In The Mood Crustless Gluten Free AYAM Massaman Curry Quiche

13

May 6, 2013 by Joanne T Ferguson

Image

You KNOW by now HOW I am when it comes to food! πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

I LOVE to “sing and dance,” LOVE music and enjoy YELLING like in Spinning Globe Persian Pomegranate and Pistachio Meatballs πŸ˜‰

Now that everyone is “In The Mood” ;-), courtesy of AYAM Australia, they’ve sent products from their Gluten free range to try and “create a delicious Asian meal for the whole family.”


I don’t know about you, but I LOVE an “authentic” Thai Massaman curry and was EXCITED to see AYAM’s Thai Massaman Curry Paste as part of their Gluten Free range!

I believe we are all “inspired” food wise by what we see and what we read.

When I saw Claire’s Massaman Curry Quiche on just blither blather, I “knew” this was the recipe I wanted to “slightly adapt.” πŸ™‚

Healthy, fun, GREAT for entertaining, TRUE!
I think this would make THE PERFECT dish on a cold winter’s night too!

Imagine bringing this “very easy to make” dish to your friend’s next summer BBQ?
You can take pleasure in saying, “I MADE THIS thanks to AYAM’s Gluten Free Range products too! πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

As a VERY PROUD South Australian, I LOVE supporting local produce and Aussie farmers too!

While visiting Fruita Bella one of my favorite Fruit and Vegetable stores here in Adelaide the other day, I found out that it is South Australian white sweet potato season! I did not know we had a “white sweet potato” growing season! Embarassed

My “curiosity” got the better of me as the owner explained they were purple inside! Surprised

IMG_2788

I LOVE people who are “PASSIONATE AND ENTHUSIASTIC” about food! He then went on to explain the differences in “sweetness” of the varieties of sweet potatoes.

I “KNEW” this would be PERFECT for my In The Mood Crustless Gluten Free AYAM Thai Massaman Curry Quiche! πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

“What makes the sweet potato purple?” I “hear” YOU say? πŸ˜‰

I could say, “It’s Magic!” and that would suffice with “children of all ages,” (lol) but without getting “technical,” it has to do with the pH level of the sweet potato. (measures how acidic or basic a substance is)

My “friend the fruitier” explained the purple sweet potato (that is white inside) is sweeter than the orange one. This white one (purple inside) is one step sweeter than the orange.

I LOVE learning about all things about food…YOU? πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

Ingredients

1 sweet potato (you variety choice πŸ˜‰
1 teaspoon olive oil
1/2 teaspoon salt (I used pink Himalayan)
1/2 teaspoon black pepper
1 cup fresh corn kernels
7 eggs
350 mls (~1 1/4 cups) AYAM Organic Coconut Milk
3 tablespoons Gluten free AYAM Thai Massaman Curry Paste
1/2 cup Monterey Jack cheese, grated
1/4 cup frozen peas
1/4 red capsicum (sweet pepper), diced
1/4 green capsicum, diced
1/4 yellow capsicum, diced
oil spray (optional)
lime (optional but recommended πŸ˜‰ )
red chilli, finely diced (optional but recommended πŸ˜‰ )

NOTE
Feel free to use ingredients you have on hand i.e. type of cheese, vegetables etc.
This is a great way to increase one’s serve of veggies a day. πŸ™‚

Feel free to adjust Gluten free AYAM Thai Massaman Curry Paste for personal taste.

The kitchen will smell AWESOME while this is cooking in the oven and you WILL be “In The Mood” for AYAM’s Crustless Massaman Curry Quiche too! πŸ˜‰

Next time, I will make the sweet potato more chunky; as this time I sliced into bite-sized pieces, but did not affect the final outcome of the recipe which was YUM!

Preheat oven to 200C. (~400F)

Peel sweet potato and cut into desired pieces; toss with olive oil, salt and pepper.

Hint and Tip
I “know” it is a very American thing to do re “Shake and Bake“, but found it was HEAPS easier to place the sweet potato pieces in a Ziploc and “fully coat” the sweet potato with oil, salt and pepper.

Feel free to substitute other spices on the sweet potato.

Spread coated sweet potato on a flat tray and bake for about 15 minutes or until soft; remove from oven; set aside.

NOTE
My sweet potato was “lovely and gold brown” at exactly the 15 minute mark.

Cut capsicum into small diced pieces; in fry pan, saute for about 5 minutes until slightly soft; set aside; “slightly” cool.

PERSONAL NOTE
I thought the capsicum would be nice sauteed in a non stick pan for about 5 minutes, until JUST turning light brown and becoming slightly soft.

In a blender, combine corn kernels, AYAM Gluten Free Certified Organic Coconut Milk, and Gluten free AYAM Thai Massaman Curry Paste.

Stir in cheese into the mixture and pour into an oil sprayed fluted pie pan; add vegetables then stir “slightly” so some vegetables “sink” and some vegetables are still “floating” πŸ˜‰

NOTE
Can use baking paper or Gluten Free Oil Spray so quiche does not stick.

Bake for 35-40 minutes until quiche is firm.

Remove and allow to cool before removing from you quiche pan.

Hint and Tip
If the top starts to get “too brown,” cover with al foil and continue baking until done.

Look forward to my “series of Gluten Free AYAM blog posts” as AYAM Gluten Free products are all about FUN, EASY, ENTERTAINING ways for YOU to “create a delicious Asian meal (including desserts) for the whole family (and your friends) too!.”

Have I “inspired” YOU today with my In The Mood Crustless Gluten Free AYAM Massaman Curry Quiche?

Do you have any questions regarding Gluten Free or can suggest healthy recipes with AYAM’s Gluten Free Range you would like to see?

Of course, I will create my U-N-I-Q-U-E twist. I hope future series of AYAM’s Gluten Free Range recipes will not be missed. πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

Image

13 thoughts on “In The Mood Crustless Gluten Free AYAM Massaman Curry Quiche

  1. […] like with my Crustless Gluten Free AYAM Massaman Curry Quiche, my AYAM Gluten Free Malaysian Laska, Laska, Laska, my AYAM Gluten Free Teriyaki Sweet Chili Veggie […]

  2. […] Courtesy of AYAM Australia, they have (“greatly appreciated“) sent me products toΒ  try and create unusual or unique ways of highlighting their AYAM Gluten Free range. Hopefully, I “initially” put you In The Mood Β  with my Crustless Gluten Free AYAM Massaman Curry Quiche. […]

  3. Claire says:

    I’m so flattered you adapted my recipe! Your version looks great! I love the addition of the purple sweet potatoes. I’ve made gnocchi out of those before. They’re so fun and delicious!

  4. Beautiful photography and mouth watering recipes! You go girl!

  5. Looks Delicious! I’ll have to try it soon, I’ve used the Ayam coconut milk and sauces a lot but didn’t realise they made curry pastes as well.

  6. christine morris says:

    Looks really tasty, Joanne, will have to try out some Ayam sauces too.xx

  7. babso2you says:

    Joanne – This looks amazing! As usual, you go over the top girl on what you do in the kitchen! Hugs – B

Leave a Reply

About me

Joanne T. Ferguson

Passionate Home Cook who tries to inspire one recipe and one event at time!

Follow

Facebook Twitter RSS email Pinterest Google Plus

Β© All text and photos are copyright 2012 - 2013 What's On The List. All rights reserved. Feel free to ask.

