Not Quite Nigella Book Review – Bread-and-Butter Pudding

12

April 26, 2013 by Joanne T Ferguson

IMG_2518

Courtesy of Penguin Books Australia, I got to experience Lorraine Elliott’s Not Quite Nigella My Path to Happiness Through Baking & Blogging.

I “ABSOLUTELY LOVED” reading Lorraine’s memoir which encourages her readers to “follow your heart”

Not Quite Nigella is the “the most popular food and travel blog in Australia.”

When the book arrived, I could not wait to read! With Lorraine’s “food enthusiasm”, one’s “foodie heart and soul” Not Quite Nigella My Path to Happiness Through Baking & Blogging does feed!

I must admit, I am one of those who likes to read the “Whodunit” at the end of the book, then go back to the start to read the “WHY did they do it too?”

With Lorraine’s book, it was no different as I went right to Part 6 How to Blog, How Not To Blog and The Company of Strangers too!

book-cover-460x656
SOURCE
Penguin Books Australia

I “laughed” about Being Jane, Playing with your food, Freaky Friday and what was revealed in Lorraine’s fortune cookie too! πŸ˜‰

Not Quite Nigella My Path to Happiness Through Baking & Blogging is “more than a celebration of food.”

In the book (and on Lorraine’s blog) I really enjoy meeting Lorraine’s friends Queen Viv and Miss America. (I “thought” Miss America was a “she” too! Embarassed)

Through Lorraine’s word, I feel like am an extended part of her “quite unusual”, quirky, eccentric, traditional family too!

Did you know Lorraine had a “stint in prison” Shocked and this is the same person who celebrated President Obama’s first inaugural with a “unique” tribute to him too!Β Shocked
xl-lorraine-elliott-not-qui-460x458SOURCE
Not Quite Nigella

I guess you will just HAVE to now purchase Not Quite Nigella My Path to Happiness Through Baking & Blogging and find of WHAT Lorraine did with her “stint in prison” and HOW through food, she created her “self expression through pizza” too! lol πŸ˜‰ πŸ˜‰

Thanks to Lorraine’s “support and inspiration” indirectly, I have her to thank for the creation of my own blog called What’s On The List? TRUE!

I have (and continue to be) a BIG fan of Lorraine’s and was “honored and privileged” in nominating Not Quite Nigella for Blog of The Year 2012*13 too! Very HappyVery HappyVery Happy

Through the “challenges”, through the successes and tears, Lorraine shares “the secret” of “winning man’s heart through food”, how to “create a successful blog” and unforgettable dinner parties too!

I LOVE Lorraine’s theme parties and ALWAYS look forward to her Halloween parties too! πŸ˜‰

I chose Lorraine’s Bread-and-Butter Pudding to recreate because it “IS unusual” (like Lorraine; is a compliment ;-)) and also I have never made Bread-and-Pudding” before, TRUE! Embarassed

Thank you (once again!) Lorraine for “inspiring” me! πŸ™‚ πŸ˜‰

Serves 6
INGREDIENTS
125 g butter
2 slices white bread (alas, wholemeal just isn’t that good in this dish, we can add more fibre in other ways)
4 cups whole milk
3 eggs
1 cup sugar (due to my food lifestyle, I substituted Xylitol)
2 tablespoons vanilla extract
1/2 cup shredded coconut
1 cup fruit pieces (fresh or tinned)
40 g (2 tablespoons) unsalted butter , cut into small cubes

METHOD
1. Grease a 33cm x 24 cm baking dish.
2. Butter the bread and cut each slice into 2 triangles. Place in baking dish and pour the milk over. Allow to soak for 1 hour (or less if the bread is not stale).
3. Preheat the oven to 160C. Whisk together the eggs, sugar and vanilla and then stir in the coconut.
4. Drain the fruit if using tinned fruit, and add to the soaked bread. Pour the egg mixture onto the bread carefully. Sprinkle the top with the cubes of butter.
5. Cover the pudding with foil and bake for about 45 minutes. Remove the foil, return the pudding to the oven for another 15 minutes, or until the top is golden and crispy. Allow to cool for at least 30 minutes before cutting.

FOLLOW UP NOTE
I LOVED this Bread-and-Butter Pudding recipe, TRUE! Not JUST because I received Not Quite Nigella My Path to Happiness Through Baking & Blogging courtesy of Penguin Books Australia.

If “the secret” is winning a man’s heart is through food, TRUE! Chef Georgio (aka hubby) LOVED the GREAT combination of peaches and coconut too! πŸ˜‰ πŸ™‚

Not Quite Nigella My Path to Happiness Through Baking & Blogging is conveniently available online at Booktopia, Bookworld and on Amazon in Kindle Edition too! πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

Would LOVE to hear your comments about Not Quite Nigella My Path to Happiness Through Baking & Blogging WHOO HOO!

12 thoughts on “Not Quite Nigella Book Review – Bread-and-Butter Pudding

  1. My Kitchen Stories says:

    I havent yet read my copy of NQN’s book, but I know I will love it, You have written a great review

  2. […] then Maureen, Christie, Joanne, Steph and Sam wrote wonderful posts about the […]

  3. What a wonderful review, Joanne! I’ve just started reading Lorraine’s lovely book (thanks again so much!!) and I’m thoroughly enjoying it so far!

  4. Joanne says:

    I’ve been reading Not Quite Nigella for a while now and will definitely have to check out this book! It’s always interesting to hear the back-story behind some of my favorite bloggers!

  5. Foodie in WV says:

    Sounds like a great book. I love finding out about new food blogs and food bloggers. The pudding sounds delicious!

  6. […] SOURCE:Β http://whatsonthelist.net/2013/04/26/not-quite-nigella-book-review-bread-and-butter-pudding/ […]

  7. Dear Joanne, thank you so much for the lovely review! I’m so pleased that you liked it and thank you for your kind and genuine words! πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

About me

Joanne T. Ferguson

Passionate Home Cook who tries to inspire one recipe and one event at time!

Follow

Facebook Twitter RSS email Pinterest Google Plus

Β© All text and photos are copyright 2012 - 2013 What's On The List. All rights reserved. Feel free to ask.

