Shrimp in Aromatic Tomato Sauce/Saffron Rice — An Edible Mosaic Recipe Review

8

February 11, 2013 by Joanne T Ferguson

Shrimp in Aromatic Tomato Sauce

I was “intrigued” when I saw Lorraine’s Sesame Snaps on Not Quite Nigella.

I closed my eyes, YELLED “OPEN SESAME” (lol), then “realized” I could not read the post! DOH! I snapped my fingers (as if Lorraine’s Sesame Snaps were going to appear to me through the computer!) πŸ™‚

Seeing I was having “one of those days“, I decided to continue reading the post! πŸ˜‰

It was then I discovered the recipe was from Faith’s cookbook an edible mosaic Middle Eastern Fare with Extraordinary Flair.

My name is Joanne and I LOVE cooking Middle Eastern foods! πŸ™‚ I love the combination of Middle Eastern spices! I “particularly” enjoy the combination of cumin, coriander, cardamon and cayenne. Perhaps I am “naturally” drawn to spices that begin with the letter C? πŸ˜‰

With over 100 Middle Eastern Recipes, Faith’s love “for the cuisine of her husband’s homeland”* enthusiasticallyleaps” off the pages with her drooling photos and wonderful recipes.

Faith’s Book covers such topics from Buying the Right Middle Eastern Ingredients, Cooking Tips and Techniques to Appetizers and Light Meals, Beans and Lentils, Chicken and Seafood, Beef and Lamb, Desserts, Drinks and Middle Eastern Grocery stores to name a few! πŸ˜‰

The Foreward from the book was written by Lorraine Elliot of Not Quite Nigella. (who I am a big fan of too and who “also” inspires me in many ways! ) πŸ˜‰

Through Faith’s recipes, one feels her sentiment that food is not “just” about eating, but “for the people of the Middle East”*, it is about “their gatherings with family and friends.”*

Saffron Rice
Faith’s original recipe can be found in her cookbook
Saffron Rice with Golden Raisins and Pine Nuts (Roz Mlow’wan)

Prep Time: 10 minutes

Cook Time: 20 minutes

Total, Incl Inactive Time: 45 minutes

Yield: 4 to 6 servings

Ingredients

1 1/2 cups (325 g) basmati rice, rinsed
2 tablespoons olive oil
3 tablespoons pine nuts
1 onion, finely diced
4 tablespoons sultanas (golden raisins)
1 3/4 cups (425 ml) boiling water
3/4 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon saffron threads (or 1/2 teaspoon turmeric)

Instructions

Soak the rice in tepid water for 10 minutes; drain. While the rice is soaking, put half a kettle of water on to boil.
Add the oil to a medium, thick-bottomed lidded saucepan over medium heat. Add the pine nuts and cook until golden brown, about 1 to 2 minutes, stirring constantly. Transfer the pine nuts to a small bowl and set aside.
Add the onion to the saucepan you cooked the pine nuts in, and cook until softened and just starting to brown, about 5 to 7 minutes, stirring occasionally. Add the rice and cook 2 minutes, stirring frequently. Stir in the sultanas, boiling water, salt, and saffron (or turmeric), turn the heat up to high, and bring it to a rolling boil.
Give the rice a stir, then cover the saucepan, turn the heat down to very low, and cook until tender, about 10 minutes (do not open the lid during this time). Turn the heat off and let the rice sit (covered) 15 minutes, then fluff with a fork.
Transfer to a serving dish and sprinkle the toasted pine nuts on top; serve.

Notes
Recipe courtesy of An Edible Mosaic: Middle Eastern Fare with Extraordinary Flair by Faith Gorsky (Tuttle Publishing; Nov. 2012); reprinted with permission.

Optional Addition: Add two pods of cardamom, two whole cloves, and one 2-inch (5 cm) piece of cinnamon stick at the same time that you add the rice.

I chose Shrimp in Aromatic Tomato Sauce (pg.95) to make with Saffron Rice with Golden Raisins and Pine Nuts. (I used oven roasted slivered almonds πŸ˜‰ ) because Faith’s mother-in-law Sahar “suggested” it; noting the rice is also good with chicken or fish. πŸ™‚

I “slightly adapted” the recipe to include chick peas and baby spinach. πŸ˜‰

Hint and Tip:
I blanched the tomatoes in boiling water for about 1 minute, immediately placing into a bath of cold water to make peeling the skins a bit easier. πŸ˜‰

The wonderful combination of spices DOES provide that “Middle Eastern Fare with Extraordinary Flair” πŸ™‚ In addition to my love of cumin, coriander, cardamon andΒ  cayenne (to name a few of the ingredients;-)), this recipe is GREAT for entertaining! I loved the “ease, simplicity and versatility” too!
A “DEFINITE keeper!”

Now all you will have to do is buy Faith’s an edible mosaic cookbook, and you can share the same enjoyment that I had in making these delightful Middle Eastern dishes too! πŸ™‚

collage1

frontbookcoversmall1

*quotes from the cover of Faith’s book
Β Follow Up Note:
an edible mosaic Middle Eastern Fare with Extraordinary Flare was won courtesy of Not Quite Nigella.

My name is Joanne and I LOVE looking at cookbooks of all world cuisines and LOVE making new recipes and LOVE to review all things food related too! πŸ˜‰

Thank you Faith! I look forward to making your Felafel with a secret sauce or two! πŸ˜‰

I would HIGHLY RECOMMEND purchasing an edible mosaic Middle Eastern Fare with Extraordinary Flare; my honest review has not been influenced because I won the book. πŸ˜‰

Hands up WHO would now like to “experience” Shrimp in Aromatic Tomato Sauce and Saffron Rice with Golden Raisins and Pine Nuts (Roz Mlow’wan)?

πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

8 thoughts on “Shrimp in Aromatic Tomato Sauce/Saffron Rice — An Edible Mosaic Recipe Review

  1. Thank you so much for such a lovely post on my cookbook, Joanne! I’m so happy you’re enjoying cooking from it – I hope you enjoy the Falafel also! πŸ™‚

    • Thanks Faith! I always enjoy making new recipes of all world cuisines! I like when the recipes (like yours) are easy to follow and in the end, look somewhat like the photo too!
      Look forward to making the falafel; one of my faves too! πŸ™‚

  2. christine morris says:

    Thanks Joanne, this looks and sounds Delicious

  3. Kim says:

    Well, just based on the pic of the shrimp … you had me. Both recipes sound absolutely delicious. The rice not just served with the shrimp, but any dish. A great looking recipe!
    Very nicely done!

  4. I’m so glad that you enjoy the book as much as I did. Faith’s recipes are always so accurate and I love that about them! πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

About me

Joanne T. Ferguson

Passionate Home Cook who tries to inspire one recipe and one event at time!

Follow

Facebook Twitter RSS email Pinterest Google Plus

Β© All text and photos are copyright 2012 - 2013 What's On The List. All rights reserved. Feel free to ask.

