Pear Jam and Brie Puff Pastry Bites On A Stick

12

March 25, 2013 by Joanne T Ferguson

Image

HOW E-X-C-I-T-I-N-G would it be, if could have a National Holiday (or even day lol) named after ME!Β :) πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

I am not talking about something “egotistical” πŸ˜‰ , but if a National Day was named after me, it would “surely” include random acts of kindness, enjoyment of fun foods and “remembering” the fun we all had in the sandbox when we were three! πŸ˜‰ (Perhaps THAT was ME!)

Now I play in a bigger sandbox, but I still know how to enjoy life, have fun and have a PASSION for food!

Did you know (in additional to his many other pressing jobs and responsibilities lol) the President of the United States has the power and authority to declare a commemorative event or day by proclamation. (making an “announcement” of great importance…like National Mickeydownunder (one of my food nicknames) Day! πŸ˜‰

I am “FASCINATED” about Food Holidays by month, by year and on any given day, it is “simply” another National Food Holiday!

While there are MANY comprehensive lists and stories about National Food Holidays, I particularly enjoyed this listing at The Nibble on March month and day National Holidays.

Even though today is “officially” Lobster Newburg Day (which I loveΒ πŸ˜‰ ) or is still “officially” Chocolate Covered Raisins Day (which I love πŸ˜‰ ) in the States today πŸ™‚ , I “thought” I would get in early on Happy Something on a Stick Day for March 28th! πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

Being American born and bred (New York), now an Aussie who calls Australia home, I find people worldwide share the same trait. We are ALL curious about each others’ country’s, customs, cultures, foods and tend to believe what we see on TV. (re TV…sad, but true! Embarassed)

MANY people have asked me, “WHY do Americans enjoy (food) something on a stick?”

The first time I was asked, I found it “whimsical“, but then I thought, “I LOVE foods on a stick and have ALWAYS loved foods on a stick!” LaughingLaughingLaughing

I then went into Forrest Gump mode like in Life is Like a Bowl of Candy πŸ˜‰

Corn dogs, Corn pups, Cake Pops, Fruit Stickles too!
Double Bacon Corn Dog, Chocolate Covered Tiramisu on a stick, TRUE!
Carmellows, Hot Bologna, Cajun Chicken “I’d be pickin” lol
Cornbrats, Rock Candy, Rainbow Popsicles “I’d be lickin” lol

At last year’s Iowa State Fair, MILLIONS of people (called “stick attendees” lol) had a list of 50 foods “on a stick” to choose from! If you happen to be in the neighborhood, this year’s fair is from the 8th of August until the 18th of August; known as National Zucchini Day, National Frozen Custard Day through to National Soft Ice Cream Day to me and YOU! πŸ˜‰

You “read” by now HOW distracted I get when it comes to food! πŸ˜‰ lol

Here is my “created from scratch” version of Pear Jam and Brie Puff Pastry Bites On A Stick!

IMG_1936

Pati’s Hojaldre (Puff Pastry) from Pati’s Mexican Table has been on the list for quite some time too! I wanted to make sure to find “the perfect” filling or recipe that it would compliment best too!

I have made Puff Pastry from scratch before, but may I say this is “THE BEST” puff pastry I have “ever” made, TRUE! The fact the recipe contains NO SUGAR is a bonus, making it A LOT healthier too!

It was “light” and “flaky” as can be! I “sensed” SOME people would have asked, “What’s inside?”, so I included a photo for you to enjoy and see! πŸ˜‰

NOTE
Pati’s recipe was easy to follow, easy to do! I HIGHLY recommend you try making your own Hojaldre too! πŸ˜‰

PASTRY DONE! πŸ™‚

When I opened my What’s On The List folder, WHAT did I see?

Sonia’s Dumplings of Dough on Today Bread and Salami, Tomorrow… (has an English translation option) with reference to Bite Sized Bake Brie from Joy The Bakerstaring” back at me!

I decided to “introduce” both recipes to each other, then provide my own twist! πŸ˜‰

I used a similar “technique” in making jam like in Holy Moley Baked Mini Donuts with No Peek Sugarless Strawberry Jam (except this time I used pears) πŸ˜‰

Ingredients for SUGARLESS Pear Jam
1 pint (2 cups) pears, small diced
2 cups Xylitol (feel free to substitute sugar πŸ˜‰ )
2 tablespoons lemon juice

Peel and small dice pears.
Combine xylitol, lemon juice and pears (well) in a saucepan on stove top; simmer on low for about 15 minutes until juice comes out.
Simmer an additional 10- 15 minutes until reduced. (Making sure the jam does not stick to the pan) The longer the jam simmers, the thicker it becomes! πŸ™‚
Place teaspoon of jam on a plate; place in freezer for 2 minutes. Jam is one when is spreadable, not super thick.

NOTE
Unlike the strawberries which was a “NO PEEK” recipe, when covered, the pear mixture only wanted to “bubble itself over with love”; so I left it uncovered and to just simply be! πŸ˜‰

Hint and Tip
I used a stick blender to whisk the jam smoother; leaving small chunks of fruit; feel free to make smooth; personal preference.

