Laverne & Shirley 3 Ingredient Fruit Cake

9

February 12, 2013 by Joanne T Ferguson


Image

OK, hands up who remembers the Laverne and Shirley (Happy Days Spin Off) American television show? And who couldn’t WAIT to grab their friend (imaginary or not) lol to sing the theme song?

OR, perhaps I am just aging myself, but I did and do know how to have fun! Ask ANY of my friends! lol (the “real” ones lol)Β πŸ˜‰

I digress for a second and take you back to my Lucky Lemon Chicken.πŸ™‚ Princess Svetlana and I used to use “any” excuse to play Laverne and Shirley; hand in hand and singing: (remember, I can’t sing like in If I Knew You Were Coming Pound Cake ) πŸ˜‰

“One, two, three, four, five, six, seven, eight.
Schlemeel, schlemazel, hasenfeffer incorporated.”

How many people “actually” got the word hasenfeffer* correct? lol Little did I know at the time (and I confess I never sang the word correctly and didn’t know what it meant at the time; but now I do! ) πŸ˜‰

For those of you who have never seen the program, here is the theme song and I never realized just HOW much it HAS influenced** me too!

Laverne & Shirley Theme Song
(click here to enjoy!
πŸ˜‰ )

Which brings me to today’s Laverne & Shirley 3 Ingredient Cake! πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

Were times “simpler” then or are times “simpler” now?

For today, I would say our counting will be “simpler” as ALL we have to count is one, two, three! lol πŸ˜‰

If you don’t have anyone to grab hand in hand to dance, you can be Princess Svetlana’s and my friend for today too! πŸ˜‰

Ingredients:
1 kilo cake mix dried fruit (I used Charlesworth Nuts —Dried Sunmuscats, Dried Currants, Diced Dried Peel and whole Glace Red Cherries.); feel free to choose. πŸ˜‰


600 ml (~20.2 ounces) Strong Farmers Union Iced Coffee (See Note)


2 1/2 cups self raising flour (sifted)

Combine dried fruit and Strong Farmer’s Union Iced Coffee in bowl; combine well. Soak overnight. (I did stir it a couple of times and again in the morning too!) No need to cover! πŸ˜‰

In separate large bowl, add sifted flour. Add coffee and dried fruit mixture; combine well.

NOTE:
This is what I LOVE about this recipe, it is SO simple. You can substitute homemade or store bought chocolate milk, mocha milk, coffee, iced coffee etc as long as the liquid and the amount of dried fruit remains the same. πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

Pre heat oven to 180C (~350F) Bake for 40 minutes or until lightly brown and toothpick comes out clean.

Hint and Tip:
I used a glass in the middle of a round oil sprayed pan

Does anyone see the “irony” of the Mickey Mouse upside down glass?

Hint:
One of my nicknames is mickeydownunder and I am THE BIGGEST Mickey Mouse fan! lol

As I “STILL” consider myself a non-baker, you do not know HOW excited I was when this VERY simple, VERY easy, VERY versatile cake turned out “WHOO HOO” ***!

* Hasenpfeffer (also spelled hasenfeffer) is a traditional German stew made from marinated rabbit or hare, cut into stewing-meat sized pieces and braised with onions and wine in a marinade thickened with the animal’s blood. Hase is German for hare and Pfeffer is German for pepper, although here it refers generically to the spices and seasonings in the dish, as with the German ginger cookies PfeffernΓΌsse. Seasonings typically include (besides pepper): salt, onions, garlic, lemon, thyme, rosemary, allspice, juniper berries, cloves, and bay leaf. In the North American pioneer era, German immigrants frequently cooked squirrel in the same manner.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hasenpfeffer

**My philosophy
“There is nothing we won’t try,
Never heard the word impossible.
This time there’s no stopping us.
We’re gonna do it.
On your mark, get set, and go now,
Got a dream and we just know now,
We’re gonna make our dream come true.
And we’ll do it our way, yes our way.
Make all our dreams come true,
And do it our way, yes our way,…”

***am known to say A LOT as am a VERY big steam train enthusiast and does not derive from the Homer Simpson TV series! πŸ˜‰

BIG, BIG thank you to Queen Latifah (not the real Queen LatifahΒ πŸ˜‰ ) who “inspired” meΒ  with her suggestion in “experiencing” this wonderful recipe that was immediately “on the list”, now is “off the list” too! WHOO HOO! πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

Would you now like to make Laverne & Shirley 3 Ingredient Spice Cake?

Will you be singing, one, two three with me too? πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

Follow up Note:
If I keep this up regarding posts, I might have to start calling myself a newbie baker rather than a non-baker lol πŸ˜‰

9 thoughts on “Laverne & Shirley 3 Ingredient Fruit Cake

  1. That looks looks so easy! I remember Laverne and Shirley! Thanks for the memories. πŸ™‚

  2. Wow, three ingredients? :O And I never had any idea what they were signing in the intro! πŸ˜›

    • Thanks Lorraine! I had previously heard of the 4 ingredient cake that included eggs. This one now eggs! πŸ™‚ The cake came out VERY moist indeed!
      I wonder if anyone knew what they were singing in the intro! lol

  3. Debbwl says:

    Tucking away for the holidays and like how you turned your non-bunt pan into a bunt pan.

  4. Pamela says:

    I’ll admit it, I never new what they were saying in that theme song,LOL!

Leave a Reply

About me

Joanne T. Ferguson

Passionate Home Cook who tries to inspire one recipe and one event at time!

Follow

Facebook Twitter RSS email Pinterest Google Plus

Β© All text and photos are copyright 2012 - 2013 What's On The List. All rights reserved. Feel free to ask.

