AYAM Gluten Free Malaysian Laksa, Laksa, Laksa

10

May 10, 2013 by Joanne T Ferguson

photo

While I am a VERY PROUD Australian who loves nothing more than exploring my own country, TRUE! I have EXTENSIVELY “traveled the world” exploring and for food fun too!

One (of many πŸ˜‰ ) MAGICAL trips was “experiencing” Penang (the food capital of Malaysia). I LOVED and became “enchanted” with the Hawker’s Paradise as Penang is called. Penangites find it “easier and cheaper” to eat out day and night! So you can only IMAGINE my “wonderment” of all things food AND my delight! Β πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

Laksa is a “sweet and sour” noodle dish popular in Malaysia and Singapore, TRUE!

It is VERY popular in my kitchen too! πŸ™‚

Laksa to me is about creating a great paste base then adding your own bit of “creativity” to reflect a laksa based on one’s tastes and one’s food personality!

Courtesy of AYAM Australia, they “graciously” sent me products from their Gluten Free Range to try and β€œcreate a delicious Asian meal for the whole family.”

65692_362764370492092_1894250888_n

I think we would all agree, no recipe is “really” an original and we are all “inspired” by what we see and read!

In my What’s On The List folder, I had this WONDERFUL Malaysian Laksa recipe I have made (and photographed) many times, TRUE!

What I LOVE about this particular recipe is while it provides the base or the basics, you can then add your ownΒ  unique “creative twist” too!

This recipe is GREAT anytime! πŸ™‚

IMAGINE on a Friday night, spending “quality” time with friends and family too?

The paste can be made in advance, so as to not be overwhelming and you don’t feelΒ  “everything” HAS to be all at once on the same day! πŸ˜‰

I LOVE how “simple and versatile” this recipe can be!

With help from AYAM’s Malaysian Laksa Paste, you TOO can β€œcreate a delicious Asian meal for friend and for the whole family.” πŸ™‚Β  πŸ™‚

Did I mention not only is AYAM’s Malaysian Laksa Paste Gluten Free, it is also Halal Certified?

IMG_2862

Ingredients for the Paste

1/2 red onion, diced
7 garlic, chopped
1 inch piece of ginger, peeled and chopped
2 red chillies, slice horizontally
1 tablespoon belacan* (also spelled belachan and belachang)
1/2 cup water

*made from fermented ground shrimp/prawn; People “unfamiliar” with the STRONG SMELL πŸ˜‰ “may” be put off by the smell, but let me say, I HIGHLY RECOMMEND you add it to the dish as the taste will “more than offset” the smell! πŸ˜‰

In a food processor, combine all above ingredients; blend until smooth; set aside.

IMG_2852Ingredients for Prawn Flavored Oil

4 tablespoons grapeseed oil
100 grams (~3.5 ounces) raw prawns, shelled, deveined

Heat a large pot over medium heat then add oil. Add prawns and fry for about 1 minute or until they turn red; remove; set aside. Do not drain oil.

NOTE
They really do add flavor to the oil! πŸ˜‰

Ingredients for Laksa Broth

185 grams (~6.4 ounces) AYAM Gluten Free Malaysian Laksa Paste

IMG_2779
1 litre (4 cups) chicken stock
400 mls (~14 ounces) AYAM Organic Light Coconut Milk
1 teaspoon sugar (based on my food lifestyle, I substituted Naturally Sweet Xylitol)
3 tablespoons fish sauce
salt to taste
juice of one lime (love lime juice….YOU? )

NOTE
I added tofu puff halves which can be purchased at Asian supermarkets. I like them “slightly” fried (for texture); oil sprayed pan and “carefully” turned every 30 seconds to make sure they did not burn; cook to desired doneness.

Hint and Tip
I used sweet potato noodles. (might be called cellophane, glass noodles or Chinese vermicelli) Feel free to use whatever noodles you have on hand or based on personal taste.

In a pot of boiling water, I placed 100 grams of sweet potato noodles and cooked until done. (about 5 – 7 minutes); drain; set aside.

I like to make my noodles slightly al dente, because they will cook further when added to the Malaysian Laksa. πŸ˜‰

In heated pan with prawn flavored oil, add AYAM Gluten Free Malaysian Laksa Paste and simmer for about two minutes.

Pour in chicken stock and bring to a boil; stirring constantly.

Add AYAM Organic Light Coconut Milk, sugar, fish sauce, fried tofu puffs and a squeeze of lime.

Add prawns (or whatever protein you may wish to use i.e. chicken), noodles to Laksa broth; heat ingredients throughout. Pour into bowls and enjoy!

IMG_2873

Here is where YOUR (and my) “creative twist” comes in as the toppings are only limited by your imagination.

Feel free to have FUN creating an “Asian meal for yourself, friends and the whole family.” πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

Ingredients for Topping

I used baby corn, chopped into small pieces. (because I had on hand and always think baby corn is fun in some child-like way too! lol)

I used bean sprouts, spring onion, red chill, puffed tofu, sliced water chestnuts, bean sprouts, coriander leaves, fried onions, (love CRUNCH….you? πŸ˜‰ ) and lime wedge.

I LOVE lime with my AYAM Gluten Free Malaysian Laksa, Laksa, Laksa ….YOU?Β πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

IMG_2874Why have takeaway when you can create this restaurant quality dish EASILY (trust me is easy ;-)) and economically at home?

You will LOVE the simplicity and versatility and imagine YOUR smile when your friends and family enjoy “a delicious Asian meal” YOU made with TLC!Β πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

Once you have the Laksa Broth made, you can set various ingredients in bowls to make this “an interactive meal” as who doesn’t like to choose what they eat or is it JUST me? πŸ˜‰

I SO hope I have “inspired” you to try AYAM Gluten Free Malaysian Laksa Paste, TRUE!

What would YOU like to enjoy in your AYAM Gluten Free Malaysian Laksa, Laksa, Laksa?

Feel free to ask any questions you have about making this Malaysian Laksa, as HOW EXCITED would YOU be WHEN you make this too? πŸ˜‰

UPDATE
This week, thanks to Jenny at Rate The Plate Utah for “once again” inviting me to her Food Holiday Link Party: National Seafood Month!
I thought my Gluten Free Malaysian Prawn Laksa would be PERFECT to share!

10 thoughts on “AYAM Gluten Free Malaysian Laksa, Laksa, Laksa

  1. […] like with my Crustless Gluten Free AYAM Massaman Curry Quiche, my AYAM Gluten Free Malaysian Laska, Laska, Laska, my AYAM Gluten Free Teriyaki Sweet Chili Veggie Mini Muffins, I hope with my AYAM Gluten Free […]

  2. […] Then followed by my AYAM Gluten Free Malaysian Laska, Laska, Laska! […]

  3. marbaird says:

    I have never had Laksa, but I am telling you your pictures paint a 1000 words, that is for sure. I think I fell in love all over again.

  4. Ellie says:

    I’ve made laksa once… and loved it:). Yours looks absolutely delicious!. I love how you used the sweet potato noodle… I would have never thought of using it, and I don’t know why… because I love the sweet potato noodles! Next time…
    You have wonderful recipes!

  5. This looks nice and authentic Joanne! I love the use of belachan-it’s so important in these pastes to get that strong flavour! πŸ™‚

  6. leggypeggy says:

    I love laksa. In fact, I’m making it tonight.

Leave a Reply

About me

Joanne T. Ferguson

Passionate Home Cook who tries to inspire one recipe and one event at time!

Follow

Facebook Twitter RSS email Pinterest Google Plus

Β© All text and photos are copyright 2012 - 2013 What's On The List. All rights reserved. Feel free to ask.

