Gluten Free Hazelnut Tiramisu Mini Donuts

10

February 26, 2013 by Joanne T Ferguson

Image

It started off as a “bit of a challenge” when someone asked me if I could make MY FAVORITE dessert Tiramisu “healthy and gluten free“?

It was only when I made Coconut, Hibiscus and Lemongrass Granita that I started to think about gluten free diets and gluten free foods. One of my friends had asked me if I used gluten free vodka in the Granita and “initially” my face reflected ShockedShockedShocked

It was only after “extensive research” that I found Vodka O. Gluten free vodkas are made from sources other than wheat (potato, corn or grape as an example) So, yes, my Granita is gluten free.

I then turned to this challenge and remembered I had come across Tiramisu Mini Donutsย  on Fork & Beans. Initially, I was “a tad” hesitant on making solely for the fact 1) I don’t consider myself a baker and 2) I have never baked with almost all of the ingredients. ShockedShockedShocked

Then, I thought, “Why not?”, as I am always up to personally challenging myself too! ๐Ÿ™‚

I LOVE entertaining at home throughout the year with theme parties; my “niche” being “mini bite portions of all world cuisines“; multiple “tapas style” dishes for all to try. I am particular attentive if my friends have certain allergies or dietary requirements. I am more than happy and “perceive it at a challenge” to find recipes that are suitable for all attending! ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚

Gluten = foods processed from wheat and wheat related grains. (ie rye, barley) Interestingly enough, through my research, gluten is also found in hair products, skin products and cosmetics.

Here is my “slightly adapted” Gluten Free Hazelnut Tiramisu Donuts recipe! ๐Ÿ™‚

Ingredients for the Donuts

NOTE:
Depending on whether you will be making donuts or cupcakes, mini cupcakes, piping the donuts onto a tray or using a mini donut pan will determine how many donuts you will get; mine made 12 – 16 donuts in a mini donut pan.

1/2 cup brown rice flour
1/2 cup potato starch flour
1/2 cup sorghum flour
3/4 cup Xylitol (feel free to substitute sugar ๐Ÿ™‚ )
1/4 cup arrowroot powder
1 teaspoon xanthan gum
1 teaspoon baking powder
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt (I used Pink Himalayan salt)
1 cup Frangelico Liqueur (see NOTE below)
3/4 cup organic coconut milk
1/2 cup vegetable oil
1/4 teaspoon pure organic vanilla powder
gluten free oil spray*

Pre heat over to 375F (~190C).

Oil spray mini donut pan (or whatever pan you may be using).

In large bowl, combine all flours, arrowroot powder, xanthan gum, xylitol, baking powder, baking soda and salt. Mix thoroughly with a wooden spoon.

Make a well in the middle of the bowl and add coconut milk, oil, vanilla powder.

NOTE:

Remove 12 Tablespoons of Frangelico from the 1 cup so 1 tablespoon EACH can be placep in the middle of the donut batter in the mini donut pan.

Add remaining Frangelico to the above until “just combined” making sure there are no lumps.

Spoon batter half way into the mini donut pan; add 1 tablespoon of Frangelico; top with batter. (see NOTE)

NOTE:

I did make several batches of these prior and found the ones I “piped” into the mini donut pan did not come out as good as the ones where I “spooned” the batter in. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Don’t worry if all the Frangelico in the middle of the donut is not covered with batter as it works its magic into the final baked mini donut flavor too!

Bake 10 minutes or until golden brown. Remove from oven, allow to cool completely in the pan.

