Afternoon Tea Cookbook Review – Neenish Tarts

7

April 23, 2013 by Joanne T Ferguson

IMG_2519

Did you know that the average person who lives til the age of 70 spends 6 YEARS of their life eating? ShockedShockedShocked

That’s A LOT of years, especially if one is “plagued” with digestive issues!

Courtesy of Suzanne Perazzini, from Strands Of My Life, I got to “experience” her wonderful new Afternoon Tea e-book which opened my eyes to the fact that Grain-free, Gluten-free, Dairy-free, Nut-free and Refined sugar-free can also be tasty! 🙂

531885_416749268420865_1196962089_nSOURCE
Strands Of My Life

Suzanne asks, “Do you have food intolerances but still crave something delicious for afternoon tea?”

I liked Suzanne listing main ingredients from her recipes that we “may” not have in our pantries and also hints and tips on how to use.

Suzanne’s photos are what drew me in and when invited to make one of her recipes, I have to admit, it was very difficult to choose!

I made this recipe because I have very fond childhood memories of Neenish Tarts! I also used ingredients that I have not baked with before, so was “up to the challenge” too!

As Suzanne highlights “in any cookbook there are base recipes that you will see repeated throughout” the book; Caramel, Chocolate ganache, Lemon Curd and Sweet Pastry to name a few.

PhotosSOURCE
Strands Of My Life

With Suzanne’s “easy to follow” instructions, my Neenish Tart’s sweet pastry was delicious, baked “beautifully” and when filled with a luscious creamy custard and topped with chocolate ganache, WHO at Afternoon Tea could want for any more?

Ingredients
For the pastry
4 tbsp coconut oil
2 tbsp honey
4 large eggs
3/4 cup coconut flour
3 tbsp tapioca
1/8 tsp salt

For the custard
400ml /13.5 oz full cream coconut milk
4 egg yolks
1 tsp vanilla extract
pinch of turmeric
2 tsp gelatin

For the topping
1 chocolate ganache recipe (recipe provided in Afternoon Tea e-book 😉 )

Instructions
For the pie crust
Preheat oven to 350F or 180C.
Press the pastry out into 6 x 7.5/19: diameter tart dishes to form pastry shells.
Bake 10 minutes then cool completely.

For the custard
In a double boiler, heat the coconut milk, reserving a few spoonfuls for dissolving the gelatine.
When it is hot, but not boiling, add the vanilla, turmeric and honey and stir until dissolved. Remove from the heat.
Beat the egg yolks in a bowl.
Tbsp at a time, add the hot coconut milk to the eggs, all the while whisking.
When it has all been added, pour back into the double boiler and heat gently on the stove, continuing to whisk until it thickens. This take a long time, so be patient.
Add the gelatine to the reserved coconut milk and heat gently to dissolve it.
When the custard is ready, add the gelatine mixture which will finish the thickening when it is refrigerated.
Cool down almost completely before pouring into the pastry shells.
Place in the refrigerator to set.

For the topping
when the custard is set, spread the ganache over half of each tart.
Place back into the refrigerator.

NOTE
Recipe is used with the permission of Suzanne Perazzini. Before republishing on a blog, contact Suzanne.

Afternoon Tea contains 50 recipes (90% of them not on Suzanne’s Blog Strands Of My Life) and Suzanne allows a “peek” inside her cookbook, but I am not going to give too much away! 😉

I would recommend purchasing Afternoon Tea is what I can say! 😉

Suzanne is currently offering (subject to change) her Afternoon Tea e-book as part of “a “bundle” of 30 healthy living e-books for the next week.”

Should you wish to read another lovely review of Suzanne’s Afternoon Tea, I refer you to Spicie Foodie aka Nancy.

7 thoughts on “Afternoon Tea Cookbook Review – Neenish Tarts

  1. […] from What’s on the List made the neenish tarts and said: “I got to “experience” her wonderful new Afternoon Tea […]

  2. Suzanne says:

    Thanks so much, Joanne, for highlighting my book. Your neenish tarts look lovely.

  3. steve lister says:

    I’m sure i’ve spent longer than that eating already… lol

    Date: Tue, 23 Apr 2013 02:09:58 +0000 To: steve2007lister@hotmail.co.uk

  4. Hehe you know I wonder if I would spend more than six years eating. I suspect I might! 😛 These look delicious Joanne! 😀

Leave a Reply

About me

Joanne T. Ferguson

Passionate Home Cook who tries to inspire one recipe and one event at time!

Follow

Facebook Twitter RSS email Pinterest Google Plus

© All text and photos are copyright 2012 - 2013 What's On The List. All rights reserved. Feel free to ask.

