Raw Foods Workshop with Tansy

7

April 8, 2013 by Joanne T Ferguson

IMG_2035

When I mentioned to several people my “interest” in attending a Raw Foods Workshop, THE most asked question was, “You are going to incorporate WHAT into your diet?” ShockedShockedShocked

When it comes to food or different food lifestyles, (just like in “real” life), I always view things with an open mind. I must admit, I was “curious” (to say the least) and “wondered” how someone can live on raw foods alone and more importantly, could RAW foods “really” taste good? ShockedShockedShocked

From the moment I walked in the door, I was met with a very “warm and welcoming” Tansy, A Wellness Coach at Health Align and Passionate Raw Foodie.

What I really “appreciated” about attending this Raw Foods Workshop was not only learning about the benefits of raw foods, but to simply enjoy delicious raw foods that ANYONE (yes ANYONE) can “introduce” into one’s food lifestyle. When one make a “conscious” change, even a slight change to improve one’s lifestyle, the benefits speak for themselves.

Based on my research, a person who lives until the age of 70 will have spent almost 7 years eating!!! ShockedShockedShockedShockedShockedShockedShocked

But HOW does Raw Foods TASTE?

I can “still” hear you through the computer like in my Injera featured – Ethiopian Feast 😉

Tansy started us off with Chia Pudding made from sprouted almonds, ginger, honey, nutmeg, cinnamon and some other stuff! 😉 Did I mention you get to “takeaway” the recipes? (Pun intended 😉 )

Seriously, this was UBER YUM! 😉 Close your eyes, ‘forget” it contains “super healthy” chia seeds and the almonds are sprouted and you will experiencing a cinnamon porridge on a cold winter’s day! This was great “as is” but would be “even better” warmed with fruit. Fruits are RAW foods too! 😉

Interestingly, I learned through Tansy that almonds are difficult to digest because of an enzyme prohibiting substance in their brown coating. Soaking the almonds removes the toxic inhibitors and allows the body to do its job so that digestion will be easier.

Interestingly enough, I had saved How to Sprout Almonds from Flavours…the vegan way in my What’s On The List folder too! 😉

IMG_2024

People also presented me with the argument that “raw foods would take SO much more time” and if they didn’t have time to cook now, HOW could they “possibly” make time to incorporate raw foods into their food lifestyle!

Tansy’s next recipe “more than proves” HOW simple, easy and healthy raw food recipes can be!

Ingredients for Indian Wild Rice
2 tablespoons olive oil
2 tablespoons lemon juice
1 teaspoon cumin
1 teaspoon cinnamon
3 tablespoons sunflower seeds
3 tablespoons fresh chopped parsley
1/2 teaspoon Himalayan salt
1 teaspoon turmeric
1 teaspoon fennel seeds
3 tablespoons currents or sultanas
1 head of cauliflower
Coriander to serve

Grate or process the cauliflower until achieve crumble consistency. Combine with the other ingredients.
                                   “EVERYBODY IN THE POOL”!!!

(like in Manchurian Meatballs with Unfried Rice 😉 )

This HONESTLY (and WISH you could taste this through the screen ;-)) was GREAT!! This Indian Wild Rice could replace rice as a side dish for a healthier option.

NOTE
I was NOT a big fan of cauliflower before as to me it does not taste like anything. After tasting this dish, I cannot WAIT to make at home, TRUE!

I HOPE I can “inspire” other people to make this dish too! 🙂 🙂 🙂

HOW long did this Raw Food recipe take? mmmmmmmmm

Process, dump, combine. 😉  On the day, this was a favorite of mine! 😉 😉

IMG_2032

IMG_2025                                        Zucchini Spaghetti with Pasta Sauce
Was VERY yum! The dehydrated olives were a bonus too! 😉 This would make a great sauce for a Raw Foods Pizza!

WISH you could taste it so you could agree with me too! 😉 I guess this time you will have trust my tastebuds and me! 😉

IMG_2027IMG_2029

Just when you were starting to THINK, “Can I have my raw foods AND desserts too?”
(I mentioned I can “still” hear you through the computer, TRUE! lol)

The above Dark Chocolate Truffles coated in Coconut and a combination of Milk Chocolate and Dark Chocolate are “out of this world” too! There was A LOT of mmmmmmmm’s and ahhhhhhhhhhh’s with people TOTALLY enjoying themselves with this decadent treat!

Whatever foods you currently enjoy, there is still a way to “incorporate” more raw foods into our food lifestyles too. Where there’s a will, there’s a way and learning about Raw Foods, their benefits AND in sampling (and having the recipes! 😉 ) really MADE MY DAY!

Tansy offers a range of workshops, events and catering. A wide variety of “super healthy” foods are available for purchase too.IMG_2030

                                               FOLLOW UP
I think we all can use a reminder every “now and then” to try and improve our food lifestyles. Food has been proven to be linked to not only current health but future health and diseases too!

My name is Joanne and I am a meat-eating, “enjoyer” of South Australian red wines and local produce, too! Attending this Raw Foods Workshop with Tansy WAS the reminder I did need! It is important not only when we think but on that in which we feed!

The biggest thing this Raw Foods Workshop did was made me more “aware” that Raw Foods CAN taste good, and regardless of one’s cooking experience level, ANYONE (and I mean ANYONE) can “easily” make and with planning, “economically” too! Did I mention you DO feel healthier when eating healthy (and TASTY!) foods, TRUE! 🙂

“WHAT DID YOU MAKE?” I “hear” you say? 🙂

It’s my Raw Foods Recipe secret for today! 🙂

WHEN you come back next post, you can decide for yourself if you are “inspired” to add more raw foods into your lifestyle….okay? 🙂

7 thoughts on “Raw Foods Workshop with Tansy

  1. […] couple of months ago, I attended a Raw Foods Workshop partly out of curiosity and partly to see if adding more raw foods into my lifestyle would be for […]

  2. christine morris says:

    Very nice Joanne, will give it a go.xx

  3. Kim says:

    Very interesting. I do love zucchini spaghetti. What a great healthy and creative meal.

  4. I buy a lot of zucchini to make the spaghetti because it’s so delicious and low carb too! The rice sounds really interesting too! 🙂

Leave a Reply

About me

Joanne T. Ferguson

Passionate Home Cook who tries to inspire one recipe and one event at time!

Follow

Facebook Twitter RSS email Pinterest Google Plus

© All text and photos are copyright 2012 - 2013 What's On The List. All rights reserved. Feel free to ask.

