Peach and Pear Walnut Swirl Bread

5

January 24, 2013 by Joanne T Ferguson

Image

Hands up, how many people get distracted when looking for a recipe to make? πŸ˜‰

I was initially thinking to make Raisin Cinnamon Bread as I have MANY wonderful childhood memories to share! THEN, I thought, “Wouldn’t it be interesting if I added chopped apples?” My mind “continued” in this little mental game I sometimes play with myself! lol I “then” thought, “What if I substituted the apples for another fruit?” πŸ™‚

So I stared out in space in my kitchen. (which I seemingly do alot lol) I “imagined” I was sitting in a cosy place in my Bay window on a warm, sunny day! I closed my eyes and “smelled” the fresh cherry pie cooling on the window sill. I don’t think I have cooked a cherry pie to date and heck, might have to put that “on the list too” πŸ™‚

I could see myself skipping and singing. (Did I mention I can’t sing like in If I Knew You Were Coming Pound Cake https://whatsonthelist.wordpress.com/2013/01/02/800/ ? lol)

One thing I “especiallyy” enjoyed doing “when I was little” was blowing Wishing Flowers that I nicknamed Wishies.
Wishies
SOURCE: ABOUT EVERYTHING http://heavnlyflower.blogspot.com.au/2010/09/dandelion-wishes_23.html

It gave me SUCH pleasure to make a wish for all my imaginary friends. πŸ˜‰ You remember by now, the ones I used to invite to my imaginary tea party in Queen of the Nile Jeweled Grape Terrine https://whatsonthelist.wordpress.com/2012/12/29/queen-of-the-nile-jeweled-grape-terrine-2/? πŸ˜‰

Then, as I S-L-O-W-L-Y came back from my dream escape, I opened my eyes, what did I see? Mrs. Peach and Mr. Pear “staring” back at me! πŸ˜‰

It was then I “knew” I could combine my original idea (Cinnamon Raisin Bread to be made at a future date ;-)) with peaches and pears and “swirl” it. As you also know by now from previous posts, I like “spiral” and “swirled” foods too! lol
(like in my Spinning Spiral Tart https://whatsonthelist.wordpress.com/2013/01/15/spinning-spiral-tart/ too!) πŸ™‚

I now “introduce” (;-)) you to my “slightly” adapted Peach and Pear Walnut Swirl Bread as “inspired” by Cinnamon Swirled Apple Bread posted by Chef Mommie* on Food.com http://www.food.com/recipe/cinnamon-swirled-apple-bread-165164

*posted with the original poster’s permission πŸ˜‰

Ingredients
5 1/2 cups all-purpose flour, sifted
1 (1/4 ounce) package active dry yeast
1 cup milk
3 tablespoons Xylitol (original recipe calls for granulated sugar)
3 tablespoons butter, softened
3/4 teaspoon salt
2 eggs
1 1/2 cup grated pear
1 cup finely chopped peeled peaches
1 cup cloudy apple and pear juice
1/2 cup finely chopped walnuts, toasted
1/2 cup packed brown sugar
2 teaspoons ground cinnamon
2 tablespoons butter, melted
1 slightly beaten egg white
1 tablespoon water
1 cup Cloudy Apple and Pear Juice (optional) (See Note)
1/2 teaspoon polenta (optional) (See Follow Up Notes)

In a large mixing bowl, combine 2 cups sifted flour and yeast; set aside.

In a saucepan, heat and stir milk, Xylitol, 3 tablespoons butter, and salt until warm. (120Β°)

Add milk mixture to dry mixture along with eggs.

Beat with an electric mixer on low to medium speed for 30 seconds, scraping side of bowl constantly.

Then beat on high speed 3 minutes.

Fold in grated pear.

NOTE:
I thought my pears were β€œvery juicy”, so I initially β€œpat dried” pears (after grating) with paper towel. I then added in to the bowl ~ 1 cup (a little less) of Cloudy Apple and Pear Juice for moisture. WHY? I don’t know! At this point, I was “Flying by the seat of my pants” lol lol lol *

My name is Joanne, I am “not” a baker and have LOTS to learn! lol I would “like to think” I have a “feel” or a “touch” when it comes to how moist a dough should be, whether for pasta or for bread, or a cake or a cookie! πŸ˜‰

Using a wooden spoon, stir in remaining flour.

