Kumato Choc Cherry Tomato Bread

9

March 20, 2013 by Joanne T Ferguson

Image

You say Tomato, I say Kumato! I couldn’t resist! ๐Ÿ˜‰

Hands up who has seen these tomatoes at their local store but, um, didn’t quite know what to do with them other than to purchase them “like” tomatoes and use them sliced in a salad? Rolling EyesEmbarassedVery Happy

Image
When I was little, Princess Svetlana (of Lucky “Peeking” Peking Pork fame lol) and I used to ask A LOT of questions about everything; “especially” about food! ๐Ÿ˜‰

WHO grew this? WHAT is it? WHERE did it come from? MOST importantly, “WHEN will we eat?” lol And HOW will we cook with it? Shocked

I “KNOW” I am going to be aging myself, (and maybe Princess Svetlana too; I’m the older twin; am sure THAT will make her happy to read too! lol) but
I S-Q-U-E-A-L-E-D with delight “the year” Santa Claus (called Father Christmas in Australia) granted my wish and delivered a 1964 (the year I was born ๐Ÿ˜‰ ) Hasbro Easy Bake Oven!

Perhaps I was “meant” to be a baker after all? lol

When I saw The Evolution of the Easy Bake Oven on The Society Page, it took meย  back to my childhood that was “FULL of FUN“, food adventures and carefree!

Did it make a difference if I “burnt” my cake? Never… as my dad used to say he “liked” it that way! TRUE! My dad “liked” anything I made and would always make me feel VERY special too! ๐Ÿ™‚ But that’s what dad’s do with their youngest and only daughters eh? Ah, if only I could bake a cake for my dad in heaven now too! JUST writing that, I KNOW he is smiling down from the heavens and is VERY proud of me too! ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚

Did I mention my dad used to grow his own “BEAUTIFUL” tomatoes? I think I may when reviewing the Tomato Festival 2013 Adelaide Botanic Gardens; “…my dad used to grow the most beautiful, juiciest, “best looking and tasting” tomatoes EVER, TRUE!”

“My dad had a green thumb, but that was not one of the family traits that was passed onto me! ๐Ÿ™‚ “

SEE how I digress when it comes to food? Tomatoes! YES!ย Kumato Choc Cherry Tomato Bread today! ๐Ÿ˜‰

Exclusive to Moraitis the Kumatoยฎ variety originated from the shores of the Mediterranean. From golden green to dark brown, the Kumato varies in color. And contrary to popular belief, not only are they great is salads, sauces and soups, but thought you would enjoy my “adaptedKumato Choc Cherry Tomato Bread recipe today too! ๐Ÿ˜‰

I was “inspired” by Green Tomato Bread as posted on Food.com (where I am known as mickeydownunder; an active member too! ๐Ÿ˜‰

My name is Joanne and I have never cooked with the kumato before (other than to add them to salads) and was “introduced” to the Choc Cherry varieties while participating in the Tomato Taste Test at the Tomato Festival 2013 Adelaide Botanic Gardens ๐Ÿ˜‰

Image

Ingredients

3 cups self rising flour, sifted
2 large eggs, beaten
2 cups Xylitol (original recipe calls for sugar ๐Ÿ˜‰ )
2 tablespoons butter
1/4 cup all-purpose flour
1 tablespoon cinnamon
1 teaspoons baking soda
1 teaspoon salt (I used Himalayan pink salt ๐Ÿ˜‰ )
1 cup vegetable oil
1/4 teaspoon pure organic vanilla powder
1 cup Kumatoes, chopped finely, drained
1 cup Choc Cherry Tomatoes, chopped finely, drained
1 1/2 cups chopped mixes nuts (personal preference ๐Ÿ˜‰ )

In a bowl, combine flour, baking soda, salt, xylitol, cinnamon.

In a separate bowl, combine eggs, oil and vanilla powder; whisk well.

Add wet ingredients to dry ingredients until “just moistened

NOTE

Don’t panic at this point if the mixture does not resemble a cake batter. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Prepare two 8 1/2 by 4 1/2 loaf tins; butter then flour; making sure you have coated the pans well; dusting off flour (the way Grandma used to do!)ย  ๐Ÿ˜‰

Pre-heat oven 180C. (350F)

Bake for 40 minutes or until brown and toothpick comes out clean too!

