The Dutch Festival – Celebrating The Queen’s Birthday Adelaide 2013

19

April 29, 2013 by Joanne T Ferguson

IMG_2616

Koninginnedag or Queen’s Day is Queen Beatrix’s “official” celebration day and is a national holiday in the Netherlands.

My name is Joanne and it has been “suggested” on occasion πŸ˜‰ that I can even “talk under water” too! lol

I DO admit Embarassed when it comes to food, I am “The ULTIMATE Jibber- jabber” (talkative) one who enjoys “listening” too! πŸ™‚ Very Happy

When I first saw The Dutch Festival and being welcomed to the Dutch Club online, I was instantaneously excited and then I thought, what did I know about Dutch foods other than making croquettes? Embarassed

Thank goodness on this occasion for my friend Mr. GoogleΒ  πŸ˜‰ (like his help in Oatmeal Amaranth Seeded Bread Cooked in a What? and in Adelaide’s Hidden Gems: Square Mile Squared Tour.)

Thank goodness Mr. Google is one of my closest Food Friends πŸ˜‰

There were “outside meals” and “inside meals” and I immediately was attracted (by smell and anticipation) by the “snack station”

IMG_2599

Kroketten (Croquettes), Broodje Kroket, Broodje Fricandel, Broodje Ficandel speciaal (Minced Meat Hot Dog), Patat, Oliebollen (Cream Puff), Poffertjes (Dutch pancakes above) and Harin kar awaited me! πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

“Okay, pace yourself Joanne”, I “heard” my voice say! lol

I really enjoyed as I was standing in line “listening” (not eaves dropping πŸ˜‰ lol) to “mature” Dutch people “genuinely” greet each other and it did not matter if they have not seen each other in years or simply the day before; the greeting was all the same.

photo1

I took “keen interest” ((not eaves dropping πŸ˜‰ lol)) in them asking each other what the other was going to order. The consensus was (and they even reached out to me πŸ™‚ ) was “to make sure to order the croquettes” as they reminded them of the ones they used to make! I heard about the “special Dutch sausage” with onions as well as the Oliebollen and I decided to get all three!

I have to admit it was a toss up between the Oliebollen and the Oma’s Poffertjes (Dutch pancakes with icing sugar) but I have tasted Poffertjes before, so Oliebollen won. πŸ˜‰

IMG_2600
Fair Dinkum (Aussie slang for “true”) these are THE BEST croquettes I have EVER tasted worldwide! πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

IMG_2601Broodje Fricandel speciaal (Dutch sausage with onions) andΒ Oliebollen (Dumplings with Raisins and Icing Sugar πŸ˜‰ )

“Are you going to eat all of that?” an anonymous female voice did say? I smiled and said, “Wiith a nickname like FANG (Fair Dinkum), these foods MADE MY DAY! It was only then I mentioned, “I am “saving myself” for dessert”, TRUE! πŸ™‚

My new “Food Friend”Β  πŸ˜‰ “suggested” I better GET IN QUICK (inside) as the Apelltaart (Apple tart), Moorkoppen (Cream puff) and Boterkoek (Dutch Buttercake) sells out each year too!

The Haring kar was another popular dish on the day!
IMG_26041I was too late for the Appeltaart (which only gives me another excuse for visiting next year πŸ˜‰ ), but enjoyed:

IMG_2614Profiterole (Cream Puff)

IMG_2616Boterkoek (Dutch Buttercake)

IMG_2611Dutch cupcake baked with pride πŸ™‚

While “listening” to my anonymous new Dutch female friend relive her childhood memories about her Oma (grandmother) and Opa (grandfather) and her favorite food stories (ie she was in charge at the age of 13 to make the Poffertjes (her Oma’s recipe) at a party; a BIG responsibility!)

She shared her account of her Oma’s special Boterkoek recipe; (and said “every family has their own secret recipe”) she “almost” shared it with me.

I was happy enough to see the smile on her face as she took me to her Dutch heritage “Happy Place” πŸ™‚

IMG_2620

IMG_2596

In addition to the food, Dutch music played outside (which added to the “VERY” crowded atmosphere).

There was 2 Klompen dancing demonstrations during the day, which the crowds LOVED!

