Cinco de Mayo — Pib Pibil with Achiote Rice

3

May 5, 2013 by Joanne T Ferguson

Image

“Happy Cinco de Mayo!”

cinco-de-mayo-stamp-239x300

Literally meaning in Spanish “the fifth of May“, Cinco de Mayo is a celebration of Mexican pride and heritage. While the holiday is mostly celebrated in the United States, it is a national holiday in Mexico marking Mexico’s freedom from France in 1861.

Cinco de Mayo is also known as the anniversary of the Battle of Peubla.

Although fighting continued for another 5 years, the victory at Peubla Mexico became “a symbol” of Mexican resistance to foreign domination. The city as been renamed to Puebla de Zaragoza and the actual battlefield is now a park.

Did you know that sometimes celebrations in the States for Cinco de Mayo can last the entire week with festivals, parties and parades which include dancing, music and food? ๐Ÿ™‚

We already know what my dancing skills are (lol) like in If I Knew Your Were Coming Pound Cake ๐Ÿ˜‰

I DO enjoy dancing like in B is for Brazil (especially the Conga line ;-)) and the Chicken Dance Embarassed).

I DO enjoy “festivals, parties and parades

I DO enjoy music, but today, I think I will celebrate with food! ๐Ÿ™‚

First of all, I hope you enjoy today’s post (also “highlighting” achiote paste, Ancho chilies, Mexican oregano, banana leaves too! ;-)) and look forward to my future Mexican food posts with products “graciously” provided Joel Adams and Morgen Britt’s Chile Mojo here in Adelaide.

Feel free to read my Chile Mojo Yelp Adelaide review; as I always believe in giving people and company’s compliments when a compliment is due ๐Ÿ˜‰
IMG_2696

IMG_2773

IMG_2703

Chile Mojo stocks “difficult to find” authentic Mexican chilies, Tex-Mex foods, THE LARGEST hot sauce selections and “unique” Mexican clothing and gift ware.

IMG_2429

IMG_2434

Thanks to Joel and Morgen, they provided me with their “secret” (well, not so secret now eh?ย ๐Ÿ˜‰ )ย  recipe for Pib Pibil.(Yucatan-style barbeque) Their recipe has been used with their permission too! ๐Ÿ˜‰

I was EXCITED making this recipe as I never previously cooked with achiote paste, Ancho chilies, Mexican oregano or banana leaves. (like in this recipe) Embarassed

I am glad I can share Pib Pibil with Achiote Rice* as part of the Cinco de Mayo celebrations too! ๐Ÿ™‚

Ingredients

1.5 kilos (~52 ounces) sewing pork or chicken cut into 3 cm (~1 inch); (I used pork today ๐Ÿ˜‰ )
juice of 2 bitter oranges; Joel “suggests” can use 1 sweet orange and 1 lemon ๐Ÿ˜‰
2 dried Ancho chilis, seeded rough-chopped
3 cloves garlic, minced
1 tsp mexican oregano
1/2 tsp allspice, ground
1/4 tsp cumin, ground
1 tsp salt
1/4 tsp black pepper

Pib Pibel (or pit barbeque) in the Mayan language “is an ancient method of cooking” Joel has provided the “cocinita” version so I can cook this WONDERFUL recipe at home. I don’t think Chef Georgio (aka hubby) would have appreciated me digging up the back yard to create a pit barbeque! ๐Ÿ˜‰

Place all ingredients, except meat and banana leaves into a blender. Blend until smooth.

Pour mixture over meat in a shallow, non-reactive pan and rub into meat.

Marinate refrigerated for 24 hours, stirring once or twice.

Wrap meat, in desired portion size, in banana leaves. Secure each with cotton string or a long strip of banana leaf.
Gently steam-cook until meat is completely falling apart, about 3 hours. OR, (which is what I did ๐Ÿ˜‰ ) wrap each packet in alfoil and bake for 2 1/2 hours in a 200C (~390F) oven.

Serve with Yellow Rice. (Gave me another chance using achiote paste too! ๐Ÿ™‚ย  )

NOTE
I “initially had difficulty with the Ancho chili blending into a “smooth” consistency, so I blended the sauce, than sieved the very small remaining pieces. I wasn’t sure if the pieces would have contributed to the end “look” of the dish, so made the “executive” decision to sieve! ๐Ÿ™‚

Before marinating the pork overnight (and the marinate DOES smell AWESOME!!), my “instincts” suggested that I would probably want more SAUCE, so I made a second batch.

(Did YOU hear Manu Fiedel’s YELLING, “Where’s the sauce? or was it just me? ) lol

I “might” have to be sent back to Banana Leaf Wrapping Class lol as I have difficulty wrapping the pork in the banana leaf, tying it with string without it bursting the leaf.

NOTE TO SELF:
Try not overfilling the banana leaves next time. Laughing
I filled each with ~150 gram (~5 1/2 ounces)

I also took the liberty of using red chili and lime zest too! ๐Ÿ™‚

Have you ever cooked Pib Pibil before?

No? I hope I can now “inspire” you the do! The taste is AMAZING and you will SO glad with the end result too! ๐Ÿ™‚

Oh, and before I forget, I got an invitation to Joanne’s Foodie Friends Friday Cinco de Mayo Party at Winelady Cooks. I think I’ll bring Pib Pibil with Anchiote Rice and think is has a bit of Olรฉ and is very nice! ๐Ÿ˜‰

I’d love to know if you were invited to a Mexican party as part of Cinco de Mayo, what you you bring?

* Anchioti Rice aka Mexican Yellow Rice
SOURCE: Food.com
http://www.food.com/recipe/mexican-yellow-rice-139985
This is one of my favorite recipes! I used chicken broth and redย  onion too! I hope you might like to try this GREAT recipe, TRUE!

3 thoughts on “Cinco de Mayo — Pib Pibil with Achiote Rice

  1. […] You might remember me mentioning Chile Mojo in my Yelp Adelaide reviewย and or when Joel and Morgen “graciously” provided me with products so I could create Chile Mojo Chocolate Bit of Ole and Cinco de Mayo — Pib Pibil with Anchiote Rice. […]

  2. Ooh thanks for sharing the secret! I wish we had more Cinco de Mayo celebrations here. I guess I’ll just to make my own! ๐Ÿ˜›

Leave a Reply

About me

Joanne T. Ferguson

Passionate Home Cook who tries to inspire one recipe and one event at time!

Follow

Facebook Twitter RSS email Pinterest Google Plus

ยฉ All text and photos are copyright 2012 - 2013 What's On The List. All rights reserved. Feel free to ask.

