Apple Crumble Pie Cookies -The Daring Kitchen: Baker’s March 2013 Challenge

28

March 27, 2013 by Joanne T Ferguson

Image

First of all, I LOVED this challenge, TRUE! I searched “high” and “low” for something “just that little bit different” like me too! πŸ™‚

The challenge this month (with my worldwide blogger friends) from The Daring Kitchen, was HIDDEN VEGGIES! ShockedShockedShocked

As I DO consider myself “adventurous” in the kitchen (as well as in life), finding a recipe did prove to be a “challenge” for me. It probably had to do with the fact, that although I don’t consider myself a baker lol, I had previously made recipes with carrot and zucchini dessert combinations, chocolate and beetroot dessert combinations, chocolate and avocado desserts and even snuck eggplant into desserts too! πŸ˜‰

It was then I went back to my American born and bred heritage, (and seeing it is VERY hot here at the moment), I thought of all of the childhood summer memories and apple crumble pie with cookie ice cream, peach crumble pie with cookie ice cream, cherry pie with….well, you get the hint! I am “salivating” for some now! πŸ™‚

Seeing it is WAY too hot contemplating making ice cream, I thought I would go for PLAN B….no, not pie, but cookies!! And apple pie cookies it became! πŸ™‚ THEN, I thought, “I LOVE CRUMBLE!” So Apple Crumble Pie Cookies it became, but HOW to sneak in a veggie? Would it be grated zucchini? (The color would give it away! ;-))Would it be grated carrot or sweet potato? YUM! But don’t think “children of all ages” would be fooled with the orange colour lol!

POTATO” I YELLED out while in the kitchen! VoilΓ ! I now had my hidden veggie recipe! πŸ˜‰

HOW E-X-C-I-T-E-D was I? When Apple Pie Cookie with Crumble on My Crowded Kitchen I did Spy πŸ™‚

For my “adaptedApple Crumble Pie Cookies aka Apple Potato Crumble Pie Cookies….shhhhh will be our secret, TRUE!Β  I finely diced “hid” the potato into the recipe!

Next time, I think zucchini (in addition) could be GRATE too! (Pun intended πŸ˜‰ lol)

Ingredients for the Apple Potato SautΓ©
1 medium granny smith apple, peeled, cored, finely diced
1 medium potato, peeled, finely diced
1 1/2 tablespoons (.75 ounces) butter
1 teaspoon mixed spice (cinnamon, nutmeg, allspice)

In a sauce pan, melt butter then add apples, potatoes and allspice; stir over medium heat for approximately 10 minutes or tender; set aside.

Ingredients for Crumble
1/2 cup all-purpose flour, sifted
1/4 cup Xylitol (feel free to substitute sugar too! πŸ˜‰ )
4 tablespoons (2 ounces) butter, room temperature

Pre heat oven to 180C. (350F)

Combine all Crumble ingredients with a fork or pastry blender.

NOTE
I found the fork a lot easier and less cleaning up in the process to do! πŸ˜‰

Spread crumbs out on a flat baking tray; tossing twice through baking time.

NOTE
Original recipe stated “bake for 10 minutes”; I don’t know if it was the difference in using Xyltiol, but required an additional 7 minutes to obtain the desired golden brown crumble color. πŸ˜‰

Hint and Tip
Using the back of your spatula (“egg flipper” ;-)), break up crumbs into crumble.
I liked a smaller crumbed crumble! πŸ˜‰ Please don’t ask me to say that three times fast too! πŸ˜‰

Ingredients for “The Cookie” (with a “hidden vegetable too…shhhhhh remember it is OUR secret now too ;-))

2 cups Xylitol with 2 teaspoons cinnamon

1/2 cup (4 ounces) butter, room temperature

1/2 cup organic coconut butter, solid state

2 cups all-purpose flour, sifted

2 cups old fashion oats

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

1/2 teaspoon salt (I used pink Himalayan)

1 teaspoon mixed spice (cinnamon, nutmeg, allspice)

2 eggs

1/8 teaspoon pure organic vanilla powder

In a stand up mixer, combine butter, coconut butter, xylitol, spices and vanilla powder; beat until “light and fluffy”

In a separate large bowl, combine flour, oats, baking soda and salt; mix together well.

S-L-O-W-L-Y stir in dry ingredients to creamy mixture until combined; Stir in “cooled” apple and potato (shhhhh is our hidden veggie secret…remember? πŸ˜‰ )

On a flat baking tray, will out cookie dough into 1 1/2 inch balls making “sure” they are placed 2 inches apart.

Bake for 6 minutes; remove.

Place 1 1/2 teaspoon of curmble on top of cookie; return to oven and bake until lightly golden brown.

NOTE
The original recipe “suggested” an additional 6 minutes. I made “multiple” batches; one batch was done in 4 additional minutes; one batch in five additional minutes.

