Oatmeal Amaranth Seeded Bread Cooked in a What?

27

April 18, 2013 by Joanne T Ferguson

IMG_2413

By now, you know I enjoy a “challenge” with foods and am on the never-ending quest to discover things I’ve never tried before or knew. πŸ˜‰

When Princess Kimberley and I were talking about making a seasoned chook (Australian slang for chickenΒ ;-)) in the Crock-pot with rolled up al foil a while ago, I must “confess”, I did laugh! lol LaughingBut THEN, I “realised” she was serious! Embarassed

Princess Kimberley did have me curious and “of coursethe very next day I just had to try it! It worked GREAT!!! πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

1) I would NEVER have thought to “cook a chook” that actually browned in a Crock-Pot and 2) The chook was so “moist and delicious”, TRUE! It is PERFECT to make when it is too hot to put on the oven or when you want to make something that ‘seemed like you fussed” but it cooked itself too! lol

Recently, I had been thinking of trying to bake a bread in the Crock-Pot, but dismissed it.

As WHO would EVER bake a bread in the Crock-Pot? lol πŸ˜‰

When I mentioned (what “seemed at the time as silly” to Princess Sarasota, she then said, “I do that ALL the time too!ShockedShocked

I then turned to my “food finder friend” Mr. Google ;-), and found HEAPS of recipes for Crock-Pot breads!

I “wondered” WHAT food rock I had been hiding underneath for all of these years! Ha!
IMG_2421

I was not on a “popularity search” for Crock-Pot bread recipes. πŸ˜‰ I thought I would search until one of the recipes “spoke to me” saying, “MAKE ME!! MAKE ME!!”

I REALLY do have this THING about talking to foods and foods talking to me!Β πŸ˜‰

I guess I could share one of my nicknames over the years is Dr. Doolittle, TRUE! I think it originates from not only talking to my food, but creating animals sounds like in Roaring Dragon Mini Pear Muffins, much to my mother’s exasperating “rolling” eyes too! lol

As my search continues, ZESTY Oatmeal Bread found me in How to Bake Bread in your Crock Pot (and recipe for Zesty Oatmeal Bread) on Carolina Sauce Company Inc.

I LOVE Oatmeal and Zesty means “LIVELY WITH ENTHUSIASM” and THAT describes ME!

You might not know another nickname of mine is SPUNKY! lol πŸ˜‰

Opened up the pantry, WHAT did I see? Rolled Oats and Amaranth Flour that I purchased recently! It “must” have been an omen! (As I have never used Amaranth Flour! YOU? )

Here is my “slightly” adapted recipe for Oatmeal Amaranth Seeded Bread Cooked in a What?

Hint and Tip
Crock-Pot bread does not brown or develop a crust, but once it is cooked in the Crock-Pot, if you place it under the griller/broiler, it will brown nicely and have a great crust too! πŸ˜‰

I SO hope with my Oatmeal Amaranth Seeded Bread Cooked in a What?, I can “inspire” people to experience too!

Ingredients
2 cups bread flour (plus additional flour to knead dough on surface)
3/4 cups oat flour ( I loved the suggestion in the original recipe to “grind 1 cup of old- fashioned oatmeal into a course flour” in a food processor!)
1/4 cup Amaranth flour*
2 teaspoons rapid rise yeast
1/2 tablespoon sugar
1 teaspoon Himalayan salt
1 cup full cream milk
1/2 cup water
parchment paper

Topping
2 teaspoons sunflower seeds, finely ground
2 teaspoons pepitas, (green kernels from pumpkin seeds) finely ground
2 teaspoons walnuts, finely ground

In a grinder, finely grind sunflower seeds, pepitas and walnuts; set aside.

NOTE
The topping is only limited by your imagination; like to use what I have on-hand. WHAT a pantry I have! It is always “well stocked” with QUITE a variety of ingredients! πŸ˜‰

In a large bowl, combine all dry ingredients, except the topping.

In a pan, combine milk and water; heat until 120F. (~50C)

Make a well in the dry ingredients. Pour hot ingredients into the dry ingredients; combine WELL with a wooden spoon.

Turn dough onto “well floured surface“, knead dough until (per the original recipe “until the dough is elastic/pliable and no longer tacky.”) I translated that into about 10 minutes of kneading and when the dough was “almost” as soft as a baby’s bottom too! πŸ˜‰

I hope this tip will help, so please let me know if it does WHEN you make Oatmeal Amaranth Seeded Bread Cooked in a What? πŸ˜‰

Shape dough into a ball; place on a piece of parchment paper; sprinkle with topping ingredients making sure to “gently” press the topping into the dough too!Β πŸ˜‰ ; lower into Crock-Pot.

Hint and Tip
I trimmed the excess parchment paper and also made sure the parchment paper inside the Crock-Pot was not touching the bread. πŸ˜‰

Turn Crock-Pot to HIGH. Do not PEEK!! (like in making Strawberry Jam in Holy Moley Baked Mini Donuts with No Peek Sugarless Strawberry Jam )

Cook for a MINIMUM of 45 minutes! Open lid and check. If it “feels like bread”, it is done.

Hint and Tip
Use your finger to poke. It WILL tell you IF it is done. It WILL probably take additional cooking time. Mine too an additional 15 minutes. IF it needs longer, check ONLY at 15 minute intervals after the initial 45 minutes! πŸ™‚

When bread is done, remove from Crock-Pot; place on a flat tray; place on the middle rack of the griller/broiler until desired color.