Ingredients for the Coconut Cream Cocoa Icing

2 ounces (~.25 a cup) vegan coconut oil, softened
2 ounces (~.25 a cup) cream cheese, softened
1/4 cup Xylitol Icing Mix (I used Naturally Sweet Brand**)
1/8 cup organic coconut milk
1/4 teaspoon pure organic vanilla powder
Gluten free Cocoa powder (optional) (I used dutch dark cocoa powder)
Gluten free Dark Chocolate covered coffee beans (optional)

Hint and Tip:
Because my vegan coconut oil was in the refrigerator, I placed the coconut oil in the microwave for 30 seconds to melt. I then “carefully” weighed out 2 ounces of liquid. I placed the same dish on the scale before and weighed the dish plus the liquid to = 2 ounces.
I find the vanilla powder provides that “real” vanilla flavor and always “suggest” use it sparingly as it “may” overpower. I “personally” prefer using vanilla powder in recipes over vanilla extract; is “much healthier” too.

NOTE:
Make sure to allow the liquid coconut oil to cool before adding to the cream cheese so it does not curdle. ๐Ÿ˜‰

In a stand mixer, cream together coconut oil and cream cheese until smooth.
Add Xylitol Icing Mix; blend until well combined. (See Personal Note)
Add coconut milk and vanilla powder; blend for 5 minutes.

PERSONAL NOTE:
I thought 1/4 cup Naturally Sweet Xylitol Icing Mix was more than enough for me. Feel free to adjust the amount to suit your taste.

Now it’s time to “introduceMr. Gluten Free Hazelnut Tiramisu Donut to Mrs. Coconut Cream Cocoa Icing. It was a “Match Made in Heaven” ๐Ÿ˜‰

Dust mini donuts with cocoa powder; top with dark chocolate coffee bean and ENJOY!

For those who have never baked with these ingredients before, please do not let that put you off from trying Gluten Free Hazelnut Tiramisu Mini Donuts.

I enjoyed not only my accomplishment in making these “light and tasty” gluten free mini donuts, but the gluten free information, lists of ingredients, gluten free alcohol knowledge I learned along the way! ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚

Have you ever baked gluten free desserts before? I would love to hear about your recipes, TRUE! ๐Ÿ™‚

Now that my Gluten Free Hazelnut Tiramisu Mini Donuts that were “on the list” and now are “off the list” to make…will you consider making them now too!?

*Through my research, it should be noted that “some” oil sprays contain a disclaimer “may contain some amounts of milk or soy and wheat”. For the sake of this recipe, I used a gluten free oil spray.
**The Naturally Sweet Xlear Australia Pty Ltd Company previously sent me some Naturally Sweet Xylitol products to use in various recipes of my choice and creation.
I have personally used Xylitol products for quite some time, (due to health reasons) and do find I am a lot healthier for substituting xylitol for sugar. My personal preference of xylitol is not “influenced” by the products sent to me.

10 thoughts on “Gluten Free Hazelnut Tiramisu Mini Donuts

  1. Kim says:

    Just send it to Sarasota, FL, USA. I’ll be waiting

  2. Julie Page (**Jubes**) says:

    Hi Mickey- that is one awesome looking gluten-free donut! Just thought also that you might like to read about gluten-free alcohol from our Australian Coeliac Society – you can read more here http://www.coeliac.org.au/coeliac-disease/alcohol.html. All distilled spirits are now considered safe as gluten-free ๐Ÿ™‚
    -Julie

    • Thanks Julie! And for the link! Live and learn!

      The original recipe used Kahlua and based on my research, there was a question in my mind whether it was gluten free as:

      “Kahlua is gluten free but uses carmel coloring which is derived from, or contains, wheat products. Some people may still have a reaction to it; hence I decided to adapt it and use Frangelico.

  3. peachyvous La says:

    Interesting that you used potato flour instead of .. potato starch  .. how did that work out for you ? 

    ________________________________

  4. itsanoushka says:

    You keep amazing us ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. There are so many GF eaters nowadays so this recipe is really useful! And to be honest, I never really knew that vodka had gluten in it! ๐Ÿ˜ฎ

Leave a Reply

About me

Joanne T. Ferguson

Passionate Home Cook who tries to inspire one recipe and one event at time!

Follow

Facebook Twitter RSS email Pinterest Google Plus

ยฉ All text and photos are copyright 2012 - 2013 What's On The List. All rights reserved. Feel free to ask.

