Manchurian Meatballs With Unfried Rice

7

March 9, 2013 by Joanne T Ferguson

Image

I HAVE A FRIEND IN MANCHURIA!! I have been known to YELL! πŸ˜‰

NO YOU DON’T”, my mother would YELL back to me in Spinning Globe Persian Pomegranate and Pistachio Meatballs πŸ˜‰

And so, our game went on for HOURS! πŸ˜‰

“Where IS Manchuria”? “And what kind of foods do they serve”? My dad was VERY encouraging πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ Β to my fun, travel and food antics MUCH to my mother’s “rolling eyes” lol

I would stop the globe, close my eyes, point and YELL, “Here it is!” I found Manchuria! πŸ™‚ Followed by, “Oh, and I have a friend who lives there too” πŸ˜‰ My father would laugh and my mother, well she was STILL rolling her eyes, TRUE! lol

Manchuria is located in northeastern China; (known to the Chinese as Dongbei which means “the Northeast”; hence Dongbei cuisine). Due to the harsh winters and short growing season, Manchurian food (also called Manchu cuisine) replies heavily on preserving foods, ie suan cai (pickled cabbage), flour, peas, corn, and wide uses of soy sauce. Stews (deer meat, crispy fried beef) and Chinese vegetables, steamed buns, sachima also calledΒ Shaqima (a traditional Manchu sweet) are also “traditional” dishes.

The Manchus (also known as red tasseled Manchus) are the native people of Manchuria.

Another difference between Manchurian cuisine and other Chinese cuisines is in their use of raw vegetables.

When I first saw Vegetable Manchurian on Paaka Shaale, I “knew” this recipe HAD to go “on the list” as a tribute to Manchuria and my Manchurian friend I found on the globe so long ago! πŸ˜‰

Hope my “very slightly adapted” recipe will “inspire” people to not only make this simple, wonderfully tasting dish, but to “seek out and explore” Manchurian cuisine! πŸ™‚

Hint and Tip
A food processor saves heaps of time!Β  πŸ˜‰

I would “suggest” making your Unfried Rice before frying off the Manchurian Meatballs. πŸ˜‰

Ingredients
1 cup cabbage, finely grated
1/2 cup grated carrot
2 tablespoons spring onions, sliced
1/4 medium yellow capsicum (pepper), finely diced
1/4 medium green capsicum (pepper), finely diced
1/4 medium red capsicum (pepper), finely diced
1 red chilli, finely diced
2 tablespoons Chinese cornflour
2 tablespoons all-purpose flour
Oil for deep frying (I used about 1/2 cup)
plus 1 teaspoon for sauce

Combine all ingredients in a bowl except oil; form into balls.

Heat a fry pan, then add oil. Fry balls until done all over.

Hint and Tip
The oil is ready when you place a wooden spoon in it and it bubbles around the spoon. πŸ˜‰

These balls fry quickly, so keep turning them; for me, it was every ten seconds. Hope this helps too! πŸ˜‰

NOTE
Original recipe “suggests” if the mixture is difficult to shape into balls, add 1 – 2 teaspoons of water to bind the mixture. I found the mixture to be perfect. What I did was SQUEEZED mixture together, then “softly” rolled it into a ball. πŸ˜‰

Hint and Tip
If your vegetable balls are not “perfectly” round, don’t worry as this recipe is TRULY wonderful! No one will know they are not perfectly round! Trust me! πŸ™‚

For the Sauce
5 garlic cloves, minced
1 inch fresh ginger, minced
1 tablespoon tamari
2 tablespoons corn flour dissolved in 6 tablespoons water
pinch of salt
1/4 teaspoon Xylitol
1 cup vegetable stock
Hint and Tip
I used tamari to cut down on salt; feel free to use soy sauce πŸ˜‰

NOTE
Original recipe calls for 1 tablespoon corn flour in 3 tablespoons water. I like my sauce to by a little thicker than it initially came out. πŸ˜‰

Heat pan, add oil. Fry garlic, ginger, until aromatic.

Add stock, tamari and xylitol; bring to boiling; boil for 1 – 2 minutes.

Reduce heat, add in dissolved corn flour and water mixture.

Right before ready to serve, add in vegetable balls and let simmer for a couple of minutes; serve immediately and ENJOY! πŸ™‚

Image
Before they are cooked πŸ™‚

Ingredients for my “adapted” Unfried Rice
SOURCE
Food.com

Hands up who LOVES fried rice at a Chinese restaurant but perhaps might like to save on the calories here? πŸ˜‰

Who says you can’t have your Unfried Rice and enjoy it too! πŸ˜‰

Image

I have made this recipe many times and adapt the recipe each time for personal taste and what I have on hand. Feel free to add tamari or leave it “undressed” naturally too! lol

2 cups vegetable stock

2 cups basmati rice

1/2 cup ham, finely diced

1 cup frozen peas

2 garlic cloves, minced

1/2 inch ginger, minced

1/2 cup spring onions, finely sliced

1/4 yellow capsicum (pepper) finely diced

1/4 green capsicum (pepper) finely diced

1/8 carrot, finely shredded

1/8 teaspoon white pepper

1/4 cup tamri (optional)

2 eggs scrambled (optional)

In a steamer, combine stock and rice; cook until done.

YELL, “EVERYBODY IN THE POOL!” πŸ˜‰ Ah, it’s all a bit about food fun like in Mini Mandarin Meringue Moments CupcakesπŸ˜‰

For all those who choose not to yell lol, I would “suggest” placing all other ingredients in a large bowl. πŸ˜‰

Place cooked rice directly on top of the ingredients and let site about about 2 – 3 minutes; stir well; serve immediately

Hint and Tip
If using a vegetable stock cube, make sure it is dissolved in the water before putting the rice in to cook too! πŸ˜‰

Do you find NOTES and Hints and Tips along the way helpful?

FOLLOW UP NOTE

I WISH you all could be in my kitchen today with me! The smells are divine and the recipe plus the sauce is a definite keeper and would HIGHLY recommend to YOU!

Now that Manchurian Meatballs With Unfried Rice was “on the list”, now “off the list”, will you be inspired to now make too?

Feel free to share your comments on the blog post too! πŸ˜‰

SOURCE
Sachima photo
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sachima

7 thoughts on “Manchurian Meatballs With Unfried Rice

  1. […] in Manchurian Meatballs with Unfried Rice […]

  2. duonyte says:

    These look very good, Mickey – very enticing.

  3. I definitely love hints and tips along the way! They can make a recipe really a pleasure to make! πŸ™‚

  4. Never tried a Manchurian recipe before,so I need to put this on the list to try…what do I do about a Manchurian friend,don’t have any :))

    • Thanks Adina! Strangers (and different cuisines) are just friends (and ingredients) we have not met before! πŸ™‚
      Please let me know how you enjoy this when you make it too! I am glad we ALL can inspire each other in various ways too! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

About me

Joanne T. Ferguson

Passionate Home Cook who tries to inspire one recipe and one event at time!

Follow

Facebook Twitter RSS email Pinterest Google Plus

Β© All text and photos are copyright 2012 - 2013 What's On The List. All rights reserved. Feel free to ask.

