Roaring Dragon Mini Pear Muffins

8

January 23, 2013 by Joanne T Ferguson

Apple Mini Muffins

When I was little, I had a VERY overactive and creative imagination! πŸ™‚ I could make the most “animated” sounds associated with food. (MUCH to my mother’s exasperation at times lol!) It did not make a difference whether I was talking to my friends “Snap, Crackle and Pop” with my cereal and don’t know HOW many times I must have sang along to their song too! lol

I can’t sing, but it never stopped me from doing! lol (Remember in If I Knew You Were Coming Pound Cake? https://whatsonthelist.wordpress.com/2013/01/02/800/

My favorite sounds were “Lions, Tigers, Bears and Dragons” πŸ˜‰ (Big Wizard of Oz fan and one of my first stuffed animals was a Fire-Breathing Dragon named KHIMAIRA*.) JUST because no adults ever “saw” the fire coming out of the dragon’s snout or “heardthe ROAR of the dragon, didn’t mean it didn’t happen! lol

NOTE TO ALL WARNING lol
You might want to rethink of coming with me to the zoo! (lol) I don’t know WHO becomes more “animated“, the residents or this visitor too! πŸ™‚

Do you HEAR my Roaring Dragon Mini Pear Muffins, or is it just me? πŸ˜‰ If you “listen” closely, you too can be “easily amused” by my “slightly adapted” recipe! πŸ™‚

When I initially saw Apple Muffins with Dragonwell Tea on TeaChef (submitted by Caroline Nystrom) http://www.teachef.com/view_recipe.html?recipe=472 , I “immediately” knew it was an “on the list” recipe for me! I imagined having lunch with KHIMAIRA and sharing with him all about the recipe’s tea history! πŸ™‚

Apple Mini Muffins1

Dragonwell (Longjing or Lung Ching) is a delicate green tea known for its gentle, sweet flavor. Dragonwell Green Tea is from eastern China from the providence of Zhejiang. It is famous throughout China for its superior quality and still the most widely known Chinese tea.
The term “Lung Ching” or “Lungching” translates to “Dragon Well. The tea has taken the name of its village of origin.**

Image

Ingredients

1/2 cup Xylitol (original recipe calls for sugar)
1/4 cup butter, softened
1 egg
1 cup milk
2 cups flour, sifted
1/2 teaspoon salt
2 teaspoons baking powder
2 teaspoons allspice
1 1/2 cup peeled pears, small chopped
4 tablespoons “Strongly” brewed Dragonwell Tea
4 tablespoons icing sugar (also called powdered sugar or confectioners’ sugar)
Oil spray

In a large bowl, cream together butter and Xylitol.
Add egg; beat well.
Stir in milk.
In a separate large bowl, combine flour, salt, baking powder, and allspice.
Add egg mixture to dry ingredients; combine until “just” moistened.

NOTE:
it is okay, batter is lumpy. πŸ˜‰

Fold pears in “gently”; combine well.
Pre-heat oven to 200C (400F).
Oil spray mini muffin tray; fill with batter making sure all wells are “evenly” filled and chopped pears are distributed throughout.
Bake 12 minutes or until golden brown.
Remove from oven; place on wire racks for 10 minutes; remove.
When cooled, combine Dragonwell tea with icing sugar; adjust for personal taste.
Spoon glaze over Roaring Dragon Mini Pear Muffins and ENJOY!

Do you ever make sounds (imaginary or not πŸ˜‰ ) with your food? Is so, what foods and what sounds? πŸ™‚

Are these just the perfect bite size mini muffins you would not like to enjoy with your coffee or tea? πŸ™‚

Hands up now that Roaring Dragon Mini Pear Muffins that were “on the list” and are “off the list”, will YOU be “inspire” making this recipe? πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

Apple Mini Muffin2

*KHIMAIRA comes from Greek Mythology; was a monsterous beast with a goat’s head, body of a lion, goat udders and a serpentine’s tail. I enjoyed picking unusual names for my imaginary and stuffed friends! πŸ˜‰
**Sourced from The Tea Review Blog
Superior Grade Lung Ching from Distinctly Tea
http://www.teareviewblog.com/?p=5819

8 thoughts on “Roaring Dragon Mini Pear Muffins

  1. Anoushka says:

    Finally something I can say, I made that too!! Muffins I love and they do what I want them to do. Extraordinary because everything else that needs to be baked can’t hear me LOL

  2. Those look moist and delicious!

  3. Oh I’ve got some of this tea in a drawer! I must pull it out and make a cup and contemplate your delicious muffins! πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

About me

Joanne T. Ferguson

Passionate Home Cook who tries to inspire one recipe and one event at time!

Follow

Facebook Twitter RSS email Pinterest Google Plus

Β© All text and photos are copyright 2012 - 2013 What's On The List. All rights reserved. Feel free to ask.

