Aussie Aussie Aussie Malteser Lamingtons

6

January 26, 2013 by Joanne T Ferguson

Image

AUSSIE AUSSIE AUSSIE OI OI OI!!* Happy Australia Day! πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

I am only (also) beginning to “realize” that I like to say and write things in threes! (like “Assemble, Assemble, Assemble” in Wrap Yourself Happy http://wp.me/s30jtz-1252 and Nidi di Rondine – Proscuitto and Basil Swallows Nests http://wp.me/p30jtz-wE πŸ˜‰ )

“Lately”, I find myself in the kitchen “YELLING:

MARCO, MARCO, MARCO!!!”

(like YELLING out in Spinning Globe Persian Pomegranate and Pistachio Meatballs http://wp.me/s30jtz-1130)

I then follow with: (YELLING of course lol)

ONE MINUTE MARCO, ONE MINUTE MARCO, ONE MINUTE MARCO!” lol

I write this “blushingly“, but my name is Joanne and yes this is TRUE! Redface Redface1 Redface2 I “honestly” can NOT get Marco Pierre White’s voice out of my head! (Talk about a PASSIONATE food obsession; in a good way of course! πŸ˜‰ lol)

The other night (in one of my “many” animated food dreams ;-)), I remembered hearing Marco “reiterate THREE times” lol “WHERE ARE MY LAMINGTONS? WHERE ARE MY LAMINGTONS? WHERE ARE MY LAMINGTONS?” lol

Does ANYONE think I am “hooked” on Masterchef: The Professionals**?
πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

Image

When I was looking for something “special” to share on Australia Day, I remembered I had “clipped and snipped” πŸ˜‰ Menz FruChoc Lamingtons http://foodsouthaustralia.com.au/2012/01/celebrate-australia-day-with-menz-fruchoc-lamingtons/ found last year Food South Australia http://foodsouthaustralia.com.au/. The recipe had been sitting “quietly” and when I opened my folder, it “literally” jumped out at me!

I decided to make my “slightly adapted” recipe (as “inspired” by Mini Mandarin Meringue Moments Cupcakes https://whatsonthelist.wordpress.com/2013/01/01/mini-mandarin-meringue-moments-cupcakes/) with Maltesers***; Malt Honeycomb Toffee and Milk Chocolate. πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

Maltesers

Malteasers1
Did you know Maltesers were marketed as “energy balls” for slimming women? πŸ˜‰ ;-);-)

Next month, Maltesers “arrives” for sale in Italy, Malta, Macau and Crotia to name a few. πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

Ingredients
2 eggs, beaten

100 grams Xylitol (substitute granulated sugar)

100 grams unsalted butter (See NOTE)

165 grams plain flour, sifted

Β½ teaspoon baking powder

Β½ teaspoon baking soda

1 teaspoon orange blossom water

juice from 1/2 an orange

grated zest from 1 orange

1 β€œheaped” tablespoon vanilla yogurt ( I used Vaalia)

2 cups icing sugar

1/4 cup cocoa powder (I used Abundant Earth Organic Cocoa Powder Dutch Process to “lessen” sugar ;-))

1/3 cup milk

10 grams butter (~.35 ounces)

1 cup shredded coconut

100 grams (!3.5 ounces) Maltesers

In large bowl, combine Xylitol, sifted flour, baking powder, baking soda.

In separate bowl, combine eggs, orange blossom water, orange juice & zest yogurt; butter when cooled.

Combine wet ingredients with dry ingredients until well combined.

NOTE:
I melted the butter then cooled for a few minutes before S-L-O-W-L-Y adding into about ingredients in a stand mixer.

HINT and TIP:
I tasted the batter at this point and was happy with the orange β€œtang”; feel free to add more juice or zest Noting coconut and chocolate to follow re overall taste. πŸ˜‰

Preheat oven to 180C; pour batter into a oil sprayed muffin tray (I used an 3 inch x 3 inch x 2 inch tray; use whatever square muffin baking tray); bake 12 – 14 minutes until lightly golden brown; toothpick comes out clean. πŸ˜‰ Let cool for 10 minutes before removing lamingtons to a wire rack.

Once cake is cooled:

In bowl, grate Maltesers; add coconut; combine.

In a large, heatproof bowl, sift icing sugar and cocoa.

Stir in milk and 10 grams butter. Mix until smooth.

Place heatproof bowl over a saucepan of simmering water; heat gently; stir until sugar dissolves and mixture is of coating consistency.

With two spoons, dip cake pieces into chocolate icing; Drain excess.

Roll in coconut and grated Maltesers mix to coat.

Place on a wire rack; leave to set.

Store in an airtight container.

“YES MARCO!!! YES MARCO!!! YES MARCO”!!! I made these Aussie Aussie Aussie Malteser Lamingtons on Australia Day! πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

Now that they were “on the list“, now “off the list” “THANK YOU MARCO!!! THANK YOU MARCO!!! THANK YOU MARCO!!! is what I CAN say! πŸ˜‰ πŸ˜‰ πŸ˜‰

Has anyone else picked up that Marco Pierre White’s voice “inspires” me? πŸ˜‰ πŸ˜‰ πŸ˜‰

Can anyone STILL feel Marco’s voice causing my food PASSION within to blush unendingly! Redface Redface1 Redface2 (In a good way of course!) πŸ˜‰ πŸ˜‰ πŸ˜‰

I “heard” it’s “Lucky” πŸ˜‰ to make a wish on Australia Day, TRUE!

Can anyone GUESS who is “on the wish list” to meet one day too? πŸ˜‰ lol lol lol

“Australia Day is on January 26 and commemorates the establishment of the first settlement at Port Jackson, now part of Sydney, in 1788. It is an opportunity for Australians to come together to celebrate their country and culture.”****


Image

*often heard at Australia sporting events; a chant or cheer.
**Australian reality TV cooking show with Matt Preston and the “legendary” Marco Pierre White. (At least Marco is legendary to me!) πŸ˜‰
*** SOURCE: photos = http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Maltesers
**** SOURCE http://www.timeanddate.com/holidays/australia/australia-day

6 thoughts on “Aussie Aussie Aussie Malteser Lamingtons

  1. […] my dreams” quite creativity, when I am not chatting away with Marco, Marco Marco like in Aussie Aussie Aussie Malteser Lamingtons […]

  2. […] seem to like YELLING around foods like in Aussie Aussie Aussie Malteser Lamingtons and in Spinning Globe Persian Pomegranate and Pistachio […]

  3. […] would be GREAT in bread! It was THEN the food light bulb went on , that I remembered I had made Aussie Aussie Aussie Malteser Lamingtons and thought Green Farmhouse’s Ozzie Dukkah would also be great in mini bite […]

  4. […] I am not “listening” to MARCO, MARCO, MARCO’s voice inside my head too; like in Aussie Aussie Aussie Malteser Lamingstons lol) and she reminded me that National Rename Yourself Day was coming up on the 9th of April and […]

  5. What a great idea for a lamington flavour! They’re having such a resurgence and with flavours like this, why not?

    • Thanks Lorraine! While I was in one of my “dream escapes” in the kitchen and came down off Cloud Nine lol, I opened the pantry, what did I see? Mr. Maltesers staring back at me! πŸ™‚ lol Lamington Inspiration πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

About me

Joanne T. Ferguson

Passionate Home Cook who tries to inspire one recipe and one event at time!

Follow

Facebook Twitter RSS email Pinterest Google Plus

Β© All text and photos are copyright 2012 - 2013 What's On The List. All rights reserved. Feel free to ask.