CHEERING:
β€œYOU CAN DO IT!” πŸ˜‰ WHEN you make this, you will β€œknow what I am talking about! πŸ˜‰

Turn dough out onto a lightly floured surface.

Knead in enough of the remaining flour to make a moderately stiff dough that is smooth and elastic (6 to 8 minutes total).

HINT and TIP
With the dough still in the electric mixer, I used the dough hooks to add the remaining flour before turning it onto a lightly floured surface.

Shape into a ball. Place in lightly greased (I used olive oil πŸ˜‰ ) bowl, turning once to grease surface.

Cover with plastic wrap; let rise in a warm place until double (about 1 hour. Punch dough down.) πŸ™‚

Turn dough out onto a lightly floured surface. Divide in half Cover; let rest 10 minutes.

Lightly grease two 8x4x2 or 9x5x3-inch loaf pans. (See FOLLOW UP NOTES)

Meanwhile, for filling, in a medium mixing bowl combine chopped pears, shredded peaches, walnuts, brown sugar, and cinnamon; set aside.

Roll half of the dough to a 14×9-inch rectangle.

NOTE:
Original recipe calls for at this point for “Spread with 1 tablespoon of the softened butter”
I melted butter and let slightly cooled. I added 1 tablespoon of the butter into a well in the dough and “very lightly” kneaded. WHY? I don’t know! lol I was STILL “Flying by the seat of my pants!” lol BUT, it worked! πŸ˜‰

Spread half of the filling completely over the dough.

Beginning at both short ends, roll each end up, jelly-roll style, to center.

NOTE:
I tried to roll each side as tight as I could. πŸ˜‰

Place loaf, rolled side up, in a prepared loaf pan (see FOLLOW UP NOTES). For second loaf, repeat.

FOLLOW UP NOTES:
On the day, I only had a Silicon Loaf pan and am not 100 percent happy with Silicon pans as I personally find they do not keep their shape, gelatine products do not cool as much (even when set overnight) as metal.
Today, I tried an experiment. I used a Spring Form pan and placed one loaf (as straight as I could); using egg wash; no sugar topping.

A friend later “suggested” I could have crumpled up al foil balls to put next to the dough to help keep its shape. (Live and learn with baking eh? ;-))

After rolling the second dough, I placed it on a lightly oil sprayed flat tray and “lightly” sprinkled the top with polenta for a harder crust.

In the end, both Peach and Pear Walnut Swirl Bread came out good; abet each one a little different. I would recommend both! πŸ™‚

I hope now that Peach and Pear Walnut Swirl Bread was adapted from Raisin Cinnamon Bread, this recipe will inspire you to do! :):):)

If you could combine two fruits and nuts in a Swirl bread, what would they be?

Repeat after me, “I CAN make Peach and Pear Walnut Swirl Bread” πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

Are YOU now as hungry for a slice like me? πŸ˜‰ πŸ™‚

*”Decide a course of action as you go along, using your own initiative and perceptions rather than a pre-determined plan or mechanical aids.”
SOURCE
The Phrase Finder
http://www.phrases.org.uk/meanings/139400.html

Β 

Image

5 thoughts on “Peach and Pear Walnut Swirl Bread

  1. […] Joanna and I am not a baker or baker per se like in Rising to the Occasion English Muffin Bread, Peach and Pear Walnut Swirl Bread, or in Rocco’ss Macarons Rule Follow Up Mission […]

  2. Anoushka says:

    It looks very French, arty style πŸ™‚

  3. Joanne, have you ever tried making povitica? It’s really delicious and I think you’d do a cracking job of it! πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

About me

Joanne T. Ferguson

Passionate Home Cook who tries to inspire one recipe and one event at time!

Follow

Facebook Twitter RSS email Pinterest Google Plus

Β© All text and photos are copyright 2012 - 2013 What's On The List. All rights reserved. Feel free to ask.