NOTE
Mine took about 15 minutes and not to self: A watched oven never cooks quicker! πŸ™‚

Remove from oven; place on a wire rack; cool completely before storing!

FOLLOW UP NOTE
You will NOT be able to wait! The “smell” of the bread is GREAT!

As SOON as it was out of the oven, topped with butter, TRUE!

Had a BEAUTIFUL hard crust, soft on the inside and Sous Chef GeorgioΒ from Make No Bones About It! — The Daring Kitchen Cooks April 2013 Challenge gave it “two thumbs up” too! πŸ˜‰

“The GREATEST ability in one’s life is the ability to laugh at one’s self!” I CERTAINLY keep myself entertained, TRUE! πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

NOW that YOU know Oatmeal Amaranth Seeded Bread Cooked in a What? A CROCK-POT!!!! We can ALL laugh together too! πŸ˜‰

HOW happy would I be? If in this laughter, someone is “inspired” by ME!

Hands up, WHO would like to now try?

I “think” I have provided the reason WHY! πŸ˜‰

IMG_2428

FOLLOW UP
I was “once again” invited to Winelady Cooks Foodie Friends Friday Party; this week the theme is the Crock Pot and I think my Oatmeal Amaranth Seeded Bread would be FUN to share at the party too! πŸ˜‰

* Amaranth
SOURCE

Livestrong.com
http://www.livestrong.com/article/269955-what-is-amaranth-flour/

27 thoughts on “Oatmeal Amaranth Seeded Bread Cooked in a What?

  1. Bevin says:

    I will have to try this! Would be nice to have with some soup!

  2. Your recipe is featured on Daily Dish Magazine today as a Host Favorite. Come on over! http://www.foodiefriendsfridaydailydish.com/recipes-that-caught-our-attention-13/

  3. […] goodness on this occasion for my friend Mr. GoogleΒ  (like his help in Oatmeal Amaranth Seeded Bread Cooked in a What? and in Adelaide’s Hidden Gems: Square Mile Squared […]

  4. marbaird says:

    Genius to try a bread in the slow cooker. Yours looks great. thanks for sharing on Foodie friends Friday.

  5. Foodie in WV says:

    I love my crock pot and use it approximately once a week. Your bread looks delicious, I love that you made bread in the crock-pot, so smart πŸ™‚

  6. HI Joanne, Thanks so much for sharing this with Foodie Friends Friday. I have to be honest I never used a crock pot, though my younger daughter and son-in-law use is at least once a week. I love making home-made bread and I just might have to borrow her crock-pot (or maybe I should buy my own) and try your recipe. It looks and sounds delicious.

    • Thanks Joanne! Chef Georgio (aka hubby) really loves his bread and this got the two thumbs up! If you can’t find Amaranth flour, just use 2 cups bread flour and 1 cup oats flour! Good Luck and let me know how you go too!

  7. I have always wanted to make bread in the crock pot… Thanks for sharing this recipe on Foodie Friends Friday. Remember to come back and vote on Sunday and I hope you will join us again next week.
    Marlys co-host of Foodie Friends Friday

  8. joyfromyesterfood says:

    I have read about baking things in crockpots (breads, cakes) but haven’t tried it. You have inspired me to attempt it- thanks! The recipe ingredients sound fantastic- Amaranth flour, pepitas…yum!

    Love, Joy
    Yesterfood.blogspot.com

  9. Wow I had no idea either the chicken or bread was possible in a crock pot! I’ve wanted one for a while and now your post is really making me go run and get one. The bread looks perfect, thanks for sharing!

    P.S. Thanks for stopping by my blog, it’s nice to “meet” you.:)

  10. babso2you says:

    I will have to try a bread in the crock pot! I do baby back ribs in the crock and they do brown, so I will also have to try roasting a chicken in it too! Hugs and the bread looks lovely! I love the choice for toppings! b

    • Thanks Barbara!! I LOVE baby backs and all you need to do with the chook is season (in and out) place in the crock pot and roll up balls of al foil so they fit the chook snugly in your Crock-pot…enjoy! If you have any questions, email me! πŸ™‚

  11. Wow, bread in a crock pot? I never knew! Can you do cake in a crock pot I wonder? πŸ™‚

    • Thanks Lorraine! GREAT minds think alike…won’t finish the end of the sentence….as cake is next “on my list” re the Crock-pot to try too! πŸ™‚ Will let you know how it comes out too! πŸ™‚

  12. Joanne says:

    I gave my crockpot away when I became a vegetarian and now I’m definitely regretting it! I Had no idea you could cook such a great loaf in it!

    • Thanks Joanne! There are MANY wonderful vegetarian recipes that can be created in the Crock-pot too! Perhaps place it back on your wish list! ironically, I gave away a bread machine years ago too! lol

      • Thanks Joanne Chef Georgio (aka hubby) really loves his bread and this got the two thumbs up! If you can’t find Amaranth flour, just use 2 cups bread flour and 1 cup oats flour! Good Luck and let me know how you go! πŸ™‚

  13. Gloria C-L says:

    Thank you so very much for trying my recipe for bread baked in a crock pot, and your variation sounds delightfully delicious! I cannot wait to give your version a try. Thanks again for visiting my blog, and I’m likewise looking forward to exploring more of your recipes.
    Zestfully yours,
    Gloria of Carolina Sauce Company

Leave a Reply

About me

Joanne T. Ferguson

Passionate Home Cook who tries to inspire one recipe and one event at time!

Follow

Facebook Twitter RSS email Pinterest Google Plus

Β© All text and photos are copyright 2012 - 2013 What's On The List. All rights reserved. Feel free to ask.

