Make No Bones About It! — The Daring Kitchen Cooks April 2013 Challenge

35

April 14, 2013 by Joanne T Ferguson

IMG_2121

“Make No Bones About It!” The Daring Kitchen Cooks April 2013 Challenge GREATLY “challenged” me! A final dish the first time around, we “almost” did not see!

As you know by now, I am always up for a challenge when it comes to food like in Mini Mandarin Meringue Moments Cupcakes πŸ˜‰

I “THOUGHT” making three batches of meringue had “challenged” me. THAT was NOTHING in comparison to deboning my little chicken and at one point, I thought if I keep this up, my little chook (Australian for chicken) will want to debone me!


As part of The Daring Kitchen Cooks April 2013 Challenge, Lisa from Parsley Sage and Sweet (who did a wonderful hosting job πŸ˜‰ ), set the challenge to “create a Chicken Ballotine also known as a Ballotine of Chicken also known as a Poule en Saucisse.Shocked

And then followed with, “It’s a challenge by video.” ShockedShockedShocked

I “innocently” thought, ALL I had to do is watch the video, do what Chef Pepin does and “She’ll be right.” (Another popular Aussie expression too! lol)

I watched it the first time and don’t know if it was from “FEAR” or “SHOCK” lol, I could not remember anything Chef Pepin did do! Nor the second time, nor the third! I must like doing things in threes like in “ASSEMBLE, ASSEMBLE, ASSEMBLE” in Nidi di Rondine – Proscuitto and Basil Swallows Nests πŸ˜‰

I THEN decided I would seek the help of my resident Sous Chef Georgio (aka hubby πŸ˜‰ )
We set up the Ipad and viewed Chef Pepin’s video a couple of times with me STILL saying, “Can you please stop Chef Pepin, I missed that AGAIN!” lol

Seriously, if you had a bird’s eye view in the kitchen that day, it would have “sounded” like one of my favorite Abbott and Costello sketches “Who’s On First?” lol ;-);-)

Abbott and Costello can always make me laugh.

I hope you enjoy the humor and can “envisage” (form a mental image of) me asking Chef Georgio, “What do I cut first? “WHO?” “Me.” “What about you?” “I want to know WHO I need to listen to to see WHAT I should do!” lol lol

On the day, I had “youth” on my side and was “VERY DETERMINED” to do! lol lol lol

PERSONAL NOTE
Chef Pepin’s video was VERY easy to follow, I could just NOT get my head around WHAT to do and kept spinning the chook around and was even making myself “dizzy” (or dizzier too lol) πŸ˜‰

Ingredients — Chicken Ballotine
One small chicken
1 sheet nori (seaweed)
1/2 box of frozen spinach, thawed (like to use what I have in the fridge and freezer) πŸ˜‰
3/4 cup feta, crumbled
8 sun dried tomatoes, finely diced
2 cloves of garlic, minced
1 tablespoon olive oil
salt and pepper to taste

Ingredients — White Wine Reduction Sauce
1 cup homemade chicken stock (store bought will do too! ;-))
1/4 cup white wine (I enjoy using Sav Blanc in cooking)
1/4 cup freshly squeezed lemons
1 tablespoon all-purpose flour (adding 2 – 3 teaspoons of water to create a slurry)
1 tablespoon butter
1 tablespoon olive oil
oil spray

Pre-heat oven to 180C. (350F)

Wash chicken, pat dry, clean insides. (removing the giblets)

Follow Chef Jacques Pepin’s video.

NOTE
Per Chef Pepin, he “states” it should not take any longer than one minute to debone a chicken!


There’s A LOT of laughter going on via my fun food kitchen adventures today! πŸ˜‰

I CAN say the Chicken Ballotine DID take a minute to do, TRUE!

I timed it myself and it was actually took almost 50 of those minutes to get to this TA DA MOMENT too!

I DO hope YOU are now laughing with me too! πŸ˜‰

In small oil sprayed fry pan, saute spinach until cooked to desired doneness; set aside.

“ASSEMBLE, ASSEMBLE, ASSEMBLE!” πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚
Place 1 sheet of nori over the deboned chicken.

NOTE
May” need to “slightly” trim! πŸ˜‰

Layer cooked spinach, sun dried tomatoes, and feta cheese; roll tightly.

NOTE
By this time, I am “almost” beyond prepping “delirium” and have rolled meats before with butcher string. I “simply” could not make a neat looking string AND not have any of the filling leak out where I had to “improvise” with the amounts (or lack of skin) I had.

I did leave “some” string left on the butcher’s string ball! lol lol πŸ˜‰

I was VERY proud of myself in not “piercing” the skin, so at least I am STILL smiling at this point! I DO smile A LOT! πŸ˜‰

In a small oil sprayed fry pan, “lightly” brown chicken on all sides.

Place rolled up chicken (more like “choked” lol) in a rack placed inside a roasting tray.

NOTE
I had some leftover homemade chicken stock, so I used that in the roasting pan underneath the metal rack. You can use water too! πŸ˜‰ I find it keeps the chicken “moist” when baking too! πŸ˜‰

Bake for 20 minutes or until chicken is done. (Until thermometer reads 160F. (~71C)

While chicken is baking, prepare sauce.

In a small bowl, combine flour and water; combine with butter; set aside.

In a fry pan, add olive oil, chicken stock, lemon juice and wine; simmer until liquids reduce. (about 10 – 12 minutes)

Whisk flour mixture into the pan, until desired thickness; adjust flour mixture to personal taste; simmer 2 minutes.

IMG_2117

WHEW! I made it! πŸ˜‰

You have to love Dr. Suess! lol

Would love to hear your feedback and comments on this post, TRUE!

