Herbie’s Spices Curry Essentials Gobi Jalfrenzi

13

May 8, 2013 by Joanne T Ferguson

IMG_2855After my EXCITEMENT of yesterday creating Herbie’s Spices Curry Essentials Chicken Dhansak, I decided to S-L-O-W-L-Y and EXCITEDLY (again lol) open my Herbie’s Spices CURRY ESSENTIAL GIFT BOX that was “graciously” sent my Mr. Ian (Herbie) Hemphill from Herbie’s Spices. πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

Ahhhhhhhhhhhhh, if you could only “smell” the “selection of premium whole spices” sitting in front me me too! πŸ˜‰

IMG_2655 IMG_2658

My name is Joanne and I have a confession! Embarassed

Not only am I a carnivore (meat eater πŸ˜‰ ) who enjoys South Australian red wines πŸ™‚ :), but this is the SECOND time “I was never SO E-X-C-I-T-E-D about buying a head of cauliflower …

The last time was when I created Indian Cauliflower Rice Raw Foods Sushi.

Let’s face it when it comes to “tasty” vegetables, I think cauliflower got the short end of the straw. I personally (previously) never “really” took to cauliflower, but people worldwide love it in cheese sauce, deep fried or an an accompaniment to broccoli.

Cauliflower to me, is like the Ginger Rogers to Fred Astaire. Laughing

Can YOU hear the music of I’m in Heaven like I last “sung” in Chocolate Heaven — Steven ter Horst Chocolate Tasting Event or is it JUST me?

You KNOW by know what food does to me! πŸ˜‰

Today’s Gobi Jalfrenzi (Cauliflower Curry) vegetarian recipe as “inspired” but “slightly adapted” comes from Gloria’s Gobi Jalfrezi: Spicy Indian Cauliflower with Tangy Tomato Sauce from The Carolina Sauce Company.

IMG_2854
Ingredients
1 1/2 pounds (~680 grams) cauliflower
4 red Thai chilli peppers, finely diced (feel free to use chillies re personal taste)
2 cans (~16 ounces; 400 ml) diced tomatoes in tomato juice, drained
3 tablespoons grapeseed oil (feel free to substitute any “light” oil)
2 bay leaves
2 Tablespoons ginger paste
2 Tablespoons garlic paste
1 1/2 teaspoons cumin seeds (which comes with this Herbie’s Spices Curry Essentials Gift Box πŸ˜‰ )
1 teaspoon brown mustard seeds (which comes with this Herbie’s Spices Curry Essentials Gift Box πŸ˜‰ )
1/2 teaspoon fenugreek seeds (which comes with this Herbie’s Spices Curry Essentials Gift Box πŸ˜‰ )
1/2 teaspoon tellicherry pepper (which comes with this Herbie’s Spices Curry Essentials Gift Box πŸ˜‰ )
1 inch piece cinnamon (which comes with this Herbie’s Spices Curry Essentials Gift Box πŸ˜‰ )
1 star anise (which comes with this Herbie’s Spices Curry Essentials Gift Box πŸ˜‰ )
1/4 teaspoon coriander seeds (which comes with this Herbie’s Spices Curry Essentials Gift Box πŸ˜‰ )
1/4 teaspoon cloves, ground but whole cloves found πŸ˜‰ (with this Herbie’s Spices Curry Essentials Gift Box πŸ˜‰ )
1/4 teaspoon cardamon, ground but whole cardamon pods found πŸ˜‰ (with this Herbie’s Spices Curry Essentials Gift Box πŸ˜‰ )
1 teaspoon salt
1 tablespoon white vinegar
1 tablespoon cilantro (also called coriander); optional
cilantro or parsley for garnish (optional)

Have YOU figured out what I “ENTHUSIASTICALLY” have discovered? πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

This Herbie’s Spice Curry Essentials Gift Box is an “all in one collection” of whole spices for curry blends.

Not just because Mr. Ian (Herbie) Hemphill supported my food PASSION, but this Curry Essentials Gift Box IS exciting to purchase for ANY foodie!

