Eggless What’s Up Doc Carrot Cake

4

January 27, 2013 by Joanne T Ferguson

Image

Hands up, who used to walk around the house with a carrot in your hand, trying to “act” cool asking everyone you came in contact with “What’s Up Doc?” (catchphrase of the cartoon character Bugs Bunny) πŸ˜‰

No?

Was I the only one?

Surprised

Perhaps it was my mum’s way of getting me to “like” carrots and she “knew” I couldn’t help myself but to “introduce” carrots (;-) ) to everyone I met and said, “What’s Up Doc?” to? lol

Mums are pretty smart that way you know! πŸ˜‰ lol

When I was little and wanted to bake my first cake, I asked my “adopted” Jewish grandmother, “What’s the secret? How do I do?” By now, you know in my childhood I asked a LOT of questions! (I Still do πŸ˜‰ lol)

My Bubbe (Yiddish for grandma) used to say that as long as I cooked with my heart, I can’t go wrong. And to pay attention in measuring ingredients out with adding “a pinch” of this, “a dash” of that and “a sprinkle” of TLC (tender Loving Care) No WONDER, I could never get Bubbe’s recipes to EVER taste the same as hers.

When I first saw Eggless Carrot Cake Recipe(With no eggs & butter) http://www.sharmispassions.com/2012/12/eggless-carrot-cake-recipe-eggless-cake.html on Sharmis Passions, I became “curious” (to say the least) on how I could make a cake with no butter and no eggs! As the first thing Bubbe taught me was eggs, flour, butter was always the beginning ingredients in any cake.

Then, when I saw it was made with maida flour (mmmmmmmm never used that before) and with Dahi (curd) (mmmmmmmm never made that before), I decided I would like to try it. So a “very slightly adaptedEggless What’s Up Doc Carrot Cake was “on the list” to be made “one day“. πŸ™‚

In making this “wonderfully moist and lightEggless Carrot Cake, I first needed to find an “easy and basic” recipe for Dahi (curd) and it was not long before I found How to Make Dahi on Indian Food Forever http://www.indianfoodforever.com/basic-preparations/how-to-make-curd.html

I followed the “easy” instructions, very carefully. πŸ˜‰

Ingredients for Dahi
1/2 teaspoon curd (yogurt) with “live and active cultures
1 litre (~4.23 cups) milk

Boil milk; allow to cool.
Remove the malai (a new word for me which means cream ;-)) from the milk and “slightly warm it.
In a bowl or jug, add curd and milk; stir well.
What I loved from the original recipe was to now “place it in a warm and cosy place“; original recipe suggests 5 -6 hours hours or overnight. (I left it covered in a plastic jug overnight in the microwave which acted as an incubator; making sure to not open until 24 hours.)

NO PEEKING” πŸ˜‰

At least no eyes were “staring or peeking” back to me like in Lucky “Peeking” Peking Pork https://whatsonthelist.wordpress.com/2013/01/25/peking-pork/ πŸ˜‰

After 24 hours, remove from microwave and place covered in fridge overnight; original recipe calls for 1 -2 hours.

VOILA!” It’s magic and your curd is ready for Eggless What’s Up Doc Carrot Cake ;-);-);-)

Image

Ingredients for Cake

Maida flour* – 3/4 cup (135 gms)
Wholewheat flour – 1/4 cup (35 gms)
Carrot, peeled, grated – 1/2 cup
Curd – 3/4 cups (200 ml)
Olive oil – 1/4 cup (60 ml)
Milk – 2.5 tablespoons
Xylitol (original recipe calls for Granulated Sugar) -1/2 cup (110 gms)
Vanilla essence – 1/2 tsp
Cinnamon powder – 1/4 tsp
Baking powder – 1/2 tsp
Baking Soda – 1/2 tsp
Pistachios, 3 tablespoons, ground
oil spray

In a bowl, peel and finely grate carrot.
In separate bowl, sieve maida flour, wholewheat flour, baking soda and baking powder; set aside.
In a mixing bowl, combine curd, sugar, milk and olive oil; whisking or mixing well until sugar dissolves.
Add cinnamon and vanilla essence to this mixture; give a quick stir.
Fold in grated carrot. Whisking well until mixture has a “batter consistency”

NOTE:
Is easy to tell “batter consistency” WHEN you make these! πŸ˜‰
I added 1 1/2 tablespoons of finely ground pistachios to the batter. πŸ˜‰

Pre heat oven to 180C. (350F)
Pour batter into lightly greased muffin trays. (I used a 3 inch by 3 inch by 2 muffin tray; use whatever muffin tray you have ;-))
Bake for 12 minutes or until cake is golden brown; toothpick comes out clean.
Remove from oven; place tray on wire rack for 10 minutes; remove cake from tray and place on wire rack to cool.

When cooled, sprinkle with remaining pistachios and ENJOY! πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

So, do YOU like carrots? Does it make them “more enticing” if they are added to a cake?

Did you ever think that an “eggless” recipe would be “so moist and so light” when it is baked?

*Maida flour is widely used in Indian cooking and baking. It is a mixture of wheat and barley; finely milled, refines and bleached. it closely resembles cake flour.

FOLLOW UP NOTES:
I was “genuinely” glad that these Eggless What’s Up Doc Carrot Cake that was “on the list” is now “off the list”, TRUE! A VERY “moist and light” Carrot Cake this does make (or should I say bake πŸ˜‰ lol) too!

Image

4 thoughts on “Eggless What’s Up Doc Carrot Cake

  1. Kim says:

    Carrot Cake … You are talking my type of dessert.

  2. Oh I’ve never cooked with maida flour before! I wonder what it’s like if I used regular flour? πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

About me

Joanne T. Ferguson

Passionate Home Cook who tries to inspire one recipe and one event at time!

Follow

Facebook Twitter RSS email Pinterest Google Plus

Β© All text and photos are copyright 2012 - 2013 What's On The List. All rights reserved. Feel free to ask.