What ingredients would YOU use if you were to Make No Bones About It! and experience a Cooks Challenge of YOUR own too! πŸ™‚

35 thoughts on “Make No Bones About It! — The Daring Kitchen Cooks April 2013 Challenge

  1. […] Georgio (of Make No Bones About It fame) sampled some and said, “Good cooking luv!” (an Aussie term of […]

  2. […] Georgio (of Make No Bones About It fame lol) and I have traveled extensively within Australia and […]

  3. […] with Princess What? (From Argentinean Tango Delight fame; we both LOVE food!), Chef Georgio (from Make No Bones About It! ) and Princess What’s partner Prince Giancarlo at Hello Dolly a WONDERFUL Lebanese restaurant […]

  4. […] – Square Mile Squared Tour) and their partners, the Sultan of Dubai as well as Chef Georgio (of Make No Bones about It!) and […]

  5. […] My Make No Bones About It experience was “quite animated“! […]

  6. […] can FEEL him smiling down from the heavens, ESPECIALLY today at Chef Georgio aka hubbyΒ (Make No Bones About It fame) and […]

  7. […] I am a romantic at heart, Chef Georgio aka hubby of Make No Bones About It fame lol LOVED his Valentine’s cactus heart pressie; Australian lingo for […]

  8. […] Georgio (of Make No Bones About It fame ) and I proceeded to “peer” into the oven; half out of curiosity would the batter […]

  9. […] Georgio (aka hubby) from Make No Bones About It! and Princess WHAT?!! from Adelaide’s Hidden Gems Squared Mile Squaure Tour […]

  10. babso2you says:

    You had me laughing! I think this is another one to try if I can wrap my head around deboning! Hugs-B

  11. Joanne says:

    Awesome job deboning the chicken! I’ve never done it before but it does NOT sound like an easy feat!

    • Thanks Joanne! I am sure like any other skill (once practiced), it will become easier over time! I have a renewed appreciation for what my local butcher CAN do! But was fun to try! πŸ™‚

  12. peachyvous La says:

    Good old Jacq makes everything look so easy … being a Chef, he would tho’

    ________________________________

  13. I was smiling reading through your entire post. I had the same experience with the “chook” but the end result is definetly worth it and your ballotine looks perfect! I love your choice of stuffing too.

  14. Fantastic job Joanne!! Deboning is a great skill to have and your ballotine looks splendid! πŸ˜€

  15. Monkey Queen says:

    Your bird looks wonderful! Great color and I agree that your stuffing even looks beautiful. The only way that I could get my de-boning under 2 minutes was to speed up the video I took by x8. Great job!

  16. makeycakey says:

    Great effort – it looks really perfect! And if it’s any consolation, it took me a full hour to do the deboning, and I ended up covering my laptop in clingfilm, as I kept having to rewind so many times!

    • Thanks makeycake for your kind and lovely words! Yes, it DOES make me feel better that we can now laugh about how many minutes it too us to complete the challenge…but complete it we did too!
      WISH I knew about the clingfilm…as Chef Georgio may not be happy with chicken skin on his iPad too! lol

  17. Lisa says:

    hahahaha I just love you “ol” comment!
    A friend of mines is a professional cook and sais to me ” mmmm, more or less 4 minutes”. I spent more or less 30 minutes. I laughted a lot as well …. hahah
    I don’t know how you managed to do it but the pattern of your stuffing is great !!

    • G’day Lisa and thank you! Laughter is always the best medicine I say too!
      Thank you re the pattern. I used a sheet of nori (seaweed) and think when it was rolled up and “choked” lol, the nori head the ingredients together. I initially was concerned there was not enough stuffing mixture.

  18. Debbie says:

    I’m laughing so hard it is not funny at the thought of you and your hubby in the kitchen.
    I also love Who’s on first one of the best skits ever.

  19. Love the name of your blog, as I’m a list maker too! Nice job on the chicken!

  20. Audax says:

    I luv all the Aussie slang and your ballotine looks so delicious well done on this challenging challenge. Cheers from Audax in Sydney Australia

    • G’day and thank you Audax…over the years the Strine has naturally adapted itself in my speech and in my writing! lol (Am a VERY PROUD Aussie…South Aussie too!)
      Congrats on your birds…they look AWESOME too!

  21. Lisa says:

    I am definitely laughing…your post is hysterical! I’m glad your ‘chook’ let you take charge of it..even if it took fifty ( Eeet should not take you more than a minute) minutes LOL! Your slices of ballotine looks perfect, Mickey! I’m thrilled you decided to tackle the ‘chook’ (I really like calling it that!). Beautifully done..and thanks so much for joining in!!

    • Thank you Lisa for your kind and lovely words! I was “challenged” but KNEW despite how long it took, I was going to “conquer” deboning and stuffing my chook!
      Glad I could share the experience which now makes us ALL laugh too!
      GREAT hosting job! πŸ™‚

      • Renata says:

        I didn’t time my deboning but definitely not a minute lol but worth every single minute spent! I’m so happy that you joined us after all, it was fun to read your post and learn some aussie slangs. Your Ballotine looks amazing!

      • Thank you Renata and thank you for welcoming me to the fun and for your kind words too!! πŸ™‚
        It is an experience I will never forget, TRUE!!

Leave a Reply

About me

Joanne T. Ferguson

Passionate Home Cook who tries to inspire one recipe and one event at time!

Follow

Facebook Twitter RSS email Pinterest Google Plus

Β© All text and photos are copyright 2012 - 2013 What's On The List. All rights reserved. Feel free to ask.