IMG_2619

Dutch “band type” music was enjoyed inside the Dutch Club too!

There was also Dutch “related” market stalls, face painting, etc outside to appeal to “kids of all ages”

IMG_2608Β  IMG_2606 IMG_2607 IMG_2624
IMG_2605Β  IMG_2597 IMG_2625

I LOVE Speculaas (Dutch Cinnamon Cookies) and “seemingly” kids of all ages could not get enough of Dubbel Spekken (Dutch Double Marshmallow Candy) πŸ™‚

I “especially” enjoyed “walking and talking” though the crowd taking more Dutch “Happy Snaps” (with permission of course πŸ˜‰ )

I was very “appreciative” to those people (you know who you are) who I asked if I could photograph their clogs, TRUE!

Has anyone else ever done something like that or is it just me too!

I have always loved handcrafted authentic clogs; Princess Svetlana (of Lucky Peeking Pork fame πŸ˜‰ ) and I used to have clogs “when we were little too” They are not the most comfortable of footwear eh?

photo IMG_2623

All in all, I had a VERY enjoyable day. Thank you to all those people as part of the Dutch Club Adelaide that made me feel so welcomed to their Dutch culture. I will look forward to their next series of celebrations and Happy Birthday Queen Beatrix! I hope you too enjoyed your special day!

I just HAVE to ask!!! lol EmbarassedWould YOU think it’s weird if I asked if I could photograph your shoes? Rolling Eyes

Do you have a favorite Dutch food? I would LOVE to hear about it in the comments too!

I hope through this post I can “inspire” you to try Dutch foods and hope you will share what you make with us all too! πŸ˜‰

19 thoughts on “The Dutch Festival – Celebrating The Queen’s Birthday Adelaide 2013

  1. […] It has even been previously suggested that I CAN talk underwater like in The Dutch Festival —Celebrating The Queen’s Birthday Adelaide 2013! […]

  2. Hi Joanne, What a terrific day you had at the festival. The food looks amazing. It’s always a fun time at festivals especially when you get to share some of the traditions.

  3. Foodie in WV says:

    I have been to the Netherlands twice. It’s a great place to visit! I will pretty much eat any food, especially if it’s sweet πŸ™‚ Looks like the festival was a lot of fun!

  4. Joanne says:

    I love festivals and holidays that involve lots of fun food! Such a great post on all of this!

    • Thank Joanne for your lovely words! I enjoy anything food related and was glad to have experienced” the Dutch Festival too! I love festivals and holidays…perhaps it goes with the name Joanne too! πŸ™‚

  5. Aisha says:

    I didn’t know you are dutch! I live in Rotterdam, but still don’t speak enough dutch to comunicate in your language… sorry!
    It was a great day yesterday… I went for sencond-hand things shopping :)))
    I like the boterkoek!

  6. Lois says:

    Sounds like a fun day with yummy food! Saw a bit of the queen and her son on the news! Enjoy!

  7. What a fun day Joanne! I don’t think I’ve ever tried Boterkoek but I’m crazy for speculaas! They’re delicious! πŸ˜€

    • Thanks Lorraine! Was a VERY enjoyable day and something different to share about food festivals in Adelaide!
      I am still trying to obtain a “secret” family Dutch recipe for Boterkoek πŸ™‚

  8. itsanoushka says:

    Hi Joanne, It is fun to watcht those pics. Did you know it is this years last Queensday? Because tomorrow we get a King and his birthday is on 27th of April and from next year it wil be Kingsday.

  9. Thank you Ms Kramer! The pleasure was all mine and look forward to next year experiencing the Apeltaart too! πŸ™‚

  10. Thanks so much for your comments Joanne!, I’m glad you enjoyed the food! I will share your blog with our members. Look forward to seeing you again next time, Regards, Connie Kramer -Secretary, Dutch Social & Welfare Club.

Leave a Reply

About me

Joanne T. Ferguson

Passionate Home Cook who tries to inspire one recipe and one event at time!

Follow

Facebook Twitter RSS email Pinterest Google Plus

Β© All text and photos are copyright 2012 - 2013 What's On The List. All rights reserved. Feel free to ask.

