Lemon Lavender Ricotta Beignet (Sugarless)

6

March 7, 2013 by Joanne T Ferguson

Image

Hands up if you know the “official” state donut of Louisiana since 1986? πŸ™‚ Bonus points if you know how to pronounce it? πŸ˜‰

I don’t see too many hands up out there in internet land! lol

While I have to admit, I did not know Louisiana had an “official” state donut named Beignet. (pronounced “beyn-yay” – the g is silent; of Celtic origin meaning “to rise”; French for “fritter” too!) Would you like to say THAT three times fast! lol

Seems Massachusetts followed Louisiana in 2003 to have their own “official” state donut too! (One of my favorites when I lived in the States; Boston Cream) My dad did not share my “excitement” in breakfast choices for Boston Cream donuts and cold Chinese food; not on the same day of course! πŸ˜‰

When I saw Beignet LollypopsΒ  on W ‘Rite’ Food and Lemon Ricotta Beignets on Heartland Homemaker, HOW E-X-C-I-T-E-D was I, TRUE!
These were DEFINITELY “on the list” and wanted to make them for breakfast too! πŸ˜‰

Of course you now know my “unending” food curiosity by now and the first question I asked myself was, “What’s a Beignet?” and how does it differ from a donut? Shocked

“Beignet is one of the most universally recognized names for fried dough desserts which are basically fritter batter.” *

Beignets have been associated with Mardi Gras in France since at least the 16th century, and many recipes for beignets appear in French works around the same time.” *

The Beignet is most closely associated with CafΓ© du Monde, a coffee shop located in the French Quarter of New Orleans, Louisiana in the States. The CafΓ© is open 24/7 closing only on Christmas Day and “on the occasional” hurricane that passes through. πŸ˜‰ The CafΓ© is also known for its coffee with chicory. CafΓ© du Monde is “on my list” too!

If you would like to enjoy beignets cooked in cottonseed oil:

I hope you enjoy my “adapted” recipe of Lemon Lavender Ricotta Beignets too! πŸ™‚

NOTE
These are THE SIMPLEST, EASIEST Beignets you will EVER make in your life, TRUE!
I can hardly WAIT for someone else to make them and let me know too! πŸ˜‰

NOTE
I used a deep fryer and this recipe “worked like a charm” (meaning it worked very well πŸ˜‰ )

Ingredients
1 egg
1/2 cup fresh Ricotta
1/2 cup organic self raising white flour, sifted
3 tablespoons xylitol (feel free to substitute sugar πŸ˜‰ )
1 teaspoon lavender flowers
1/2 teaspoon grated lemon zest
1/4 teaspoon pure organic vanilla powder
pinch of salt ( I used Himalayan pink salt)
xylitol for coating

NOTE
Lavender flowers and pure organic vanilla powder have “strong” flavors and aromas; Please feel free to adjust these ingredients for personal taste.

Hint and Tip
Instead of using Xylitol for coating, you can substitute Xylitol Icing mix for dusting of the beignets πŸ˜‰

Heat deep fryer to 190C. (~370F)

In large bowl. mix together all ingredients with a whisk until well blended.

Drop “heaped” teaspoons of mixture into hot oil in small batches.

Hint and Tip

I used two tablespoons to keep turning to beignets until golden brown on both sides.
I found they cooked “VERY” quickly. πŸ˜‰

Remove from oil and place on a paper towel lined flat plate.

Let cool for 5 minutes.

NOTE
While Beignets “puff up” in the oil, when resting, they “slightly” puff down.

Hint and Tip
It does not make a difference if your Beignets are not perfectly round as once they are coated, they take on an almost “MAGICAL” shape; one you will want to eat right away! πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

Will YOU enjoy donuts for breakfast now that you know they are healthy and sugar free?

If you could fill your Lemon Lavender Ricotta Beignet , what flavor would it be?

FOLLOW UP NOTE

Some “might” suggest (based on my research) that beignets are not like donuts at all with the later being less dense and less chewier too!

As you can see from the video, the “authentic” CafΓ© du Monde beignets are “HEAPS” messy to eat with the amount of powdered sugar on them.

I say today, I have “very much enjoyed” making Lemon Lavender Ricotta Beignet and after all, isn’t food all about enjoyment and fun? πŸ˜‰

*SOURCE
http://whatscookingamerica.net/History/BeignetsHistory.htm

6 thoughts on “Lemon Lavender Ricotta Beignet (Sugarless)

  1. christine morris says:

    Definitely going to try these, sound delicious πŸ™‚

  2. There’s a state donut? Now that’s a great idea! πŸ˜€ I love donuts but they’re usually so calorific. Good to see your version Joanne πŸ™‚

  3. Anoushka says:

    Sounds lovely. Reminds of our ‘oliebollen’ we make and eat at the last day of the year.

Leave a Reply

About me

Joanne T. Ferguson

Passionate Home Cook who tries to inspire one recipe and one event at time!

Follow

Facebook Twitter RSS email Pinterest Google Plus

Β© All text and photos are copyright 2012 - 2013 What's On The List. All rights reserved. Feel free to ask.

