Lavender Chai Tea Cake

5

March 3, 2013 by Joanne T Ferguson

Image

When I look back on my childhood, I am only now realizing HOW much influence radio shows (yes before people had televisions lol) and television (when we got our very first black and white television πŸ˜‰ ) had on me.

To this day, I can sing a jingle “word for word”, yet please do not ask me what I had for breakfast today! Perhaps if I “sang” at breakfast…. (and remember I can’t sing? lol)….

Today, a nice warm and sunny summer day, it made me want to just “skip” around the house. (I LIKE skipping! YOU? πŸ˜‰ ) While I was “skipping”, I started singing “Lavender, Lavender, LA LA LA Lavender!” πŸ™‚

Now THAT was a tune from the past! lol

It winds up it is from one of my favorite TV ad commercials in 1978! (What a good year THAT was! πŸ˜‰ )

The “Lollipop” song was originally recorded by The Chordettes’ in 1958 (before my time πŸ˜‰ ), and was adapted by the Life Savers Candy Company for their 1978 TV ad campaign.

In case you never had one, the Life Savers Lollipops are still sold in Seaside Heights at carnivals games in New Jersey in the States. πŸ˜‰ πŸ˜‰ πŸ™‚

If you have never heard or seen the 1978 TV ad… (so you can now IMAGINE me skipping and singing “Lavender, Lavender LA LA LA Lavender” )LaughingLaughingLaughing

I previously mentioned HOW easily I get distracted when it comes to “ALL things food” (and jingles too! ;-))

With Lavender “obviously” on my mind (“might” have “something” to do with my PLH Mini Muffins I made the other day πŸ˜‰ )

Onto my Lavender Chai Tea Cake πŸ™‚

When I went into my “What’s On The List” folder, I saw I had printed out Shakira’s Lavender Tea Bread from Allrecipes.com to make one day.

Here is my “adapted” recipe that I hope you will enjoy too!

Ingredients
1 1/4 cups Organic Self-rising White flour, sifted
1/4 cup Organic Wholewheat Flour, sifted
1/2 cup milk
1/4 cup brewed chai tea (I used Chai Rasayana Black Tea by a touch of tea *)
6 tablespoons butter, unsalted and melted
1 teaspoon lavender flowers
1 cup Xylitol (feel free to substitute sugar πŸ˜‰ )
2 eggs
1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
oil spray

NOTE
Original recipe calls for an addition of 1/4 teaspoon salt.

As I like my tea strong, I used 1 cup boiling water adding 2 – 3 teaspoons of Chai Tea; feel free to adjust flavor for personal taste.

Hint and Tip
Brewed tea needs to be finely strained (I did it twice) and cool before adding it to the milk and lavender. To “speed up” the cooling, I placed it in the fridge for about 10 minutes. πŸ˜‰

IMG_1652

Pre heat oven to 160C. (320F); Oil spray a 9 x 5 loaf pan.

In a sauce pan, combine milk and lavender; heat over medium; heating to a simmer; remove from heat and allow to cool.

Hint and Tip
To “speed up” cooling, I placed the milk mixture into the fridge for 10 minutes. πŸ˜‰

In a stand up mixer, cream together melted butter and Xylitol until smooth.

NOTE
You “may” want to have the melted butter cool slightly. πŸ˜‰

Add eggs, beating until mixture is “light and fluffy

In large bowl, combine flours and baking powder.

Add into the creamed mixture, alternating with the milk and lavender, until “just” blended.

Pour mixture in loaf pan.

Bake for 30 minutes or until golden brown and wooden toothpick comes out clean.

Remove from oven; cool in the pan on a wire rack.

NOTE
Original recipe called for 50 minutes at 165C (339F). I do not know if the difference in cooking time had to do with my substitution of the Xylitol for the sugar, but bake until “golden brown and toothpick comes out clean”

Who wants to sing the “Lavender, Lavender, LA LA LA Lavender” song with me? πŸ˜‰

Do you like the flavor combination of Lavender and Chai Tea?

Will you being making Lavender Chai Tea Cake?

This recipe is healthy way to have your cake and eat it, TRUE!

Now that this recipe was “on the list” and now “off the list” do you now want to “skip” with me too? πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

Image

* SOURCE
a touch of tea
While on holidays in the Southern Highlands of New South Wales here in Australia, I had the occasion to stop into a “wonderfully delightful” tea shop. When “engaged” in conversation with the store owner, I learned about not only her fine selections of teas, but preparation of tea and which teas (to infuse in recipes) would be most suiting for me.

While I did purchase a variety of teas, this Chai Rasayana Black teas (Black tea, cardamon, ginger, cloves, cinnamon, star anise) was provided as a sample for me! πŸ™‚
I purchased this mini “lovely” tea set as honestly, it “spoke” to me! πŸ˜‰

Does this tea set also “speak” to YOU?

Or I am the only one it speaks with today too? πŸ˜‰

5 thoughts on “Lavender Chai Tea Cake

  1. Dear Whatsonthelist,
    Along the same lines,, I have some different kinds of tea. Herbal-quietly chamomile, tangerine orange, lavender, and chai green tea. I know all teas work well but which one do you think will help my sore throat the best? Any things I should add to the tea?
    Wishes

    • G’day and thanks for your comments today too James! Would recommend (seeing you have a lavender farm) and have chai green tea, you could have your cake and eat it too…might even help your sore throat…what do you think?

  2. Anoushka says:

    I will certainly try this one, one day. It seems like something i can achieve too πŸ˜‰

  3. I love lavender and violet in cooking and baking! It adds so much aroma to a recipe. This looks wonderful Joanne πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

About me

Joanne T. Ferguson

Passionate Home Cook who tries to inspire one recipe and one event at time!

Follow

Facebook Twitter RSS email Pinterest Google Plus

Β© All text and photos are copyright 2012 - 2013 What's On The List. All rights reserved. Feel free to ask.