IMAGINE when you buy this Curry Essentials Gift Box (conveniently online) what YOU can create with YOUR first Herbie’s whole premium spices? πŸ™‚

I have another confession! Embarassed

I was SOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO E-X-C-I-T-E-D today cooking in the kitchen, I forgot to add Nigella Seeds to the recipe! I do hope the Nigella Seeds will forgive me! πŸ˜‰

NOTE

I had some homemade ginger paste and garlic paste in the fridge I wanted to use up. Feel free to purchase them store-bought or you can EASILY make the paste in advance and freeze as found as How to Make Ginger Garlic Paste on Cooks Joy.

Cut cauliflower into bite size pieces.

Place contents of canned diced tomatoes in a sieve and drain; set aside.

You can retain and use the juice in future cooking! πŸ˜‰ )

In a spice grinder, grind fenugreek seeds, tellicherry pepper, coriander seeds, cinnamon, star anise, cardamon, and cloves. Your kitchen will “smell” AMAZING! πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

In a deep fry pan, heat pan then add oil; adding bay leaves, ginger paste, garlic paste, and above “ground” mixture.

NOTE
The seeds might not be fully ground” (which is ok) as when you fry them in the pan, you will “smell” the aromas release and the seeds will “crack like popcorn.” πŸ˜‰

Hint and Tip
I get asked this question frequently re cardamon pods. “Do I grind the whole pod?” I use the back of a knife and “crack” the pod, using the seeds only inside. πŸ™‚

Did you know if you boiled cauliflower (not today lol), you can add a teaspoon of bi carb soda to the boiling water and this keeps cauliflower whiter?

Add cauliflower, chilli and salt; stir until cauliflower is ‘well coated.” Cover and cook until cauliflower begins to soften. (about 10 minutes)

Uncover, stir in drained tomatoes and vinegar; bring to a simmer.

Cover and cook at a low simmer until cauliflower is tender.

NOTE
Desired “doneness” of cauliflower is personal taste. I like my cauliflower to be still a little bit “crunchy” (just a tad). The original recipe called for 15 minutes. I cooked mine for 7 minutes total.

Uncover and stir.

If the mixture is NOT fairly dry, increase heat cooking until desired doneness.

ENJOY! πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

Have I “inspired” any carnivores or herbivores today to make Herbie’s Spices Curry Essentials Gobi Jalfrenzi?

Are YOU surprised this IS a “simple, easy and versatile dish? (which could be a vegetarian main course or a side dish for carnivores)

If you could be a curry OR a vegetable in a curry, what would be YOUR wish?

13 thoughts on “Herbie’s Spices Curry Essentials Gobi Jalfrenzi

  1. Richa says:

    i love this gobi jalfrezi!

  2. yummy, such a delicious way to flavor the cauuliflower – and loved the look of your spices! πŸ™‚
    Ozlem

  3. Gloria C-L says:

    Howdy! I’m so glad that my Gobi (cauliflower) Jalfrezi recipe inspired you! Your version sounds great and looks lovely, and I look forward to trying it. I have many other Indian recipes on my blog, as well as other cauliflower recipes, too, for anyone interested in exploring that cuisine or who enjoys cauliflower.
    Zestfully yours,
    Gloria

  4. babso2you says:

    I must say that this dish looks lovely! Not much of a fan of curry, but you might have inspired me! Where does one obtain Herbies spices? Hugs – B

  5. Joanne says:

    I love making curry and how great that they sent you all the necessary spices! This sounds like such a tasty meal!

  6. I love the look of this Joanne!! I adore cauliflower and it’s such a great, versatile vegetable too! πŸ™‚

  7. hotlyspiced says:

    I love cauliflower and I’m always looking for recipes. This is a great recipe and I’m sure the dish is full of flavour xx

Leave a Reply

About me

Joanne T. Ferguson

Passionate Home Cook who tries to inspire one recipe and one event at time!

Follow

Facebook Twitter RSS email Pinterest Google Plus

Β© All text and photos are copyright 2012 - 2013 What's On The List. All rights reserved. Feel free to ask.

