Chile Mojo Mexican Chocolate Bit of Olé

25

May 12, 2013 by Joanne T Ferguson

usejpgIf I didn’t know it would be unsafe to do, I WOULD have worn my Sombrero while cooking today too! lol

IMG_2434Ever since Cinco de Mayo — Pib Pibil with Achiote Rice, I’ve been YELLING Olé to EVERYONE I meet!

You KNOW me by now re food and YELLING! 😉

I guess it’s better than jumping out from behind my bushes, meeting Food Strangers Who Become Food Friends and YELLING, “En Garde!” 😉

Did you know chocolate can have cholesterol if milk is added to the chocolate? Shocked

IMG_2695

Courtesy of Joel and Morgen from Chile Mojo, they provided me with the most wonderful “authentic” Mexican herbs, spices, foods etc. for me to create “unique recipes with a creative twist.” Wink

Did I mention I LOVE chilli? Very Happy

With a bit of Olé in me today, I decided to create two recipes; Chicken Mole (with pepitas) and Mexican Chocolate Oatmeal Pepita Mini Muffins; two VERY easy, versatile recipes! Wink

Pepitas (Pumpkin seeds) are a good source or protein, potassium, iron and zinc; served raw, roasted, in the shell or not, they are great sprinkled in salads for a “crunch” or like today as a coating for chicken (with spices) and tastes great finely ground in mini muffins too! Very Happy

Wonder how I used Chile Mojo’s HOT (I LOVE HOT! Wink) Cajun Spice and Chili Powder Blend? (is also part of their Mexican Spice Mix Sampler.) Read on…. Very Happy

I LOVE being able to purchase herb and spices Samplers…YOU?

photo
IMG_2700

No recipe is “really” an original, TRUE! When I opened my What’s On The List folder, I had saved Daniel’s How to Make a Mole Sauce: Intense, Exotic, and Surprisingly Easy to Make on Casual Kitchen (and as appearing as Chicken Mole on ASweetLife)

Ingredients for my adapted Chicken Pepita Mole

340 grams (~12 ounces) chicken tenders, pounded thin
7 tablespoons grapeseed oil Shocked
3 tablespoons Chile Mojo Cajun Spice
3 tablespoons pepitas, finely ground
2 teaspoons cracked black pepper
1 tablespoon Chile Mojo Chili Powder Blend (as part of the Mexican spice Sampler)
1 teaspoons ground cumin
1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
2 x 400mls (~13.5 ounces) diced canned tomatoes in juice
30 grams (~1 ounce) Chile Mojo Mexican chocolate Ibarra

In a bowl, combine cajun spice, finely ground pepitas and cracked black pepper; coat both sides of the chicken tenders “well”; set aside.

Hint and Tip
You will need to make sure to “rub” the spice into the chicken. It WILL be worth it!

Confession time? Embarassed

My name is Joanne and some recipes are “genuinely” difficult to photograph, so that is why I always like to see what recipes look like in the pan! Is it JUST me?

SOURCE
The Casual Kitchen

Heat pan on medium low; add 4 tablespoons grapeseed oil.

NOTE
I cannot “emphasize” enough regarding whatever oil you wish to use, this recipe “smokes” and I don’t mean is “smoking” lol

PLEASE (and is not dangerous or I would not have posted this recipe (as I have had a fire or two happen while cooking.)
I think every good home cook has! (and chefs too!) Shocked Wink

Add chicken for about 50 second each side; set aside on a paper towel to drain.

NOTE
The coated chicken WILL cook VERY quickly and is best to use caution to lower the heat than to have it burn. Wink

Lower heat to low; add to oil… chilli, cumin, cinnamon and any leftover combination mixture of cajun spice, ground pepitas and cracked black pepper; stir for about 3 – 4 minutes.

NOTE
When you make this, you WILL know when it is done. The pan does “smoke” Shocked

If you have ANY concerns re your pan “smoking”, simply remove pan from the stove top; making sure to keep stirring. When your confidence returns, simply return it to the stove top until you are happy with the coloring.

If the spices soak up all of the oil, you may need to add more oil.

Hint and Tip
You WILL want to “continuously” stir the spices in oil as they DO burn easily. Do not say you have not been warned! lol

With heat on low, add Mexican chocolate and stir; combining it with the spices “well.”

When the Mexican chocolate is fully melted, add diced tomatoes; stirring until combined.

Bring to a boil and simmer for 10 minutes.