I don’t know if the difference in baking time had to do with the substitution of Xylitol. πŸ˜‰

Remove cookies from the oven and let site for 2 – 5 minues before transferring to a cooling rack.

NOTE

Initially, the cookies “appeared” to be “of a soft” (like me lol) nature, but once cooled, the “taste” reminded me exactly of my childhood apple pie crumble that I COULD close my eyes AND see! πŸ™‚

Do YOU have a favorite pie or cookie too? I would LOVE hearing about it in the comments on this posting too!

My challenge is complete! :)

The process of “search and explore“, “creating, adapting” and the
E-X-C-I-T-E-M-E-N-T that I had in making Apple Crumble Pie Cookies for The Daring Kitchen: Baker’s March 2013 Challenge CANNOT be beat! πŸ™‚

UPDATE
This week I was “welcomed” the the Foodie Friends Friday Cookie Party at Wine Lady Cooks

And again this week too! I LOVE these Apple Crumble Pie cookies and they are always received really well too! πŸ™‚

I thought these Apple Crumble Pie Cookies would be FUN to bring! πŸ™‚

UPDATE
I guess the word is out that I love a fun-filled food party, true!
Thanks to Dawn at Spatulas On Parade, I got to share my Apple Crumble Pie Cookies with new food friends at the Fill The Jar Facebook group party today too!

28 thoughts on “Apple Crumble Pie Cookies -The Daring Kitchen: Baker’s March 2013 Challenge

  1. Michelle says:

    These look delicious. I love apple pie, crumble, etc., so I know these have to be wonderful.

  2. marbaird says:

    Joanne: Wow those look so good. What a great little cookie idea. Thanks for sharing on FFF

  3. G’day Joanne, Thanks for joining us again this week on Foodie Friends Friday. This is a great recipe I know everyone will enjoy.

    Hope to see you again next week!

  4. […] SOURCE:Β http://whatsonthelist.net/2013/03/27/apple-crumble-pie-cookies-the-daring-kitchen-bakers-march-2013-… […]

  5. Hi Joanne, Thanks for sharing this recipe with Foodie Friends Friday.

    I love your post, so funny. The recipe sounds delicious, but I have a question about the coconut butter. Here I can find coconut oil which is a solid and looks like it’s a butter. However when heated it becomes a liquid. Would this be what your recipe calls for coconut butter?

    I too use sugar substitutes in my baking. I use coconut sugar (which is a dark sugar and is an excellent substitute in a richer chocolate recipe. I also use agave nectar in almost all my recipes as the sugar substitute.

    Hope to see you again next week.
    Joanne

    • G’day Joanne and thanks! I too was initially confused with coconut oil and coconut butter too! When I asked around “most” people suggested a could substitute one for the other.

      I saw this information about why it cannot be substituted in all recipes and thought it was informative to share too!
      http://chocolatecoveredkatie.com/2012/06/30/coconut-butter-and-coconut-oil/

      Re the coconut sugar and agave nectar; both are not on my food lifestyle list as both are high in sugar which for me defeats the purpose of using Xylitol (a sugarless sugar; not sugar substitutes which all have sugar in them in the form of dextrose, maltodextrin etc.)
      Hope this helps! If you have difficulty locating the coconut butter, I would be more than happy to help too! Cheers! Joanne

  6. Kim says:

    Pass why this way please … FED EX!!! lol

  7. […] Misir Wat (Red Lentils with Berbere) NOTE This Berbere I thought came out GREAT! […]

  8. Genn says:

    What a wonderful idea!!! I’d love to try these out!

  9. You had me at apple crumble!
    I loved this challenge too, thinking outside the box is part of the fun

  10. Aisha says:

    They look very good πŸ™‚

  11. marilyne_k says:

    Great looking cookies! I’d definetly try these, even knowing there’s potatoes in them πŸ˜‰

  12. Great job on the challenge, cookies looks so beautiful. I also used potatoes in my recipe.

  13. […] SOURCE:Β http://whatsonthelist.net/2013/03/27/apple-crumble-pie-cookies-the-daring-kitchen-bakers-march-2013-… […]

  14. Cakelaw says:

    These look delish!

  15. Thank you, Joanne, for the shout out! You totally made my day. Gave a shout out to you on Twitter and our FB page.Looking forward getting to know you. The cookies look awesome and I love that you snuck potatoes in. xoxox

  16. I didn’t have time to do this challenge but it sounded like a fun one! πŸ˜€ And P.S. I love crumble too πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

About me

Joanne T. Ferguson

Passionate Home Cook who tries to inspire one recipe and one event at time!

Follow

Facebook Twitter RSS email Pinterest Google Plus

Β© All text and photos are copyright 2012 - 2013 What's On The List. All rights reserved. Feel free to ask.

