Two-up Anzac Slice & Cookie

10

April 25, 2013 by Joanne T Ferguson

IMG_2592

Today, April 25th is ANZAC day in Australia. It is “a nationwide day of remembrance who lost their lives at war; especially the Australian and New Zealand Army Corp of World War 1. There are no remaining ANZAC soldiers left. There are no surviving ANZACS of the men who landed at Galipoli in 1915. Alex Campbell, the last ANZAC died from pneumonia at the age of 103 on the 16th May, 2002.”

When I was “up for the challenge” in making my ANZAC Biscotti, I provided a “continued” history about the ANZACS and ANZAC biscuits.

Today, other than paying tribute to the ANZACS with my Two-Up Anzac Slice & Cookie, (as “inspired” by Anzac Biscuits at the chic brûlée) I wanted to share The Australian National Game of Two-up which is ONLY played on Anzac Day.

While the origins of the game date back to the 18th century where English and Irish gambled in a “pitch and toss” game, Two-up was extensively played by the soldiers of World War 1.

Gambling games such as Two-up became a part of the Anzac Day celebrations for returned soldiers.

Did you know that Australia’s National Game (which is solely played on Anzac Day — with very few exceptions) is illegal? TRUE! ShockedShockedShocked

Under the New South Wales Gambling (Two-up) Act of 1998, Two-up is legal on Anzac Day “WHEN it is played” in Returned Service’s Leagues (RSL) clubs and hotels.
IMG_2590

“How is it played?” I “hear you say? 😉

There is the RINGER, the BOXER, the SPINNER and the COCKATOO! So far, I hope I have not lost YOU! 😉 lol

The RINGER is the person in charge.

The BOXER looks after the bets.

The SPINNER spins the coins.

The COCKATOO keeps “lookout” for “THE LAW” lol, TRUE!

The piece of wood (in the photo above) is called the KIP. The pennies are placed on the KIP for spinning.

Imagine there are a number of people “inside and outside” of a circle.

I must admit, the first time I saw the game played, I was “intrigued” too!

As a PROUD Australian, I enjoy today not only sharing the history of the ANZACS, the ANZAC biscuit and now my Two-up Anzac Slice & Cookie, TRUE! 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂

Are YOU getting hungry now too? 😉

photo

Let the Games begin with MATES and COBBERS. 😉 (Australian slang used as a term to address males deriving from “cob” meaning to take a liking to someone)

The RINGER calls the SPINNER (by YELLING “Come in Spinner”) who places a bet with the BOXER.  (Stay with me here ;-))

The SPINNER then walks into the middle of the circle and tosses the coins from the KIP in an upward motion; spinning the coins in the air to fall within the circle.

If the coins land with two heads up, it is called HEADS. If the coins land with two heads down, it is called TAILED THEM. When one of each is showing, it is called ODDS.

“The game” is for the SPINNER to obtain as many HEADS as possible.

I don’t know about you, but I could CERTAINLY go for an Anzac Slice & Cookie now too! 😉

Ingredients
1 cup old-fashioned rolled oats
3/4 cups unsweetened shredded coconut
3/4 all-purpose flour
1 cup Xylitol (original recipe calls for sugar ;-))
Grated zest of 1 orange
3/4 cups activated nuts, chopped (I used combination of walnuts, Brazilian nuts, pistachios and almonds)
8 tablespoons butter
1 tablespoon golden syrup
3 tablespoon boiling water
1 1/2 tablespoons baking soda
oil spray

In large bowl, add flour, xylitol, oats, nuts, coconut and orange zest together; combine well.

In a saucepan on low heat, melt golden syrup and butter; remove from heat.

Add butter mixture to dry mixture.

Preheat oven to 180C. (350F)

On a prepared baking tray, drop mixture by teaspoons or tablespoons (your choice 😉 )

NOTE
You can use any type of nuts you have on hand. I placed mine in the grinder, whizzed a couple of times so that some of the nuts were “ground”; some still looked chopped. 😉

Hint and Tip
You either drop the mixture by ‘teaspoons or tablespoons“; sometimes I roll the mixture into a ball; then press “gently” down to make them into an oval shape.

Sometimes I use a fork to hold the mixture down with one hand and with the back of a fork, press down to create an oval. (personal preference)

I have made small cookies and larger cookies. I find the smaller cookies bake more consistently. 😉

Hands ups who is “inspired” to make Two-Up Anzac Slice & Cookie?

I hope you enjoyed today’s post which shares a bit of my country’s history. 🙂

If you could have a Slice & Cookie “as a tribute” to you, what would it be and does it reflect your food personality? 🙂 🙂 🙂

10 thoughts on “Two-up Anzac Slice & Cookie

  1. Foodie in WV says:

    These look great, I love anything with coconut 🙂

  2. Stacy says:

    I have some very close friends who are Australian and one bakes ANZAC biscuits every year. When her children were still in school, she would bring them in for the class and explain the tradition, but this is the first time I’ve heard of Two-Up. How funny that the government made it legal on this one day and only for veterans. I guess they figured it would be too hard to enforce on that day, if it were still illegal. Thanks for the short lesson! Like you, I love learning new things.

  3. Amelia says:

    Hi Joanne, thanks for sharing the Anzac history. First time I see this two up game, look interesting. 🙂

    But your cookies look absolutely tempting and delicious. Great to go with coffee.
    Have a wonderful week ahead.

  4. Joanne says:

    I’ve actually never had an anzac but it does sound like a fun way to commemorate such a sad thing!

  5. You know until this post, I never considered the fact that I’ve never played two up! 😛 These look wonderful Joanne!

Leave a Reply

About me

Joanne T. Ferguson

Passionate Home Cook who tries to inspire one recipe and one event at time!

Follow

Facebook Twitter RSS email Pinterest Google Plus

© All text and photos are copyright 2012 - 2013 What's On The List. All rights reserved. Feel free to ask.