NOTE
I like chicken bites, so I cut my chicken before returning it to the pan and simmered for an additional 10 minutes. Olé!!! Very Happy

When I was little, my mum always said I could not have dessert unless I ate my dinner. I think mum’s worldwide say the same things, eh? lol

With Olé still in my step, onto dessert I go! 😉

IMG_2899Ingredients for Mexican Chocolate Oatmeal Pepita Mini Muffins
(as “inspired” and adapted from Claudya’s Mexican Chocolate Oatmeal Muffins Recipe on Unknown Mami.)

1/2 cup rolled oats
1/2 cup butted (cubed)
1 cup boiling water
1 cup Naturally Sweet Xylitol (feel free to use brown sugar; I substitute Xylitol based on my food lifestyle Very Happy)
2 teaspoons cinnamon (If using brown sugar, no need to add)
2 eggs, beaten
1/8 teaspoon Organic vanilla powder
1 cup self-rising flour (If using sugar, ok to use all-purpose)
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
60 grams (~2.1 ounces) Chile Mojo Mexican chocolate Ibarra
30 grams (~1 ounce) pepitas
oil spray

Pre heat oven to 180C. (350F)

Grind pepitas; set aside.

NOTE
I used oil sprayed mini muffin trays. Depending on the size of your tray, baking times will differ.

The muffins are done when the tops “spring” back and a toothpick comes out clean. 😉

You can also butter and flour the tins; like Grandma used to do! 😉 Whatever works best for you! Very Happy

In a large bowl, mix (with you fingers ;-)), oats and butter “well.”

Add boiling water; combine with mixture; stir in finely ground pepitas. Set aside to cool.

NOTE
As I “always” like to speed up the process, I placed the bowl in the freezer for about ten minutes; re-whisked to refresh.

Hint and Tip
I “gently” whisked all together.

In separate large bowl, combine xylitol and cinnamon (or “only” sugar if using), eggs and vanilla powder. I used a wooden spoon.

Add to cooled oats-butter-pepita mixture; combine well.

In a separate bowl, sift together flour, baking soda, baking powder, salt and Chile Mojo Mexican chocolate Ibarra.

Hint and Tip
I found it easier to mix when I placed the Mexican chocolate in a small pan on the stove, continuously stirred until melted.

Add flour-chocolate mixture to wet mixture; combine well.

Spoon batter into prepared trays.

Hint and Tip
Do NOT overfill and make sure the top of the muffin tray is oil sprayed so as to not stick.

Bake for 10 minutes or until done.

FOLLOW UP NOTE
I loved these muffins, “light and airy”, just like me!

Next time, I might consider adding Chile Mojo Chili Powder Blend for that extra bit of “kick.” 😉

Do you now feel YOU want to jump out from your kitchen and YELL Olé?

Has Chicken Pepita Mole and Mexican Chocolate Oatmeal Pepita Mini Muffins “inspired” you?

What would you like to cook or bake with Mexican chocolate so you will be doing the Olé Happy Dance today too?

Would love to hear your comments, thoughts and what you say with Olé! 😉

25 thoughts on “Chile Mojo Mexican Chocolate Bit of Olé

  1. […] or when Joel and Morgen “graciously” provided me with products so I could create Chile Mojo Chocolate Bit of Ole and Cinco de Mayo — Pib Pibil with Anchiote […]

  2. chris g says:

    Looks amazing

  3. Hilary Oakley says:

    yum yum im hungry . it looks fantastic

  4. That looks so good and easy

  5. Kim K says:

    this looks really yummy, going to give it a try this weekend

  6. My idea of heaven, looks divine. *licks lips…

  7. jess f says:

    Thanks for the yummy ideas

  8. Warren M says:

    WOW, everything looks delicious!

  9. Rebecca says:

    Mexican is my favourite and this looks like it could be my new favourite recipe. Well done

  10. Denise Sinnamon says:

    Wow looks delicious

  11. Judith Fasshauer says:

    Omg so yummy looks delicious i want to taste it

  12. […] SOURCE: http://whatsonthelist.net/2013/05/12/chile-mojo-mexican-chocolate-bit-of-ole/ […]

  13. Foodie in WV says:

    Looks great! Thanks for the link 🙂

  14. Joanne, that looks wonderfully rich and full of flavour! And I think that you would have looked adorable cooking in a sombrero! 😛

  15. Kalyan says:

    that’s enticing and so simple to prepare…looks delicious!

Leave a Reply

About me

Joanne T. Ferguson

Passionate Home Cook who tries to inspire one recipe and one event at time!

Follow

Facebook Twitter RSS email Pinterest Google Plus

© All text and photos are copyright 2012 - 2013 What's On The List. All rights reserved. Feel free to ask.

