Braised Tofu with Fermented Beans and Vegetables

8

March 8, 2013 by Joanne T Ferguson

Image

Little did I know when I had my wonderful first experience at making Ebony and Ivory Sesame Toasted Tofu with Phrik Nam Pla, (inspired by Detox: Sesame-Crusted Tofu with Nuoc Cham on Alexandra’s Kitchen) I had put “on the list” one day to make another tofu dish; one that had the “look and feel” of a dish that would be served in a Chinese Restaurant.

When I saw the words “SIMPLE” and “TOFU” in the same recipe description on 3 HUNGRY TUMMIES, I thought this HAS to be the dish for me to try and make in an “adapted” way too!

In addition to the Simple Braised Tofu, I REALLY liked the step by step photos as when making new dishes and using ingredients I am not familiar with, to me it is like the dish is not only “warm and welcoming” but YELLS “MAKE ME!! MAKE ME!” πŸ˜‰

What IS it with me with food and YELLING like in Spinning Globe Persian Pomegranate and Pistachio Meatballs and/or foods talking to me talking to me like in Roaring Dragon Mini Pear Muffins? lol

Ingredients

1 container fresh soft tofu, cut in thirds (feel free to cut into any size or shape for personal preference πŸ˜‰ )
4 garlic cloves, minced
3 red chillis, sliced
3 tablespoons oyster sauce
2 tablespoons dark soy sauce
2 tablespoons Xylitol (feel free to use sugar πŸ˜‰ )
1 tablespoon tamari
1 teaspoon sesame oil
2 carrots, finely sliced
1/4 red capsicum, sliced
1/4 yellow capsicum, sliced
1/4 green capsicum, sliced
2 brown mushrooms, sliced (was using up what I had on hand ;-))
12 fermented black beans, cut in half
dash of white pepper
dash of Chinese cooking wine
3 spring onions, cut into 3 cm (1.2 inches) pieces
handful of coriander

Prepare all ingredients above, ready for cooking in a wok or deep fry pan; oyster sauce, dark soy, light soy, xylitol and sesame oil in one dish, everything else is separate dishes.

Hint and Tip
I always set up the bowls in the order they will be used. πŸ˜‰

Heat wok; add oil.

Hint and Tip
Oil is ready when you place a wooden spoon or chopstick in the oil and the oil bubbles around it! πŸ™‚

Wok fry tofu in small batches until golden brown; drain on paper towel on a flat plate; set aside.

Hint and Tip
I took all but about 1 -2 tablespoons out of the pan at this point.

Wok garlic and chilli for about 2 minutes.

Add in carrot, capsicum, mushrooms; wok another 3 minutes approximately; depending on how you like your vegetables. I tend to like them crispy.

Add in tofu; let simmer for 5 minutes.

Add in spring onions; cook for an additional minute.

ENJOY! πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

Do recipes that have step by step photos and instruction “entice” you to make the recipe?

Now that you have “seen” how “SIMPLE” this Braised Tofu with Fermented Beans and Vegetables (which was “on the list” and now is “off the list”) can be, does it change your mind about tofu and will you now be “inspired” in making this VERY healthy and tasty Chinese recipe? πŸ™‚

FOLLOW UP NOTE
I did add some cashews (after the photo) for crunch; optional addition. πŸ˜‰
The sauce came out GREAT! Next time, I would probably double it too! πŸ˜‰

8 thoughts on “Braised Tofu with Fermented Beans and Vegetables

  1. sharon says:

    Joanne, what exactly are “capsicums”… ? . I’m guessing they are hot peppers because oleoresin capsicum is the major ingredient in the Pepper Spray I used to carry on duty as a law enforcement officer! But while I don’t like very spicy food I know some friends who might enjoy this..if we knew what sort of peppers they were! Thanks!

    • Thanks Sharon.
      The capsicums (peppers) I included are known as sweet peppers in the States; some call them bell peppers. Their sweet taste balances the other flavors I used in the recipe.

      I love using them them for their versatility as they can be stuffed, roasted, used in stir fries etc.

      Yes, capsicum spray is extracted from fresh properly ripened red hot chilies.

      I always think a photo helps too!

      I hope you and your friends are inspired to make this recipe too πŸ™‚

      If you have any other questions, please feel free to ask! πŸ™‚

      • sharon says:

        Ahhhhhhhhhhhhhhh Bell Peppers…. SO opposite what I thought! Thank you so much for clarifying!

      • No worries! This is what I am here for!

        LOVE the never ending journey of food! Thank you for asking as I always think if one person has a question, probably others do too!

  2. I absolutely adore how adventurous you are with food Joanne! I bet if we were neighbours, we’d always be popping in to each other’s kitchens! πŸ™‚

    • Thanks Lorraine! I reckon we would too!
      Hopefully I am not aging myself to say, but we would have tied two tin cans together with string and communicated also that way! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

About me

Joanne T. Ferguson

Passionate Home Cook who tries to inspire one recipe and one event at time!

Follow

Facebook Twitter RSS email Pinterest Google Plus

Β© All text and photos are copyright 2012 - 2013 What's On The List. All rights reserved. Feel free to ask.

