

In a jug, combine milk and vinegar; let stand for 5 minutes; set aside.

In a stand up mixer, cream together butter and xylitol. (or sugar)

In large bowl, sift together baking soda and flour; add alternating milk mixture to creamed butter mixture. Mix well.

With wooden spoon, fold in Maleny Cuisine Strawberry, Lime and Whiskey Conserve Delights, ground walnuts and Antioxidant Mix; combine well.

Add batter into prepared cake pan.

Bake for 25 minutes or until golden brown, tops “spring” back and toothpick comes out clean.

Remove from oven, place on wire racks for 10 – 15 minutes before removing.

“WHEW!” Made it JUST in time! Wink

My unexpected guests have not arrived yet.

Perhaps I will “carefully” slice Joanna’s Antioxidant Jam Slices made with Maleny Cuisine Strawberry, Lime and Whiskey Conserve Delights and have a quick “sneak eat” like in Little Box of Yum Spun Fairy Floss – Ballerina Rose & Velvet Delight. WinkWink

Next time I have unexpected guests coming, this Maleny Cuisine Strawberry, Lime and Whiskey Conserve Delights would be GREAT in my Holy Moley Baked Mini Donuts recipe too! Wink

Both Joanna’s Antioxidant Jam Slices made with Maleny Cuisine Strawberry, Lime and Whiskey Conserve Delights and Holy Moley Baked Mini Donuts are “healthy” fun foods not only for when those unexpected guests call, but they are GREAT to make on days that end in “Y” too! Wink

Would YOU like to try my Antioxidant Jam Slices today?

I reckon Maleny Cuisine Chilli Jam or their Sliced Marmalade in my recipes would also be nice!

If you could could be a jam, marmalade or conserve combination flavor, what would you be?

Who would LOVE to hear YOUR comments? Me! WinkVery Happy
IMG_0764Alex from Little Box of Yum contacted me and has generously decided to give my “subscribed” viewers a link to get $10.00 off their first box too! Thank you!
http://www.littleboxofyum.com/special

*SOURCE
http://insidecuisine.com/2011/07/30/incaberries-dried-fruit-ecuador/

8 thoughts on “Little Box of Yum Maleny Cuisine Strawberry, Lime and Whiskey Conserve Delights

  1. […] with Apricots & Macadamia Nuts, Ballerina Rose & Velvet Delight made with Spun Fairy Floss, Maleny Cusine Strawberry, Lime and and Whiskey Conserves Delight, Belissimo Beetroot Fettucini with Spinach, Basil & Parsley Sauce, and most recently Bum […]

  2. […] SOURCE: http://whatsonthelist.net/2013/05/16/little-box-of-yum/ […]

  3. […] continuing with my Little Box of Yum MAY “Australian theme” series, today I would like to “introduce” Angelo to […]

  4. Joanne says:

    That conserve sounds so deliciously! the perfect blend of flavors.

  5. leggypeggy says:

    Thanks Joanne, and thank Alex for the $10 off. Such a nice gesture.

Leave a Reply

About me

Joanne T. Ferguson

Passionate Home Cook who tries to inspire one recipe and one event at time!

Follow

Facebook Twitter RSS email Pinterest Google Plus

© All text and photos are copyright 2012 - 2013 What's On The List. All rights reserved. Feel free to ask.