NOTE

Original recipe suggests baking for 1 hour. My first loaf was done in 40 minutes; the second one in 45 minutes.

I do not know whether by substituting the xylitol, it had anything to do with the difference in baking time and yes, I have checked my oven temperatures recently too! ๐Ÿ˜‰

Remove from oven; cool in pans on wire rack for 10 minutes; remove; completely cool on wire rack.

FOLLOW UP NOTE

These loaves came out GREAT! A bread that is a “tad” different, JUST like me! I hope I can “inspire” you all to now make this Kumato Choc Cherry Tomato Bread recipe!

Coming up with a U-N-I-Q-U-E recipe re “The Kumato” has been “on my list” to do and in my What’s On The List folder for some time now! I was happy today as I had a chance to showcase what else people can do with kumatoes. WHOO HOO!

Where to buy The Kumato I “hear” you say? ๐Ÿ˜‰ (Click on the link for more information ๐Ÿ˜‰ )

For some other GREAT recipes (http://www.kumato.com/en/recipes.aspx). I hope my Kumato Choc Cherry Tomato Bread will “brighten” someone else’s day!

Please let me know what you think!

Did you know nutritionally “This variety is low in acid, contains high levels of vitamin C and lycopene. Lycopene is an antioxidant that helps in the prevention of cancer and cardiovascular disease.” * TRUE!

What recipe could YOU now “suggest” using The Kumato too? Very HappyVery Happy

This week, I was ‘welcomed” to the Foodie Friends Friday Party at Winelady Cooks.
I thought what best to bring to the party than an “unusual, healthy and very tastyKumato Choc Cherry Tomato Bread. I hope they all will enjoy it and hope I can “inspire” someone at the party to make this too! ๐Ÿ˜‰

SOURCE
MORAITIS
http://www.moraitis.com.au/our-produce/kumato-tomatoes.html

9 thoughts on “Kumato Choc Cherry Tomato Bread

  1. […] SOURCE:ย http://whatsonthelist.net/2013/03/20/kumato-choc-cherry-tomato-bread/ […]

  2. […] SOURCE:ย http://whatsonthelist.net/2013/03/20/kumato-choc-cherry-tomato-bread/ […]

  3. Ericka says:

    I have seen these tomatoes at my store but like you said, wasn’t really sure what they were! Now I have something to make with them! Thanks for sharing on Foodie Friends Friday!

    • Thanks Erika! There are many wonderful recipes to use kumatoes in and perhaps next time you pass them at your store, you might consider adding them to your grocery cart to try too! ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. […] SOURCE:ย http://whatsonthelist.net/2013/03/20/kumato-choc-cherry-tomato-bread/ […]

  5. G’day Joanne, I love your post. I think I’ve seen Kumato’s here in our markets, but I don’t remember what they were labeled. I have to say, LOL, that I had to re-read the recipe because I was looking for the chocolate ingredient, still LOLing.

    Thank you so much for adding the Foodie Friends Friday link. I FB messaged you back to go to my page and click on the ‘blue’ tab at the end of all the photos. That is where you should add your recipe link and the photo. It’s easy to do.

    I’ve shared the recipe on FB, twitter, and google + and will add to pinterest. I look forward to hearing from you soon. Next week’s theme is Kid Friendly, but you can add any recipe you would like.

    Below is the direct link to my blog and if you can visit by Saturday night it will take you directly to the party.

    Joanne/Winelady Cooks

    • Thanks Joanne for all your help and in inviting me! I have updated the Party with my photo now shared for all to see!

      Look forward to next week’s Kid Friendly Party too! I have JUST the recipe to bring that will appeal to “children of all ages” too! ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. I don’t we ever got Easy bake ovens here in Australia but I remember always wanting one! ๐Ÿ˜€

Leave a Reply

About me

Joanne T. Ferguson

Passionate Home Cook who tries to inspire one recipe and one event at time!

Follow

Facebook Twitter RSS email Pinterest Google Plus

ยฉ All text and photos are copyright 2012 - 2013 What's On The List. All rights reserved. Feel free to ask.