Taste the jam after it has been simmering; adjust lemon juice to personal taste. πŸ™‚

After I was happy with the jam, I placed it in the freezer to cool down before “introducing” it to the brie (about 1/2 hour uncovered with a plate underneath)

JAM DONE! πŸ™‚

Ingredients for Filling
Brie, sliced thickly (amount depends on how many you want to make; I used a local South Australian brand)

What is my “secret” ingredient today (as per Sonia’s recipe above?)
Cyprus Black Lava Salt

I was able to find some “quickly, conveniently and with ease” via GewΓΌrzhaus online.
Should you wish to read more about my online experience and products purchased:
http://bit.ly/YzOJmE

PERSONAL NOTE
The Cyprus Black Lava really “enhances” the recipe too! πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

Additional Ingredients
1 egg
splash of milk
lava salt (or salt of choice)

WHISK egg and milk together; set aside

Amount of lava salt depends on amount making and personal taste.

“ASSEMBLY, ASSEMBLE, ASSEMBLE!” πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

Cut the Hojaldre into three along the creases; set aside two.

Hint and Tip
Make sure there is enough flour on your counter top/surface and on your rolling pin, so the dough does not stick.

Roll pastry to desired thickness. (would suggest thinΒ πŸ˜‰ ); cut into 2 1/4 inches (~6 centimeters) tall and 3 inches (~7.6 centimeters) wide.

NOTE
After rolling, I placed on a flat baking tray lined with baking paper and sprinkled the rectangles with flour so it would not dry up. Assembling will be quick.

With a pastry brush, brush one side of the rectangle.

Place sliced brie and 1/2 a teaspoon to a teaspoon of pear jam.

NOTE
You do not want to overfill the Pear Jam and Brie Puff Pastry Bites. πŸ˜‰

With a pastry brush, brush separate rectangle on one side and place on top of the brie and jam mixture; brush top of rectangle with egg wash too.

Hint and Tip
With my fingers, I “gently” matched up both triangles. You do not have to be “that” gentle, but you do not want to “rip” the dough. S-O-F-T-L-Y “massage” the dough around the brie and jam, pressing down to seal out any air.

Trust me, WHEN you make this, you WILL know what I mean! πŸ˜‰

With the back of a fork, make sure to “seal the edges well” by crimping; prick the top lightly with a fork. (Oops, I forgot to do Embarassed, so don’t you forget now, will you lol)

Sprinkle with Black lava salt.

Preheat to 180C (350F); bake 12 to 14 minutes or until lightly golden brown.

Remove from oven; wait a couple of minutes before serving and ENJOY!

WHEW! We made it!!! πŸ˜‰ πŸ™‚

FOLLOW UP NOTE
Despite all the steps listed with Notes, Hints and Tips too, Pear Jam and Brie Puff Pastry Bites On A Stick is NOT difficult and IS fun to do! πŸ˜‰

I was very glad to have placed it “on the list” and am now proud it is “off the list” TRUE!

Do YOU like foods on a stick like me?

If YOU could be a food on a stick, what would YOU be?

Would anyone like to submit to the President of the United States that a National Mickeydownunder Day would be a fun-filled proclamation (important announcement) that worldwide we hold our breaths as one day a National Holiday “might” be? Disney Mickey Mouse LOL Emoticon Emoticons Animated Animation Animations gif photo lolmickey.gif

12 thoughts on “Pear Jam and Brie Puff Pastry Bites On A Stick

  1. […] you remember Pesto Apricot Brie En Croute and Sugarless Pear Jam and Brie Pastry Bites On A Stick […]

  2. […] last I made Pear Jam and Brie Puff Pastry Bites, I remember I commented: I have made Puff Pastry from scratch before, but may I say this is β€œTHE […]

  3. […] SOURCE:Β http://whatsonthelist.net/2013/03/25/sugarless-pear-jam-and-brie-puff-pastry-bites/ […]

  4. Hi Joanne thanks to you too, you’re very kind.
    I am very happy that my “little secret ingredient” Cyprus Black Lava Salt, you liked it πŸ™‚
    A big hug

  5. Hehe I know that you love food holidays! Have you ever thought of putting out a calender?! Now that would be fun!

    • lol lol lol Thanks Lorraine! I might have to put THAT idea “on the list” as I reckon would be a FUN filled adventure too! πŸ™‚ Might have to serious consider “to do” πŸ™‚

  6. […] SOURCE:Β http://whatsonthelist.net/2013/03/25/sugarless-pear-jam-and-brie-puff-pastry-bites/ […]

Leave a Reply

About me

Joanne T. Ferguson

Passionate Home Cook who tries to inspire one recipe and one event at time!

Follow

Facebook Twitter RSS email Pinterest Google Plus

Β© All text and photos are copyright 2012 - 2013 What's On The List. All rights reserved. Feel free to ask.

